11/9 Lucy PMPS=130;+2=106;+4=140

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Yesterday's condo

11/8 AMPS=148; +2=144; +7.5=162
11/8 PMPS=171 (dosecrease); +2=153; +5=160

11/9 AMPS=115; +2=139; +4=178
11/9 PMPS=130; +2=106; +4=140

Lucy is doing good.
She ate Wellness Turkey&Salmon well this morning, even mixed with FortiFlora.
She wasn't really happy being fed Wellness Turkey for the 2nd & 3rd breakfast, but she finished complaining.
The good news is that Lucy did a very small but solid poo this morning!!!

Since I increased her dose to 1.25 unit yesterday, and this dose made Lucy cliffdive to 20's number last time after sub-q fluids, I am going to try something.
I've been giving Lucy sub-q fluids twice a week, Wendnesday-ish and Saturday-ish (+/- one day).
I think this made the in-between period vary from 2.5 days to 4.5 days, depending on which day and what time I gave fluids.
And I think that's why she dived after fluids sometimes, and she didn't the other times.
So, instead of twice a week, I am going to try "every 4 days", so that I will not be giving her insulin when she is a water-bag.
And I can always do extra when she loses fluids by vomit or diarrhea.
I don't know if this experiment will work or not... If it didn't the next thing I will try is to adjust the volume of fluids.

Ginger is 100%.
I am still struggling to catch up with stuff I didn't get done much last week.
Work suffered too, so I'm catching up this weekend.
I'm going to go "Wellness Turkey 3oz case" hunting today.
I've been trying a few petfood stores nearby, but everyone has been out for some reason.

I hope everyone's having a nice day!
 
Re: 11/9 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=139

we gave punkin fluids every other day. i wonder if a lesser volume of fluids, but more frequently, would have less of an impact.

the first time i gave him fluids he plummeted, and i thought it might be related, but after that time i didn't notice any impact.
 
Re: 11/9 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=139

I give Lucy about 125ml out of convenience because I buy 250ml bags.
Less volume more frequently is probably better, but it breaks my heart every time I poke her with such a big needle, so I've been trying to avoid "more frequent" but maybe I should....
I use Terumo 20G UTW, so it's not too bad, but huge compared to insulin needle.
 
Re: 11/9 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=139;+4=178

Nice blues for Lucy.



Zener's BGs would drop several hours after we gave fluids too. We did an every other day routine of 100mL last summer when he was having problems with dehydration. We would put the needle in the freezer before the big stick and also warm the fluids and he did pretty good with it. We were more bothered by the needle than he was. :roll:
 

Attachments

  • blue cat surfing.jpg
    blue cat surfing.jpg
    60.8 KB · Views: 334
Re: 11/9 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=139;+4=178

Wonderful condo today...yay for solid poo and Ginger feeling 100%!!! Good luck with the fluids timing...I have no first hand experience, but what you are saying makes sense.

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 11/9 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=139;+4=178

I got 5 cases of Wellness Turkey 3oz cans, 6 bags of 40lb Dr. Elsey's kitty litter, and some raw foods for Ginger.
I'll be OK for a while.
I am so paranoid about running out of these necessities, and stores being out of stock.

I'll call my fluids supplier next week to see if I can order a case of 500ml bags, so I can do 100ml every 3rd days, maybe....

I think I'm going to nap a big before I get back on "catching up".
Shopping tires me even though I quite like pet supplies store.
 
Re: 11/9 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=139;+4=178

Yay for a solid poo for Lucy. Good luck with the fluid experiment. I'm glad Ginger is doing well.
 
Re: 11/9 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=139;+4=178

Yippee for solid poo!! :-D It will be interesting to see if changing the fluid days will effect the BG drop - Hope you enjoyed a nice nap!

FYI - I have started ordering the 40lb bags of Dr Elsey's Cat Litter from Amazon. It is cheaper than Petsmart and they deliver for free right to my door!

Have a good night!
 
Re: 11/9 Lucy PMPS=130;+2=106

Lucy's number is improving!
This is the lowest number I've seen in a while!
 
Re: 11/9 Lucy PMPS=130;+2=106

Go Lucy! You are almost at the lagoon - let's see you stick a toe in there.

Good luck with the fluids experiment. I bet you are tired from lugging all that litter. :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top