Ozy 12/12 Dental Yesterday AMPS-407

Status
Not open for further replies.
i suspect Ozy's numbers will resolve before too long as his depot builds back up after the skipped shot!

cat_pet_icon hi ozy! feel better little buddy!
 
fingers crossed that this helps his #s!

I dont know if he is on antibiotics or not but Crushy's numbers were wonky on antibiotics. From what I gather some cats have BG issues with AB and some dont. (it may depend on the cat AND the AB)

hope his BG comes down soon regardless
 
Piling on more speedy recovery vines for Ozy. I love the before and after pictures in the report. Sounds like you found a good vet to do the dental.
 
Thanks everybody. Michelle, do you think the dental helped Crushy's BG? I am hoping it will help Ozy.

Ozy also has a somewhat elevated WBC (19000) despite a week on antibiotics before the dental blood work. I was told it could be inflammation, infection or cancer. His pancreatitis is also still in evidence....no surprise there. His bloodwork results this time, in July (when he was diagnosed diabetic) and three years ago (when he was diagnosed with pancreatitis) are all in my signature.

His regular vet did the dental. I think she is very good. I believe more in continuity and a smart good vet than I believe in specialists. The support staff matters, too. He got very good care. They fell in love with him.

He really seems to have taken it all pretty much in stride. Maybe that speaks volumes to how well he handles pain. Maybe he already feels better with those nasty teeth gone.

I do hate it when his numbers are this high. At PMPS last night, with no insulin for 24 hours, his BG was 127. He had his PMPS injection and this morning he was 407. Hitting 400 is high for him.
 
donaleen and Ozy said:
Thanks everybody. Michelle, do you think the dental helped Crushy's BG? I am hoping it will help Ozy.

yes I definitely think it helped. Crushy had a pretty badly infected canine that had been cracked since he was a kitten so getting rid of that was huge. (I didnt have a clue it was bad)

ugh I hope Ozy's elevated WBC is from inflammation! Hopefully from the teeth that are now gone.

right after Crushy's dental he stayed in strangely low #s for a little while too before he shot up again. I think the anesthesia keeps it a little low. Someone also mentioned in one of my condo's that sometimes after a shock like having dental done, that it takes the body a day or so to relax and register/start reacting to the injury/surgery and the pain involved. (I cant remember how they put it but it made sense....sort of a delayed response to the surgery I guess.) That may be why Ozy's #s shot up like that today. Its hard to say though
 
hmm, something michele said made me wonder - did you give him bupe after last night? i'm wondering if after the anesthesia wore off, the pain from the dental surgery might be involved in that high amps. when i have had major dental work done it takes me a couple of days to not hurt from it.
 
I did give him bupe last night at PMPS, which is when he was 127. And he had it this morning. And then eight hours later. I have lots of personal experience with tooth pain.... I figure today will be the worst of it for him. The pain killers they used have worn off. Mouths heal fast and I bet by tomorrow the pain will lessen. I myself just had a tooth pulled last week so it is fresh in my mind. He seems to be doing well. Normal appetite. Not sure he has managed to poop yet but they said it could take 24 hours for that to happen.
 
Sending lots of feel-much-better-tomorrow vines to Ozy. Glad the dental went well.

Have a good, restful evening. Ozy's bgs will come down now.

Ella & Rusty
 
i see he's already come down some. yippee!

i was just reading earlier the yellow starred sticky about the Lantus depot and how it works. you might want to reread that if you haven't recently. lots of good info in it that might relate to some of Ozy's cycles that are mysterious.
 
Thanks, Julie. I have read it and I did read it again... and again. All it says to me is that there are many variables and you never know which ones are in play, and that it only gets worse on high doses. And that makes me feel frustrated and helpless and out of control.
 
Hey Donaleen,

Sending Ozy quick recovery vines! Hope he is feeling much better now with the bad teeth out.

Hope ya have a great day
 
More healing vines for Ozy. Cinco's bg was high after his dental due mostly to the pain killer. Once he was off that, the numbers came down. The AB didn't seem to have the same effect. Hope you get him regulated again soon. :smile:
 
i'm sorry it's so frustrating, donaleen! one of the biggest take-aways i get from that post is that we can't control everything. so you just do the best you can and let go of what you can't control.

ozy sure is looking great today!!! i'm thinking the dental agreed with him!
 
Hi Donaleen,
I hope Ozy's Bg starts to come down for you soon.
I think it will once he gets back on track ;-)
It sure can be frustrating tho :-x
Have a nice night :smile:
 
Thanks for all the words of encouragement from you all.

Julie, sorry but it seems like everything is for looking backward and not for looking forward. I don't see how it helps me to look backward since it doesn't seem to help with looking forward. My way back machine doesn't work so I can't go backward and change what I did based on what happened. I need to predict what he will do so I can dose him correctly. I am really struggling with that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top