12/13 Chyna PMPS 315 +2 311 Resuming Insulin:(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Good Evening LL! I'm back, but (no offense, I love you all!) hoping it's a brief visit to insulin and daily condos :o If her rising numbers and Marjes advice last night weren't enough to convince me to get Lantus, the stinky pinky tonight would have been! We just did our first shot, started at 0.5 units for now. Can always go up! Her vet exam is scheduled for Monday morning to (sedate) look at the teefies and test for UTI etc, and a possible dental if needed; to try see if something caused these rotten numbers :-x

Previous condo: Chyna Dec 11/12

I was really nervous for some reason, it's been so long since I've done this. I was expecting mad Chyna cat since she was good before but jumped at the needle quite often...but all I got was purring why are we on the counter confused cat confused_cat . I guess the poke of the much larger subqs made her think "was that a mosquito? Nah, gimme my treat and food bean!" SO here we go. I'll get a +2. Time for the bean to eat now :-D
 
Re: 12/13 Chyna PMPS 315 Resuming Insulin:(

Yikes on the pink! Good job on starting insulin tonight. I hope you see some action soon. Often when cats return from the falls, they end up at a higher dose than the first time, so I expect you'll be needing an increase soon.

Work that juice Chyna!
 
Re: 12/13 Chyna PMPS 315 Resuming Insulin:(

I hope your visit under these circumstances is a short one, but I am always happy to see you :-D Fingers and paws crossed Chyna works the heck outta the juse and gets back on track quickly! With any luck, vetty will find some answers on Monday.
Enjoy your pokie treats Chyna, I have a feeling it won't last long ;-)
 
Re: 12/13 Chyna PMPS 315 Resuming Insulin:(

Hi Rachel,

Hope this is just a quick stop back on insulin for Chyna~ Looks like Chyna went OTJ just as my Cleo was diagnosed and started insulin. Cleo went OTJ in July, but back on in October. Good luck at the vetty visit on Monday!
 
Re: 12/13 Chyna PMPS 315 Resuming Insulin:(

It is hard to have to restart the insulin :sad:
But paws crossed she will only be here for a short visit!
She just missed everyone and wanted to come visit us ;-)
Have a great night Rachel and good luck ;-)
 
Re: 12/13 Chyna PMPS 315 Resuming Insulin:(

I'm sorry you're back...but welcome back! C'mon, Chyna...you know you loved life at The Falls!!!
 
Re: 12/13 Chyna PMPS 315 Resuming Insulin:(

Aww thanks everyone :YMHUG: . I have no idea what to expect...if the little bit will do anything or if I'll be pulling out the HC fuds I bought today. I was worried about starting too high and it was suggested to try 0.5U, and with a possible dental Monday was worried about the depot being full just as that is going to happen! Poor Chyna, I can tell these numbers are not making her feel good. Fur is a bit greasy looking and unkempt a bit :cry: I hope this makes baby girl feel better cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/13 Chyna PMPS 315 Resuming Insulin:(

rachel, we love you but understand exactly why you're hoping to not be here too long! :-D

hoping she responds quickly to the insulin!
 
Me too :smile: . So far, looks like nada. I wasn't really thinking of a drop so soon...but you never know :shock: I did sniff her mouth a few weeks ago and it seemed ok, but I just smelled her breath last night and again today and it could be me paranoid but it smells a bit gross it may be she does need a dental. Or it could just be cat food breath :lol: Happy Friday everyone! I hope you all are snug and warm. I'm not planning on leaving the house all weekend ;-)
 
We're hoping for a very fast trip to LL and then right back to the Falls.

I know there are possible things going on which could raise the numbers but don't let her stay in pink. Here's some great advice Jill posted on Binks's condo when he came back from the Falls.

i'm so glad you increased the dose! binks was started at a lower dose than suggested in the TR protocol to begin with because of the contraband in his system, but it should be gone now. if i had been around the past few days i would have been whispering in your ear to take the dose up after the first 48 hours:

"Cats that have a tendency to get ketones and/or who are getting relatively high flat curves after the switch should have their dose raised earlier (after 24-48 hours)." http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm (under "Starting dose")

when kitties return from the falls, you want to be as aggressive as safely possible. you're an experienced caregiver.
don't let any pink grass grow under binks' paws:

"However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose)." http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm (under "Increasing the dose").

By the TR weight formula, Chyna could have started at 1.25u and it seems they most kitties returning from the Falls have to go higher than their highest dose the first time around. Let's hope this dose will bring her back down but don't get discouraged if you have to go up.

I'm so glad you got her restarted. :-D Great job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top