10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, +2 247, syringe feeding

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday.
Yesterday recap:
AMPS: 103
+7: 102
+9: 96
PMPS: 122
+3: 178
+7: 254

No appy, showing signs of uti (peeing outside LB).
Had a urinalysis done yesterday, will get results today.

Should I shoot a BCS shot this morning?

eta: I won't be home to monitor...
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, shoot bcs?

I wish I could say I knew for sure, but I know Sienne is always saying that infection + not eating + no insulin is a formula for DKA. I might be inclined to shoot a BCS. Can DH check on her during the day?

Sending TONS of prayers for your sweet girl. It's amazing how well you know her.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, shoot bcs?

We both have to work today. The soonest I can be home is +9.
And we both leave for work in about 40 mins from now.

She isn't even interested in her shrimp treats :sad:
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, shoot bcs?

Poor little girl, and poor you.... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: . I'm in a similar boat with Noah...worried about him, he has a vetty appointment tonight, and I couldn't get him in earlier because I have to work with no way out of it. So frustrating and stressful.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, shoot bcs?

I haven't really been on here long enough to give sound advice, but as everyone always says to me, it's better to have it high for a little while as opposed to too low, especially while you're both going to be gone. Like I said, I don't have a lot of experience in this yet though. I wish I could be more help. :YMSIGH:

I hope Ripley starts eating again soon and feeling better. I know how stressful it is when they don't feel well. :sad:
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, shoot bcs?

Can you see if Ripley is interested in some MC/HC? I do think you should give some insulin but I'd be concerned too if my kiity wasn't eating.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, shoot bcs?

She's not interested in higher-carb food.
I've tried MC, HC, some CowBoy Cookout (old version), babyfood... nothing's appealing to her.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

Thank you for checking in Amy, Brigitte, and Sienne. :YMHUG:

I hate to leave her like this, but if I were home I'd just be hovering.
When the vet calls with urinalysis results, I'm going to start getting ABs into her hopefully this afternoon (if she does indeed have an infection).
I hope that will help her feel better.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

Josie, I hope that Ripley will start to eat by this afternoon and that you get the results of the urinalysis back today. Sending healing vines to Ripley and hugs to you,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

Sending prayers for Ripley. I hope she'll eat for you when you get home.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

Morning Josie ~O) ~O) ~O)

I am sorry that Ripley isn't feeling well. I think you made the right call, if she isn't eating at all, and you won't be home, well - best be high for a few until you know what is what and can get her on meds, or whatever is needed. Tons of healing vines for our little Ripley. Be better little one.

Enjoy your day today. I hope all goes well. And that the vet will have some news for you.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, shoot bcs?

Sending vines for Miss Ripples cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon Please feel better and eat some fuds.

I feel for you Josie, :YMHUG:

Jane
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

We'll be thinking about you guys all day.... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

(((Josie)))
I am so sorry to hear that Ripley isn't feeling well and not eating.
My stomach knots thinking how worried you must be.....
Sending prayers and positive thoughts that you will find Ripley feeling better when you get home later today.
Also sending lots of healing and eating vines to Ripley.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

Hi guys .. aww, I'm sorry that ripley is not feeling well this morning .. I hope the vet calls soon and can get her on some AB's to make her feel better! Hang in there today!
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

(((Josie))))

Sending our special girl extra big hugs and healing vines. I hope you can get some ABs started for her today so she will feel better. I'm worried about her, too.

Love you, Ripples Dipples. FEEL BETTER, baby!! You NEED your shrimps (Gracie said she will eat extra in your honor today).
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

((((Josie)))) Sending tons of healing vines for Miss Ripley, as well as extra appy. I hope you get an answer from the vetty today and hear happy squawking when you get home.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, not eating, skipping shot

Josie :YMHUG: I know how stressed you must be. I am so sorry Ripley isn't feeling well or eating. Fingers and paws crossed that the vet gets back to you asap and gives you what you need to help your little girl feel better.
C'mon Rips, time to eat up sweet girl. Your mamabean is so worried about you and loves you so much. That's a good kitty cat_pet_icon. Twice is sending healing kitty hugs
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet appt this afternoon

Piling good vetty vines on top of all the feel better/eat better prayers, too. I know you're worried...we're all right here with you, Josie :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: .
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet appt this afternoon

Thanks so much for the well-wishes and kind words, Liz, Ella, Carla, Michelle, Jane, Amy, Melissa, Mariko, Devon, Marje, Wendy, and Kim.
Means so much to me (and Ripples).

I was able to get off work early (teachers switching their breaks and schedules to cover for me ~ such a supportive work family).
I came home to a sleepy Ripley, a tiny vomit (I tried syringing food this morning, but only got maybe 1/2tsp. in, which is what she vomited), and she had peed on the bathroom rug.

So she's definitely showing 3 classic uti signs now (lethargy, urinating outside of the LB, and vomiting).
I checked her ketones last night and this morning, both negative.

I have an appt this afternoon (in 2 hrs) ~ urinalysis results are in, but vet is in surgery. He wants me to bring in Ripley.
I hope it's just for exam, maybe a blood draw.
I can't help but feel nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile .

Shortly after I got home, Ripley walked to the back door, so she's outside now, sitting in the middle of the backyard. It's an overcast day, so she won't get overheated. She looks rather content, and squinty-eyed. It's so good to see her off of her rocking chair.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet appt this afternoon

Awe sorry to hear Ripley isnt feeling well today. Sending appy and feel better vines and prayers.

Hope the vet appt goes well today and hope Ripley is back to feeling all better very soon.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet appt this afternoon

Thank you Jamie. We're sending vines for Jupiter, too ♥

Add 'excessive water drinking' to the list.
She keeps going back and forth between the water bowl in the kitchen and the tub.
Reminds me of when she was first diagnosed last year. :sad:
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet appt this afternoon

Sending you guys good vetty vines. I hope you can get Miss Ripley back to feeling like her old self soon.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet appt this afternoon

Josie, I hate reading that Ripley isn't feeling well. I'm sending lots of prayers and 'get better" vines, your way.

Barb
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet appt this afternoon

Oh No Miss Rippers :sad: I am so sorry to hear you aren't feeling so good :sad:
Mama is doing everything she can to help you get better but you need to eat something...Please?!
So sorry Josie :sad: Sending you lots of healing and calming vines :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
I am anxiously waiting to hear the results from the vet!
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet appt this afternoon

Poor Ripley, I do hope she feels better SOON! Yay for teachers switching things up so you can get home earlier.

I'll check back later to see what you learned at the vet.

Prayers and Hugs -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet update

Thank you so much, Tara, Barb, Pam, and Libby ♥

No bacteria was found in her urine, so no UTI (I would've lost money on that bet!).
White blood cell count is high, so there is an infection somewhere in there ~ but we won't start antibiotics until she eats.
She got a cerenia injection (anti-nausea), and I have cypro pills (appy stimulant) ~ I am to give her 1 pill BID, approx. 1/2-hr before breakfast/dinner.
The most important thing is to get her eating.

She had blood drawn for testing, plus running a test for pancreatitis. When I get those results tomorrow, the vet will discuss AB options with me. He is leaning toward an injection (covenia :-x ) because it isn't necessary to have food in her system for that AB; I'm HOPING she eats so that we can do a pill AB and avoid that shot (I already let him know that).

I just gave her a little bit of Pepcid, so hopefully she'll keep that down.
(She vomited 2-3 times today, plus had a little diarrhea before the vet visit. She also spent a LONG time drinking water pre-visit, and drank just a little more after we got back home. She's sleeping on her rocker, heating pad on.

She has lost about 6 oz. since last weight check, about a month ago, but there isn't a concern with that. No fever. All other values are the same as before (last urinalysis was also Sept.), only the WBC has gone up.

My poor girl. She's been through a lot today.
Me, too. I'm ready for an early bedtime (after t/f/s & fluids, of course). I spent the night snuggling on the couch with her, worrying, of course.

Oh, and I've never used cypro before ~ so if there are any tips, I'm listening :smile: ... They're 4mg per tablet.

Thanks so much for the positive thoughts and words today.
Please eat tonight, Ripplestiltskin!
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet update

Prayers continue from here....please eat, please feel better, little Ripley!
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet update

Has Ripley had Convenia before? It's not an AB that we typically encourage because it's an injection that lasts for well over 2 weeks. Bottom line -- if your cat has a reaction to it, once it's in, you can't get it out. Cats have had extreme reactions to the drug. In addition, it's ONLY indication is for skin infections. Vets like it because owners don't have to pill the cat. Dr. Lisa has posted strongly discouraging its use.

I'm also not sure that I agree with the notion to not give an AB until your cat eats. Here's how I think about it. If you are sick with an infection, you may not want to eat. Your doctor still gives you an AB to treat the infection since once the infection is under better control, you're going to feel more like eating.

I'm also concerned that an uncontrolled infection in a diabetic cat dramatically increases the risk for ketones.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet update

Hi, Sienne, thank you. Ripley has had a covenia injection before, earlier this year for a uti (I ok'd it not knowing it was covenia ~ it was called cefovecin). I kicked myself when I realized what it was, and she's been on clavamox & zeniquin for subsequent UTIs).

The vet's reasoning for not doing AB tonight was that he didn't want her to feel more ill if it's on an empty stomach.
I does sound like we'll be starting ABs tomorrow, and I'm prepared to decline covenia. I'd much rather pill her.
In the meantime, I'm testing for ketones (so far negative).
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet update

Mega vines and prayers continue for Ripley. Calming/strength vines for her beans.

Jane
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet update

C'mon Rips. It's time to eat now so that mama can get on with the treatments to make you all better. :-D
Hmmm...does catnip stimulate her appy? One of my boys went through a rough time and wouldn't eat. I offered a pinch of nip and finally he started to eat. Another fan favorite is to warm up the food slightly so the smell is stronger and more enticing. (you prob tried this..).

Continuing to send hugs to you both! Wish there was something I could say or do to help :cry:
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley AMBG 287, +7 250, vet update

Hi Josie,

Just dropping by with huge, strong healing vines for Ripples, and some hugs and scritches, and hugs for you too :smile:

Kathie
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, vet update & syringe feeding

Thank you Kim, Jane, Kathie, and Libby :-D

Ripley is getting her first experience of syringe-feeding.
She's not thrilled about it, but she's also not much of a challenge with anything ~ so most is going in. So far almost 2tsp. Have some more to feed, but we're taking a little break.

She still isn't interested in her beloved shrimp treats.
But Kim's suggestion about catnip reminds me that Ripley used to love oregano when she was first diagnosed ~ I'll try that...

I ended up giving her 1/2 a tab of cypro (upon reading about how 1 whole tab can cause agitation, and even much less is given to stimulate the appy...).

We also just gave her some sub-q fluids. She wasn't thrilled, but, again put up with it.

She has the saddest meows tonight. Not a happy girl.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, vet update & syringe feeding

Oh Josie, I'm sending many, many appy vines to Ripley! And healing ones. I'm glad she is co-operating with they syringe feeding, it's good to know some fuds are going in. I've only done finger and spoon feedings, but I imagine someday I will have to try that one too. Hugs to you :YMHUG: and luvs to Ripley cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, vet update & syringe feeding

Awwww...poor little girl. Maybe hold off on offering her shrimpies until she's feeling better, so she doesn't associate them with feeling yucky.

My vetty just gave us cypro, too, in case we need it. She did say half a tab for Noah, twice a day.

Feel better, sweet girl!
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, vet update & syringe feeding

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: Continuing to send tons of feel better vines for Ripley. Good luck with the syringe feeding. For some cats, they may go off the food that you are syringe feeding, so often it's best to try feeding something that's not their regular fuds. I fostered a hepatic lipidosis guy that went completely off chicken for several months once he started eating again. Do you know how many cat food products contain chicken as an ingredient? :shock:
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, vet update & syringe feeding

Thank you Rachel, Amy, and Wendy. :-D

I may have ruined Ripley's opinion of Wellness Turkey.
It's probably time to revisit the low-carb/low-phosphorous list anyway...

So far I've syringed 4tsp. of food... not much, but still feeding in small sessions.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, vet update & syringe feeding

Just catching up. I would also veto the convenia. Even though she has had it before, it is primarily for skin infections and why risk it if it is not likely to target what could be wrong?

My thoughts:
1. I'd discuss a possible kidney infection; yes, I know I might sound repetitive about these but Gus has had a couple of them and the urine c&s was negative but he had white and red blood cells in his urine. If Ripley's WBCs in her bloodwork are up, it could be that as well.
2. Hyperthyroidism can cause vomiting and excessive drinking but so can many other things. Of course, hyper-T shouldn't cause her WBCs to go up and her BG to go up so suddenly. But still, it's not a bad idea in an older kitty to keep an eye on her free and total T3 and T4.

I'd be sure she isn't nauseous if you are giving cypro.

I'm glad you gave her insulin. Even though it is a hassle to syringe feed, with an infection brewing, between the insulin, food, and fluids, it might keep any ketones at bay.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, vet update & syringe feeding

Hi Josie - I so hope Ripley is feeling better. I also understand your concern over the convenia shot. I too have been in that boat with Mannie. He had an infection as well, now I can't remember if it was a UTI or what... but he wasn't eating, wouldn't eat no matter what we tried,he felt awful, had the liquid poo, etc etc etc. I ended up with the convenia shot, as I just had no other choice. He needed AB's and all the we tried made his nausea worse than it already was. It was a last resort for us. I'm not advocating the drug, as what Sienne says it all true, just saying it may be a last resort. if Ripley has had it before without any issues she should be fine this go around too, if all else fails. We ended up using it a couple of times with Mannie, as anything else compounded the symptoms relating to what was causing his problem in the first place. Hugs to all there.

On the cypro - ask Liz and Anne - they use it routinely with Zener. Good luck too with the syringe feeding. Hope she tolerates that well.

BE well Ripley!
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, vet update & syringe feeding

We give Zener cypro for appy issues. We give a teeny tiny amount, like about as big as this period. I call it 1/32 of a pill but it may not be that much. It takes about an hour to take effect. Tillie seems to need a bit more. When we get the right amount, it works well. Too much and Zener is frantic for food. Sending tons of vines to Rippers and to you.
Liz
ETA: we also give ondansetron for nausea.
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, +2, 247, syringe feeding

Come on Ripley, eat baby EAT!

Josie, this may sound strange but have you tried dog food? I learned that KT will eat Purina Combo canned puppy and Little Cesaer's pates when he just has to eat. LOTS of thoughts and prayers thru this, all this is hard on your heart and head.

BIG HUG,
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, +2, 247, syringe feeding

Thanks so much, Marje, Michelle, Liz, and Lyresa :YMHUG:

Just fed 2 more tsp (6 total now).
She was just licking her paws (maybe cleaning the spilled fuds) ~ the most active I've seen her tonight.

I'm learning so much today.
I truly appreciate all of your insight and experiences.


I'd be sure she isn't nauseous if you are giving cypro.
She may have been when I administered the cypro ~ I assumed/hoped the cerenia shot had helped w/the nausea. oops

Lyresa, I haven't tried dog food. It hasn't even occurred to me (my brain keeps saying it's a 'no-no' ;-) ). I'd have to go out and get some, as we only have kibble here for our Marley dog. Thanks so much for the suggestion!
 
Re: 10/29 Ripley PMPS 248, +2, 247, syringe feeding

Applause to you Josie for taking it nice and slow with the feedings. A lot of people would be panicky to get the food into their babies, and end up making their tummies turn and vomitting, which makes it even harder to convince them to eat next time. You are an excellent mama. The strange food thing is definately something that seems to work for certain kitties that aren't feeling well. I have heard cheese, certain spices, eggs, etc have all been successful for getting them interested in eating on their own. Sick kitties, sometimes get weird cravings. Guess they are like people in that respect. And it doesn't need to be a lot. Just a taste, and they will get the sensation to eat. I'm sending continues hugs to you and healing vines to Ripl :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top