12/12 China PMPS 202,+2 110,+4 48,+5 58,+6 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Not sure where these numbers are coming from, but I guess China figured I was getting too comfortable at green :YMSIGH:

At least I didn't have to worry about her while I was gone...Pain Clinic appointment was today so had to leave right after +2 and just got home again.

Had a horrible time trying to stay awake while I was driving so I think I may just take a little nap this afternoon

Hope everyone is having a nice Fursday!!

Edited to add..China's set for her dental next Thursday. It's about an hours drive there, and while I was out today I did get some Feliway to try and will also try covering the carrier to see if it helps with her carsickness.

The vet there wants me to go ahead and give her a teaspoon of food that morning and a half dose of insulin, which just doesn't sound right, especially with a kitty who already has problems with carsickness. Of course I will do what's best for China and the vet will just have to live with it.

Should I feed/shoot the half dose or just skip that morning? And I'm assuming the night before is a normal dose?
 
Re: 12/12 China AMPS 163,+2 249,+7 152 Dental ?

I've always given the usual dose the night before.

I'd be apprehensive about giving any insulin on a tiny bit of food. IMHO, you're far safer skipping the AM shot the day of the dental.
 
Re: 12/12 China AMPS 163,+2 249,+7 152 Dental ?

China - you and me are dental buddies next Thursday! ~Neko

The dental specialist I'm going to said 1/4 dose in the AM and Neko could have 1/3 of her morning meal. But she gets raw food which metabolizes faster, and I won't be getting in the car until 2 hours after breakfast. I'm thinking of "having a fur shot" for the morning dose - she skipped for her last dental and it does seem safer. Besides, I'm not sure getting .19U of insulin is worth the hassle to try to measure it.

I hope you got a nap in this afternoon.
 
Re: 12/12 China AMPS 163,+2 249,+7 152 Dental ?

Neko..I is scared...I never had anyone fool with my toofies before! Wish we could go together...you first, I insist

China gets her shot at 6am, and she has to be there sometime between 7-8:30 so the latest we could leave would be about 7:30. I think I like the idea of giving a furshot that morning and not feeding. It is probably the safest.

It's kind of sad that I finally find a vet that has the equipment to do a good dental, and they still don't know much about FD
 
Re: 12/12 China AMPS 163,+2 249,+7 152 Dental ?

When Furball had her dental last year, I skipped her morning shot. It just made me too nervous to shoot without any food for most of the day.
 
Re: 12/12 China AMPS 163,+2 249,+7 152,PMPS 202 Dental ?

punkin had multiple anesthesias - and some included insulin and food, some didn't.

i looked on his ss:

2/18/13, surgery to remove a growth in his mouth. full insulin, full food, surgery around am +6. Done at the University Vet School Medical Center.

5/12/12 dental cleaning, 2 fangs removed by a veterinary dentist (specialist). she had me give 1/2 insulin with 1 tsp of food. dental was done at +2

9/19-22/12 SRT for acromegaly, testing & radiation done each day, 1/2 insulin each morning, no food. Treatment at Colorado State Univ Animal Hospital, full dose each evening.

3/29/11 dental cleaning, done by regular vet, 2 teeth pulled, 1/2 insulin. i didn't note about food, but i think he got a small amount of food that day. dental done about +2 or +3

I think I would do what your vet suggested. At one point someone told me to do that because that was what the vet expected to be working with. One could say that punkin was different because he had acromegaly, but in fact, he was dealing with much bigger doses than China would be and he was fine with all of these.

btw, one of the smartest things i did (eventually) was to put the link to the day's condo into the notes of the ss whenever there was something weird on that day. So I could actually look at the condo for his first treatment at CSU very easily and see that i didn't feed him in the morning. i think i actually stirred a teeny bit of food into his water so he'd have his face busy while i shot.
 
Re: 12/12 China PMPS 202,+2 110

Well I could have used a nice normal cycle tonight, but looks like I may be in for an active one!

Thanks for the idea's on the dental everyone. I may call and talk to the vet a little more about it since I do have some time

Recap of today:

AMPS 163
+2 249
+7 152

PMPS 202
+2 110
 
Re: 12/12 China PMPS 202,+2 110

what? only 92 points down at +2. :shock: well china is expecting you to keep her company tonight. surf little girl! surf!
 
Re: 12/12 China PMPS 202,+2 110,+4 48

Make that down 154 points @ +4 :lol:

I meant to give her a teaspoon of 12% FF Medley after that drop at +2 but then sat down for a minute and totally spaced it off. Lack of sleep does that to you.

Guess I'll be setting the alarm and checking on her most of the night...she does have a flair for the dramatic!!
 
Re: 12/12 China PMPS 202,+2 110,+4 48

I think I'd wait and see how her BG is the morning of the dental. If she's really high, I wouldn't skip. You don't have to decide today. Remember host anesthesia can drop the BG as an after effect.

I was going to wish you. A good nights sleep but looks like someone has other ideas.
 
Re: 12/12 China PMPS 202,+2 110,+4 48

Heh, want to keep each other company again tonight? Mocha is out for adventure tonight too :roll: Must be something in the air...
 
Re: 12/12 China PMPS 202,+2 110,+4 48,+5 58

Looking better China! Keep up the good work, just a little higher maybe? :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top