10/11 Tigger's Doing Well +8/180 +10/132 PM Dose ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
PLEASE SEE BOTTOM POST FOR DOSE QUESTION

Good Afternoon, LL!

Tigger's yesterday condo

First, I want to thank EVERYONE for all the knowledge, support & kindness you've showed us through this. Feeling connected in a network makes the unbearable bearable.

Tigger went in this morning at 8AM, fasting with .5u insulin. He doesn't understand any of it, but was pretty disturbed that I'd forgotten to feed him or give him any treats for good testing behavior. :o

Our vet met us & spoke with us - I told her we didn't want the Covenia AB shot & that Tigger's BG could drop very quickly, esp. fasting & to stay on top of that (Thanks Sienne & Wendy!) & confirmed they'd have both dextrose & R available. I didn't get Marje's input till now about R causing fast drops w/ Lantus, but hope they'll stay on top of it.

If they find anything weird, they're going to culture. If its a giant hematoma, they may leave it to its own recourse & give him some Bupe - I told them Tigger was scratching at it now, so that may influence their thinking. If its an abscess they'll open, flush, clean the fake eye, & put a drain on it. He'll need a collar probably in any of these scenarios at least to begin with.

So - it's been 4 hours with no word - no news is good news at this point, I think. The vet said they'd call me re. any BG changes. I'm telling my stomach it's probaqly ok to settle down now.

I know he's in good hands - Dr. Stamp has a beautiful demeanor - with her knowledge, listening, & compassion towards animals. Full faith & trust there.

I'll update when I hear something - for now I'll make some vegetable soup - that will keep me occupied - & I'll be too busy once Tigger's home.

Thanks again for sending me the power of LL positive thoughts - that goes a long way, too :YMHUG: !
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger went for Surgery - no news yet - --

Best wishes to you & Tigger.

Lots of healing vines cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's gonna make the history books - heard fr.

Vines coming your way for Tigger! I hope you get a good word soon and Tigger makes a quick recovery.
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's gonna make the history books - heard fr.

Denise Barb & Tara, thanks for your support & vines - it worked!

Just heard from the vet - apparently they spoke with 3 doctors from Davis during Tigger's surgery. No one's ever heard of this before -

It was AIR in Tigger's eye socket. The conjecture is that when Tigger sneezed he drew in air through the lacrimal (sp) opening that connects the corner of the eye to the nasal ducts. they massaged his sinuses with saline - it looked like his nasal cavity had some open sores from him rubbing his nose - he didn't have alot of discharge - just a plugged, gurgling nose with some bubbles. Often this duct is removed when the eye is taken out, but in Tigger's case maybe not. When she massaged the socket, some serous snotty material came out the other side of his nose. She took a longer needle & put it delicately in the suture & got .2 ml of bloody fluid that was completely sterile.

She thought he'd have some eye tissue swelling from the 2 needle pokes, but hopefully it won't get more air into it.

Tigger did really well with the propophol (sp?). The highest his BG got was 433 in the middle of surgery. He didn't need dextrose, but they gave him 1.0 unit of R at Noon.

They're going to keep checking his BG (Marje - told them I heard R + Lantus can cause big fast drops - thanks!) & I can get him @ 2PM - in 2 hours.

She thinks Tigger can have his normal insulin dose tonight (7:15PM CA time), but will know for sure after they've done a few more BGs - I'll post as soon as I know anything.

Woot! Hopefully we're back on track to healing!!!! :-D

THANKS EVERYONE FOR ALL YOUR SUPPORT - THE HEALING POWER OF LL WINS AGAIN!!!
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's gonna make the history books - heard fr.

Yeah!!!! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D

So happy that it wasn't anything bad, and that it made them work for their money. :cool: I hope there's no chance of this happening again.

Sending mega healing vines for fast recovery from surgery. Small meals (tsp or so) every 20 minutes to give him time to digest. After Neko had her dental, I had to lift the litter boxes. She was so hungry she wanted to eat the corn in the World's Best. :roll:
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's gonna make the history books - heard fr.

Good news!!



(its "propofol" ... but who cares? it worked)
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's gonna make the history books - heard fr.

Awesome! Love and hugs to you both.
logocl.gif
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's gonna make the history books - heard fr.

Fantastic news Suzanne!! Tigger is going to be in all the books, huh?...wonder if he'll get all stuck up and charge for his pawprints now? Fame can do that you know :lol: :lol:

Happy to hear it's over, and now you just have to be patient until it's time to pick him up....Good luck with the soup!
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's gonna make the history books - heard fr.

This news makes me jump for joy!!!
flip_cat


Sending good recovery vines to sweet Tigger :-D
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's gonna make the history books - heard fr.

Wow...that's amazing. Sending tons of healing prayers your way!!
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's gonna make the history books - heard fr.

That's great news!! You might ask the vet what you can do to prevent this from happening again. (Can they show you how to massage the area?)
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's Home & Doing Well +8/180 PM Dose ??

Who'd have thunk it? Glad Tigger is ok. Speedy recovery, lil one!
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's Home & Doing Well +8/180 PM Dose ??

Well, Tigger's been home for about 1.5 hours & is doing really well. First thing he did while I was getting his fud was a giant pee & horrendous yellow poo - in the LB (whew!), but litter got shoveled all over the floor & he had MAJOR poopy-butt. :o I walked in the room & about fell over - Tigger's looking at me with a chesire grin, like "Look what I did ALL by myself!". So - his pantaloons got a quick trim, & a rear wash made him almost good as new.

So far he's had a tsp - tablespoon q. 30 minutes & it's all staying down.

His last BG @ the vet's was 264; +7/ @ home = 181; +8/180, so he's surfing pretty nicely with that 1.0unit R.

:?: Marje says it may be an active night due to the R, maybe the next few cycles. Should I hold Tigger's dose tonight & tomorrow or?????

Sienne, I asked the vet if it would happen again & I think no one knows at this point,since they're not entirely sure how it happened but she's hopeful it's a 1-time thing. I think she got it out by needle aspiration & will check for sure next week.

Thanks Everyone for all your positive thoughts & information - we're amazed how many people care & visited in our behalf - it means sooooo much! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's Home & Doing Well +8/180 PM Dose ??

How nice to read good news about Tigger! That's so weird that it was just air! I am so glad he is home and doing well :-D
 
Re: 10/11 Tigger's Home & Doing Well +8/180 PM Dose ??

Suzanne, this is wonderful news! The power of LL helped deflate the giant air bubble!! We wish Tigger and you a restful night and a speedy recovery from the events of the day.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
I'm so glad he's home and it was air in there. I hope he eats fine tonight and keeps it down. :YMHUG:
 
YAY!!! for the great results! Paws crossed it's a one time thing!


You've got to admit, your cats do keep coming up w/ unusual ailments. Maybe Davis should set up a research clinic out there! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
I would not skip his PM dose. The R has worn off. If you think it makes sense, you can shoot a reduced dose. I'm nervous about your skipping since Tigger was fighting off a URI. I thought he was still on antibiotics but I can't tell from your SS.
 
Thanks so much, Ella, Anne, Dyana, Ann & Sienne for stopping by.

:?: @ Sienne - They gave the R @ Noon, & @ 6PM it should be gone - I fed Tigger 1 tsp 65 at +10 since he went so much lower. Are you sure the R's worn off? If so, & he only had .5u this AM, shouldn't he be higher based on the past few days? I guess if he doesn't have much food in him that might make a difference, too?

I usu. give the clindamycin around 2-3PM - I'll give it with tonight's meal - I didn't want to give it as soon as we got home. He is still on the Azithromycin 2x a week as well.

I'm thinking I should give the full dose & keep a vigil on him tonight - Marje says Gracie can dive for 2 cycles with just .1 R. Tigger got 1 unit. Has that been your experience with Gabby or is the R/Lanus experience another ECID????

@ Ann - I think having a UC Davis Vet Center here would be GREAT - especially if we got free vet services! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
i used R with punkin. i agree with Sienne, i'd give him his regular dose, assuming he's eating ok now. even though he got the 1uR during the surgery, you reduced his dose this morning so overall, he got the same amount he normally would've. it does wear off in around 4-6 hrs, so i wouldn't assume you'd have a problem tonight.

however, if you're nervous, or if you can't monitor him tonight, or if he's not got an appetite after the anesthesia, you could reduce it a little. if he has any infection though, you wouldn't want to have his numbers go too high.

anyway, that's my thought about it. and congrats on having him come through the surgery ok!!! glad it was "just" air! :-D
 
I've not used R. How a cat responds to any insulin is at least in part an ECID thing. I think if you look at Dyana's J.D's SS, you'll probably see that J.D. doesn't have the aftermath to R that Gracie does.

Could you put a note on your SS that indicates when you started the ABs and when they will be finished? It helps to be able to factor in health information and what meds and for how long a kitty is taking meds are important considerations.
 
What great news, Suzanne!! So glad it was something easily fixed, and that Tigger is eating already :-D

Healing/feel good vines continue!

Jane
 
Thanks, Julie & Sienne & Jane!

Julie it always helps to hear different experiences - glad Punkin's 'normal' with it, J.D. too.

I gave the full dose for Tigger - his appetite's going full blast - I gave a little higher carb -3%. But - he went to 180 at PMPS, so he's through with the R, I agree.

Sienne, I made notes in Tigger's SS for Rx start & dose - hope it makes sense. If not, I'll re-do.

Thanks Everyone again for all the positive thoughts for Tigger - his eye is at least 1/3 what it was - back to a marble - the rest vet believes is tissue swelling & will reduce - Paws crossed Tigger is over most of the URi & doesn't sneeze more! ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top