11/4 Clyde +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57 +5.5 51 +6 62 +6.5 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

fun2doimpossible

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107473

Happy Monday!

Did everyone survive the time change? My two were a little better this morning. Max, the civilian, let me "sleep in" an extra 45 minutes this morning, so while it's not quite the hour we gained it's close. :smile:

Clyde was at 66 for his PMPS. Fortunately, I'm home all night, I have a feeling that it's going to be an interesting night. This is his 5th cycle at 0.5U.

The vet wanted me to call into her office with the curve I did over the weekend, so as soon as she calls me back I'm going to pop over to Walmart and get more test strips. If everything goes well, I have enough. If things go south, well, lets just say stocking up won't do any harm. :smile:
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde AMPS 96 +1 56 PMPS 66 +1 61

Clyde's +1 is 61. I'm stocked up on test strips and am ready for what is probably going to be a crazy night.

My vet called me back. She liked the curve from Sat. :mrgreen: and was a little surprised that this evening he tested at 66 before his shot. She knows that I've been following TR and told her I backed his dosage down to 0.5 on Sat.

I'm looking to try and figure out what is likely to be the best for Clyde.

Tonight, I'm going to test at +2 and then go from there. I have a feeling that sometimes in the next two hours he will be in the 40s, since the majority of his shots, I have data for, when I've been shooting green cause a 20-30 point drop before +4. If that does happen, should he be reduced to .25U?

Tomorrow, I am at work all day. When I talked to the vet she is starting to get concerned that even with the small dosages and his starting BG that he could go hypo. She recommended two things for tomorrow since I will be at work. She said I can try going OTJ in the morning :o :shock: and see what his BG is at night, or if I want I can bring him in to their office so someone can monitor him. She's not sure about reducing further because in her experience she hasn't seen much of a response with dosages under 1U. (That said, it sounds like she typically uses SLGS.)

I'm concerned that if I try to take him OTJ tomorrow at her suggestion, I could loose the progress he's made so far. I'm leaning towards seeing what his numbers are tonight, seeing if a reduction is warranted, and if it is move to 0.25U tomorrow. In the morning, see what his BG at AMPS and +1 and depending on where we're at take him to the vet to be monitored in case it does look like it could drop to dangerous levels.

What do you think of this plan and are my concerns valid?
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde AMPS 96 +1 56 PMPS 66 +1 61 +2 51 +2.25 51

Great numbers! I think for OTJ you are supposed to go down to .25u and even down to one drop before doing the trial. It will help to see where he goes tonight. Let's see what others have to say. Nice work! :thumbup
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde PMPS 66 +1 61 +2 51 +2.25 51 +2.5 48

At +2.5 he hit 48. I gave him 1tsp of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers and will recheck around +3.

Thank you for the encouragement. From the sticky it looks like it should go to .25U then to .1U before attempting OTJ, which was why I was a little surprised by my vets suggestion as one thing I can try. I'm leaning towards having the vet watch him tomorrow if his BG is in the 60-70s in the morning.

Does this mean he gets the reduction tomorrow to .25U?
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde PMPS 66 +1 61 +2 51 +2.25 51 +2.5 48

At +3 he's still at 48. I'm going to give him a little more HC food.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde PMPS 66 +1 61 +2 51 +2.25 51 +2.5 48

I would say YES to the reduction tomorrow. Congratulations! Just two more to go (to .1 then to zero). :-D

You could get the vet to watch him if you want - are you sure they would check frequently enough? The other option if Clyde is low in the morning is to leave him a bunch of MC or HC food to munch on should he need it.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde PMPS 66 +1 61 +2 51 +2.25 51 +2.5 48 +3 48

I think I'm going to see where he's at in the morning. If I leave HC food out, Max, the civilian, will scarf it up. :-D I caught him in the sink licking the spoons I was using to feed the HC to Clyde. :-D

I don't know if they would check as frequently as I would. I'm just thinking if it turns out to be really low in the morning, like 66 again, and I shoot .25u having them check on him is better then not checking at all.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde PMPS 66 +1 61 +2 51 +2.25 51 +2.5 48 +3 48

If he is low tomorrow, then the depot will mostly be from the .5 dose, even if you do shoot .25 in the morning, so it could still be an active cycle. Too bad you can't keep the cats separate so Clyde gets his food. Makes sure you take Clyde's food with you if you do leave him at the vet. Last thing you want is them giving him some high carb veterinary food.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde PMPS 66 +1 61 +2 51 +2.25 51 +2.5 48 +3 48

Tara & Buster said:
Gratz on the reducie! Hope it holds!

Thank you.

At +3.5 he's at 56. I'm going to take a wait and see approach in the morning.Looking over the spreadsheet, the cycles after I've had to steer with food have started higher then the ones without it.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.25 51 +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64

Congrats on the reduction! I wouldn't start him on a trial yet.....Wendy is right that normally we would reduce to .25, .1, and then off for a trial.

You know, the way he's going and considering his depot, if you were worried about shooting lower in the morning, you can skip. Slot of times when cats are solid green like this and coming down the dosing scale, you hardly see much of any effect from skipping. That way he would be at home and be safe. It would drain the depot a little bit and then you could pick up tomorrow night with .25u.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.25 51 +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64

i was thinking the same thing that marje said. if he's low in the morning i'd probably skip, then return to the .25u tomorrow night.

are you home on wednesday to monitor, or will you be faced with the same thing on wednesday?

clyde is looking great. you're doing a great job with him! it's very intensive at this phase but so worth it!
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.25 51 +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64

julie & punkin (ga) said:
i was thinking the same thing that marje said. if he's low in the morning i'd probably skip, then return to the .25u tomorrow night.

are you home on wednesday to monitor, or will you be faced with the same thing on wednesday?

clyde is looking great. you're doing a great job with him! it's very intensive at this phase but so worth it!

Unfortunately, I have work during the day and the next day I'm at home is Sat.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.25 51 +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64

hmm, well skipping tomorrow morning might drain the shed a little bit and avoid the issue the next day.

i don't suppose you're close enough to home to run home and test him during the work day? my husband and i used to do this crazy drive home to check punkin. he'd come home at am+3, test and set the timed feeder if needed, and I came home at +4.5 and reset it if needed. i know most people can't do that.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57

At +5 he's at 57.

It's about a 40 min drive round trip, so I can get home at lunch (around +6).
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57

if you skip the shot there's no need to come home and check him. that's a lot of driving. but at least it's an option if you need it.

have you considered putting him in a separate room during the day with a timed feeder? we'd hate to foil Max's plans for gravy food, of course. :lol:
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57

I still think you can skip one time tomorrow morning and drain the depot.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57

we had the PetSafe 5 compartment feeder and it sure made my life easier. i just didn't worry as much knowing he could get to food. if punkin was low we'd set it to go off every half hour for 2 hours, which usually got him through his nadir.

you can also freeze cat food - mix it with a little water and then freeze in ice cube trays. as they thaw the cat can nibble on it. with clyde moving down the dosing scale you might not need one for too long, so ice cubes might work in the meantime.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57 +5.

At +5.5 he's dropped to 51. Should I feed him more HC food or wait to see if it stabilizes since he typically starts with an uptick around +6?
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +2.5 48 +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57 +5.

i'd probably give him a couple of teaspoons of low carb and see if he'll surf for you. you don't need to HC a 51 under normal circumstances, especially when you think he's near his nadir.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57 +5.5 51 +6

You want to just try to keep him surfing with LC, as Julie said. ....especially when it's late in the cycle.
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57 +5.5 51 +6

At +6 he's up to 62. I gave him a couple of teaspoons of LC food. It was about 5 minutes after he finished eating and the +6 test.

Right now, I'm leaning towards skipping the morning dose unless he ends up really high (seems unlikely at this point) in the morning. :smile:
 
Re: 11/4 Clyde +3 48 +3.5 56 +4 66 +4.5 64 +5 57 +5.5 51 +6

I really doubt he'll be high in the morning. You are doing GREAT!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top