11/21 Ophie PMPS 163, +2 97, +3 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

OphiesMom

Member Since 2013
Good morning to all!

My day started off with a very, very angry kitty :lol:. Ophie is now aware that I'm planning to test her at 5:30 and wait to feed her until 6:30. She has been so good with so many changes lately, I do believe she is putting her paw down on this one :lol:. TBD who wins this battle: me or her. Truthfully, I have never--in 14 years--seen her this angry at me. She forgave me once I put the food down, but it was a chilly hour :lol:.

Well, time to get the human kid up for school...
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie +11 236, AMPS 206

Oh Joely,

How funny, be ready to be reported to the Humane Society for cruelty to kitties :lol: :lol: I bet the sparks were flying from her eyes.

Hope Ophie gets used to the new routine quickly! Glad she forgave you :-D

Have a great Fursday!
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie +11 236, AMPS 206

That is too funny Joely ...
Poor Ophie having to wait an hour to be feed especially after she allowed you to stick her ... Jane is right, Ophie might just be going to report you 2 HS. :lol:
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie +11 236, AMPS 206

:lol: :lol: :lol: Poor Ophie...What are you thinking Joely :?: :?: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Yes, animal cruelty going on here :lol: :lol:
At least she's a forgiving kitty considering all the abuse :lol: :lol:
Have a great day Joely!
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie +11 236, AMPS 206

Oh, the 'tude, I tell you! :lol: I'm glad to see that Ophie' # has come down 30 points this morning. Hoping for a lower surf for you both. Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie +11 236, AMPS 206

I know... right? Crazy kittykat! Thanks everyone for popping by and all the comments :smile:. It was another day w/ roasted chicken breast for second breakfast, so hopefully she sees this pattern and doesn't focus on the delay with first breakfast.

Ophie had a good day, only a little bit of yellow.

Wishing everyone great night!
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163 (non-urgent question)

Well, I realize that skipping Ophelia's shot yesterday AM has its effects, but I'm curious why she is lower at her PMPS than at any other point today? If anyone can opine, I would appreciate it. If I'm just being crazy, you can say that too :-D

Just when I think I'm starting to understand... :YMSIGH:

In other news, I got my new syringes today with the half mark, so I'm feeling more confident on my accuracy for her dose :-D
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163 (non-urgent question)

ummmmmm my short answer is i don't know. :lol:

you'll see weird numbers here and there. what is most important is the trend over a couple of days. could be related to the skipped shot yesterday morning - i don't really know but wouldn't worry about it.

the great news here is that you shot a blue preshot - another little gift from Ophie! i hope you don't end up staying up tonight monitoring, but make sure you get a +2 and compare the numbers.
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163 (non-urgent question)

Overall Ophie is nice and flat. I always tell people to try not to worry too much about each individual number. Once you have the depot built up and are taking advantage of the overlap from one dose to the next, Lantus has such a long curve that you learn to look for "waves" of action over periods of several days at a time instead of looking at each individual cycle.

To provide a little more specific answer to your question, in the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky we note:

Some Lantus and Levemir users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that the preshot is always a bit lower than +10 or +11 (but usually still higher than the nadir – the cat dips to a nadir at mid-cycle, then rises, then dips again). If this is your cat’s pattern, then this type of dip is not a reason to delay a shot.
This looks like a pattern that Ophie has displayed from time to time, so that is something to consider next time you are looking at a low preshot.
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163 (non-urgent question)

Hi Joely! I see Ophie has decided to hang out in the blues tonight :-D I have no answer to your non urgent question, but Twice likes to dip at the end of his cycle too. It's a little something special that some kitties will do to see if they can send their beans over the deep end :lol: ;-) They come up with all kinds of fun and crazy tricks to set our heads spinning...just wait! Oh the fun :lol: No question is stupid and that is the truth. There is sooo much to learn and figure out and I know from my own experience it is better to ask than to assume! Oh which reminds me, I need to ask someone what CPC means: as in 'the cat is CPC'. :lol: I have mulled that one over for way too long!
Have a great night Joely and Ophie
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163 (non-urgent question)

you know i always forget that double-dip. punkin never did it.

CPC = Clean Plate Club. an elite group with flexible membership. :lol:
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163 (non-urgent question)

Thank you, all!!!

Julie, I never got to reply about Pumpkin's video your shared (singing the song of his people) with me two nights ago. It was hysterical :lol: :lol:! I've watched Sad Cat a hundred times ;-). Ze Frank is brilliant!

Libby, thank you so much for pointing that out. I've read the sticky on shooting low numbers (often :oops: :oops:), but I didn't know what that meant. Ophie seems to dip often lately, which is where 100% of my confusion comes in when the pre-shot number is low. I also read somewhere, never shoot a dropping cat, so by Ophie dipping at the end, I get all sorts of panicked. When the number isn't low, and it's a dip (like tonight), I'm totally OK shooting. It when it's low AND a dip, I freak. There was just one time that I shot when she was low pre-shot (surfing, no dipping) and Marje and Chris held my hand and got me through it. So, the dip "for some cats" appears to be "the dip for Ophie" and that makes sense to me (for now).

Which brings me to Kim (hello Kim!!), so Twice dips too? You feel my pain :lol:. We will see what other tricks Ophie cooks up for me. Gotta be on your toes with these little kitties!

I'm rolling over CPC. Who knew? Ophie would snub membership, she likes to leave something on her plate every time, just to bug my DH (he has a "thing" about wasted food, human or other).

It's time for my +2, I'm off to wake a sleeping kitty!

Thank you again!

Joely
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163 (non-urgent question)

China's a frequent double dipper...except when she isn't....does that help? :lol:

It would be so much easier if those translators would get busy with those instruction manuals. I mean I know they have to do them in Siamese, Maine Cooneeze, Allycat-eeze, Himalayan, Scottish, Domestic (LH, MH and SH)...and don't forget the hardest to do...the translation for those special kitties that only understand Pain in the Reareeze, but they've been working on them for years now! :lol:

Of course once the instruction manuals are ready, we still have to convince our sugarcats to read them!!
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163, +2 97 (non-urgent question)

Sooooo, my +2 is 97. This is another part of my confusion: I thought BG goes UP after kitty eats... and that the effects of Lantus show up around +3, but Ophie likes to go down right after her shot and eating. So then I question whether or not she should have had the shot, if it's not supposed to be affecting her immediately...

BIG :YMSIGH: SIGH. Always confsued, I am...

:-D

[Edited to add: I'm thrilled she is green, I am not ungrateful or meaning to sound anything but delighted... I'm a rule follower, so this ever changing dance with BG gets me all out of sorts]
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163, +2 97 (non-urgent question)

Oh, hello Chris! I didn't see your post. Another (sometimes) dipper, eh? We should form a club :lol:

Yes, this would all be easier if we'd get some manuals... I'm sure the kitties would very willingly read them (not)... :-D
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163, +2 97 (non-urgent question)

She's just trying to hurry and get to the green numbers that feel so good. :smile:

What I would do is feed a couple tsp. of low carb food to see if that will help Ophie decide to surf tonight. I would test in 30 minutes to see where she is. If low carb doesn't do the trick, then you can switch to something a little higher carb.
 
Re: 11/21 Ophie PMPS 163, +2 97 (non-urgent question)

Thank you, Libby. I fed her some FF Chicken as soon as I saw the 97. She ate (but she had been "munching" on her can of Wellness since shot time -- she grazes). I will test her probably at +1, since I suspect I'll be up tonight for a while, I don't want to get her too mad at me with all the impending poking. Unless, I sit here and fester too long in my panic, in which case I will test at +.5. Thank you again!
 
AT +3, she is 90. Drop or meter variance? Oye, and I only have 3 test strips left, my husband isn't home, and I can't leave my son to go to the store. nailbite_smile
 
DH is on a train. OYE! There looked like so many strips in there this morning... how could I let this happen? I fed her some HC food. I will just catch some winks and test her at +4. By then, hubby should have arrived back in town and be home, so if I need to, I can run to the 24 hour pharmacy.
 
Sounds like a plan. Ophie seems to nadir earlier so paws crossed the same thing happens tonight. I always like to have an extra box of strips set aside, just in case. And whenever you are shooting low, it's good to count what you have before shooting. One night I was helping someone who got a 32 and then counted 4 strips left with no stores open. nailbite_smile Fortunately Ophie's at a nice safe number now.
 
I tell everyone to have a spare box of strips in their "hypo" kit..I've spent a few nights sitting with someone in the 30's and no strips too...there's no such thing as too many strips!!

90 is a nice safe number though...Surf pretty for your mamabean Ophie!!

cute-cat-kitten-skiing-animated-gif-picture.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top