11/14 China AMPS 235,+2 331,+8 269,PMPS 249,+4 144

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Sorry for the late condo today but since I wasn't at all happy with their plan to discharge Mom today, I was over there early to catch the doctors...and then they had an emergency and didn't get done until close to noon, so it's been a long morning.

Luckily though, we came to an agreement...they're going to move her to the SNU at the hospital for a week before sending her to the nursing home. The SNU is much better staffed, right there in the hospital in case of emergency, and they'll have physical therapy working with her multiple times a day to help get her strength back.

She still hasn't had a BM and they won't let her leave ICU until that happens, but they've been giving her some of just about everything to get things moving...Once they do, they'll work on moving her out of ICU and into SNU

As for China, I'm not sure what's going on with her today, but my main concern is that the insulin freezing the other night might be catching up with her..or the .5 just isn't going to be enough again, but I'll hang on a little while longer. If I do go back to .75 and her numbers come back down, then the insulin is fine, but if I go back up and she doesn't go back into good numbers, I'll know my luck has run out. Don't know what I'd do if the insulin is bad..paying for this hotel has pretty much wiped me out (and that doesn't include the bills at home)

Thank you everyone for the visits over the last several days and the prayers, vines and well wishes. They've been so welcome and I know they work!!!

Hope everyone is having a pleasant Fursday!!
 
Re: 11/14 China AMPS 235,+2 331,+8 269

I'm glad you got something worked out with the doctors for your mom. I hope China is just being a cat and the insulin is okay. Make sure you take some time to get some rest and take care of yourself too. You won't be able to help your Mom or take care of China if you wear yourself out. Sending prayers for you and your Mom.
 
Re: 11/14 China AMPS 235,+2 331,+8 269

Well I am thrilled to hear they are keeping your Mom longer. When my Mom had her bladder cancer surgery and removed her bladder, they pushed her out 2 days after it was done. I knew something wasnt right. She was back 2 days later because she almost bled out. So I think its great she is staying.

As for your insulin, if it went bad, then we can do a your caring donation drive. I am sure we can get enough people together to get you a new vial. With everything you have going on, I think you need a break from that worry. Lets not worry about that right now at least.

Try and have a good night with a little peace of mind. :YMHUG: Chris :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/14 China AMPS 235,+2 331,+8 269

China, keep on sliding down please! Show your momma that the insulin is OK. It's early days yet after the reduction, so hard to make any conclusions yet. I'd wait a few more cycles yet before saying it's the dose or the insulin. I just went through an episode of bad insulin, and it was pretty obvious after several cycles of not much movement at all. And I did the same as your plan to increase first to see if it was the dose. Paws crossed it's just a bounce.

Have you thought about popping into the hospital pharmacy and seeing if they'll sell you a single pen? I see that referenced as a place that will sometimes sell a single pen. A singleton would be way cheaper.

Good news on the mom front. I'm glad ICU is stepping up to keeping her until she's better and that she'll stay at the hospital a while longer. I hope you can head home soon.
 
Re: 11/14 China AMPS 235,+2 331,+8 269

Good idea Wendy!! I tell everyone else to ask hospital pharmacies if they'd sell a single pen and it had totally slipped my mind to ask for myself!! Sure can't hurt to ask them!

They moved her out of ICU late today and up to SNU, so she's still "in" the hospital, but on the Skilled Nursing Unit. Tomorrow I have to go all the way back home to get her some clothes from the Assisted Living place she's been staying at and then back over here to get them to her.

Anyone have a pack mule I can rent or borrow? :lol:

Now to get her eating and fighting back. After so many years of being her caretaker and protector, I'm going to have to add Cheerleader and Motivator to my list

I'm going to hold the .5 on China for a little longer and see what happens, but if I don't see some progress quick, I'm going to go back to the .75 sooner rather than later. Even when she goes real low, she has been clearing little bounces in less than 1 cycle. IF she's bouncing off the 49, it's not her style to stay above 200 this long. If she's a lot higher in the morning, I may fatten it some..or just go back to .75....I know I should probably hold the .5 longer, but it's just so NOT China to take this long to come back down..at least not for quite some time

I don't know. I'm going to sleep on it and see how she does tonight. Tomorrow will be here soon enough and I'll figure out what to do then.
 
Re: 11/14 China AMPS 235,+2 331,+8 269

Chris, I'm so glad to hear your Mom is able to stay in the hospital for a little while longer. Damn "For profit" hospitals :-x
And good luck with whatever you decide to do with Chinas dose.
I'm wondering the same thing with Hoots vial. So I will raise his dose tomorrow and see what happens.
Get some sleep tonight so you can fight the fight tomorrow :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/14 China AMPS 235,+2 331,+8 269

I thought China might be bouncing off the 51 last night. She's got a little less insulin in her now to help with the bounces. But like you, I wouldn't wait more than a couple extra cycles to decide.

Good luck with hauling the clothes around. Paws crossed wearing her own clothes makes your mom feel better. Those hospital gowns are the pits.
 
Re: 11/14 China AMPS 235,+2 331,+8 269

I'm so glad your mom is progressing nicely and got out of ICU. I think being in the hospital can cause depression on top of all she's had going on.

Paws crossed on the insulin being ok.
 
Re: 11/14 China AMPS 235,+2 331,+8 269

Chris, I'm glad you were able to convince the doctors your mom needed to stay in the hospital. Hope you're able to make the drive home for clothes quickly & easily. I agree about hospital stays & depression. My 24 y/o nephew's been in for 6 weeks now & its v. hard, even on the young. You're a wonderful daughter to be looking after your Mom so well.

I hope China comes down soon for you, and your pen is all right. If it did freeze, you might try calling to company to see if they'd be willing to replace it. Ella suggested that to Wendy, I think. At any rate, I hope you locate a hospital or pharmacy that'll sell you a single pen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top