12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+1=59;+2=47;+2.5=97;+3=126;+4=155

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Sunday!

Yesterday's condo

12/14 AMPS=155; +2.75=110; +7=144; +10.5=115
12/14 PMPS=103; +1=117; +2=135; +6=169

12/15 AMPS=178; +2=110; +4=108; +5.5=103; +7.75=124; +11.5=63
12/15 PMPS=70; +0.5=77; +1=59; +1.5=50; +2=47; +2.5=97; +3=126; +4=155

Lucy is confusing me.
I gave her Pepcid before bed last night, and I didn't wake up to her vomiting this morning.
But her appetite was still iffy this morning.
I mixed Wellness T and Wellness T&S in 50/50 ratio, and she finished her breakfast slowly by finger-feeding.
She got up to poo at AM+4, and right after pooping (solid), she vomited the 3rd breakfast. :sad:
:?: Since Thursday, she's been vomiting every day, and I didn't connect this until today, but it seems she always vomits right after pooping.
What does this mean? She's not constipated.
Her poop has been on a softer side.
:?:

Her number is better today, and she does not seem to be in pain or nauseated at this moment, but she seems to go between feeling good and feeling not so good back and forth in a few hours.
I called the vet and explained how she's been doing, and she'll call me back later to let me know if she wants to see Lucy today, or wait a few days.
I just gave her a table spoon of Wellness T&S to compensate the food she vomited, and she ate it fine.
It's making it very difficult for me to decide what she needs.... Pepcid? Serenia? Bupe? Cypro???????
I just don't want to over-do it with drugs because I don't know how these drugs are metabolized and excreted.... her liver is fine now, but she's had liver issues in the past.
And of course she has CKD, so her kidneys aren't healthy either.

Sending vines to all in need!
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

Sorry I don't have advice...and I'm sorry you are having such a tough time with this :cry: Hopefully someone can give you some ideas soon. Hugs! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

No advice from me either but wanted to say.... Hope Lucy is feeling better soon. Hope you figure out what is causing the vomiting.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

It's not that unusual for a cat to vomit after pooping. Gabby will do this on occasion, especially if she's strained a bit when in the litter box. Usually, this occurs during hairball season or if she's been having GI issues. I'm glad you called your vet about it.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

The vet office called me back.
She wants to see Lucy, but not necessarily today.
She is fully booked today, but was going to squeeze us in between appointments if needed, but she doesn't think it's urgent and wants to see Lucy when she can allocate a decent amount of time so we can go over how she's been doing.
So... I made an appointment for Wednesday evening.

Right now, Lucy is sleeping and looking comfortable enough.
Lucy's acupuncture vet has been on maternity leave since end of July, and I am now thinking that the acupuncture treatments might have been helping Lucy with her appetite and energy more than I thought.
So... I sent an e-mail to another holistic vet in town who does acupuncture to see if she would take Lucy's case.
I really hope so.....
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

Tons of vines for Lucy. I hope the acupuncture helps.
Liz
ETA: If her poos are too hard, some miralax might help.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

I agree with Sienne.....I have had several cats (especially as they get older) that might vomit after pooping especially if they had a bit of a time getting it started. Sometimes Gus would vomit even if it was soft poop but he had to strain a bit at first.

I'm glad to see she is down in lower blue and I sure hope she will feel better. I'd talk to the vet about the cerenia. If she only vomits after she poops, I don't know that you need to give it to her. Sending her eating vines and good vet visit vines for tomorrow.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

Hi Mariko! Nice cycle for Lucy today!
I'm with Sienne and Marje. Cats vomiting after using the potty could be so many things, or nothing :roll: Hairballs, IBD, constipation, diarrhea, parasite, just older and the intestines are working harder, etc, etc... It's frustrating and not always easy to self diagnose it, so yay to the vetty appt.
Hope it gets all sorted out soon! Sending appy and tummy vines to Lucy cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

I'm sorry Lucy is having problems. I'm glad you will be able to get her checked at the vet. I hope she's feeling better this evening.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

Just adding my prayers to the pile. I have seen my Frankie vomit when she's tried to poop and been constipated, and recently Trix also had a post-poop vomit. You're not alone! I hope the vetty gives you some solid answers on how to address Lucy's issue with this. You are an awesome bean for putting 2 and 2 together! Have a relaxing evening, Mariko.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy AMPS=178;+2=110;+4=108 // Vomit when pooping.

Hi Mariko,

I have had kitties who vomited right after pooping also. Sometimes right in the LB! And they were all healthy with no known problems. Hope Lucy stays feeling good, and keeps her fuds down!
Have a good night :-D
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70

Thank you for your visit and letting me know about vomiting after pooping.
So.... vomiting right after pooping is not terribly concerning.....?
I will not give her any meds for this for now.
It's a little concerning because she's been doing this every day the past 4 days, so we'll still see the vet on Wednesday evening, and I can discuss the other concerns I have (decreased appetite, etc.)

I would have been so happy with today's PMPS if her appetite was good.
But it's not, and I am worried if I have done the right thing shooting. I am staying at home all night today, so I shot the full dose.
She was 63 at AM+11.5, so she wasn't dropping and I was able to finger-feed her the 1st dinner, which is about half of the whole dinner portion.
I am getting really nervous about it now. I'll get a +0.5 and +1......
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59

Lucy decided to work the juice when her appetite isn't so good.
Silly girl.
I mixed a couple drops of karo in her 2nd dinner, and she finished by finger-feeding.
I'll be testing her every 30 min.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50

She's dropping, and it's only +1.5, so I gave her a tablespoon of LC with some karo again.
She seems to know not to refuse food now. Good girl.
She's looking tired and sleepy.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50

Doing ok Mariko? I hope you can continue to get some food I to her and she starts up.

I'm around if you need any help.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47

She's still dropping, and I don't know how much more she'll eat.
She didn't want any Wellness, even Turkey&Salmon flavor, but she ate Fancy Feast T&G mixed with lots of karo.

I think I should have skipped this shot.
I feel so stupid shooting her and having to syrup her even before +2.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47

Mariko

You don't want her to get too full...it's early in the cycle.

Do you have or will she eat any HC gravy...just the gravy. Or do you only have LC with karo.

If you have any HC gravy, how about toe good tsp and retest in 30?
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47

Marje,
Thank you very much for coming to rescue us.
In the past, she never did well on HC.
She always got quite sick the next day, so I assumed that she has problem with wheat gluten, like Gabby.
I have some HC I collected before I noticed she always got sick after HC, but I'd like to avoid it if possible.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47

I am going to test her in 5 minutes.
She's probably had 6 drops of karo already.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47

I thought that might be the case so thank you for reminding me.

If she's not up, there are a couple things to do.

I find that Gracie often responds to amount fed so if I feed her more LC than her. Or all amount, I get a response. This might not be the best way to go with Lucy because we need her to eat and maybe for several times.

So you can just give her a tsp or so of LC and add a little extra karo. Just remember the karo will wear off in a couple hours. In a situation like tonight, you might want to carb her up now and essentially abort the cycle so you aren't fighting low numbers all night.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47

I am so relieved....
She's 97 @ +2.5.
I think due to lots of karo, but I understand it doesn't last long.
What would be the best course of plan for tonight?
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97

Thank you, Marje.
We coross-posted.
She's up quite a bit.
Should I feed her again now and more karo now?
Or should I see where she is at +3?
I can keep testing her every 30 min at least until +5 or +6.
Or all night if needed.

I have some questions, Marje, now that the immediate crisis is over.

1. What happened today? Her nadir is usually early, around +2. She had low blue surf in AM cycle, and when I tested before dinner, she was suddenly green.
After 2 weeks of no green at all. What was this dip about?

2. What should I do with tomorrow's dose? I use the 3 times below 40 approach. But her appy hasn't been great lately, and it took a while to bring her number up tonight.
And I was very worried... What would you do?
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97

Sorry...I had to feed Gracie.

Let me answer the food question first so you have an answer and then I'll come back and answer the others after I look at her SS and a condo or two.

I would test her at +3 and see if she is still headed up. I really don't want to over feed her too early. I'm sure the 97 is the karo talking but let's see if she's coming back down at +3.

Good job.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97

It's hard to say why she did this tonight. Could be dose increase settling in, could be her not eating, could be both. I don't see anything else that just stands right out to me on her SS.

On the dose, you know her best. If she is t eating reliably and you had a hard time getting her up, you can reduce the dose until she's eating more predictably. That would be safest if you think she will not eat for you.

Other than what she did tonight, she didn't look like she needed a reduction but I have a huge respect for when they are telling you something. You can always go back up when she feels better if she doesn't like the reduction.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97

OK. Thank you, Marje. I know it's late your time.
+3 is in 10 min.

In the meantime, I'll tend to my noodle crisis.
I was cooking pasta for dinner.......
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97

It's ok....I'll wait for the +3 and see what we need to do.

Hope you can eat your pasta.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+0.5=77;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97

She is 126 @ +3.
So I'm assuming she doesn't need to be fed for now?
And Keep testing until bedtime or until she surfs safely?

Marje, about today's cycle, I know maybe it's not productive to keep thinking about the past, but I can't help trying to make sense of it!
Her appetite has been off, but I always insisted that she eats the normal portion (3oz can in AM, 3oz can in PM), and she ate that today.
Maybe 0.7oz less this AM because she vomited a portion of the 3rd breakfast, but it was not like she ate a lot less than usual today.
The only thing I changed is that I moved her ursodiol time from PM to AM.
I used to give ursodiol with dinner, but I changed it to with breakfast from today, because I wanted to add SEB with dinner, and I read that SEB is better given apart from other meds.
Do you think this could have affected it?

For tomorrow's dose, I think I should wait and see what her AMPS number will be like.
And also how her appetite is tomorrow morning.
If she is low and doesn't want to eat, then I'll reduce.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97;+3=126

I'd just keep an eye on her BG for a little bit yet and make sure she doesn't turn around on you. If you get two rising numbers and no food/karo for 2 hours, you could give her some LC and go to bed.

I don think it is the ursodiol ...I give Gracie ursodiol and it's never mattered when I give it to her. I've had Gracie be flat as all get out in nice normal blue for three cycles and then drop from 150 to 30 in two hours. Why? I don't know.....pancreas working? maybe. Or more likely, it might just be that particular shot absorbed differently...faster.

I think your decision to wait and see what she is doing tomorrow is wise.

I hope you get some rest tonight.

Would you like me to check in on you in a while or are you all ok?
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97;+3=126

Thank you very much, Marje.
You've already helped me tons.
I think I'll be OK tonight.
I was scared today because of her poor appy, so I really really appreciate you staying with me.
Thank you so much.
I'll keep testing, and follow your suggestion of 2 rising numbers in 2 hours with no food/karo.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97;+3=126

Sounds good. I know how scary that can be....Gracie did it to us once ...she would eat but then vomited. Numbers dropping...it's very worrisome.

You are super with her, though, and you know her better than you think. :-D :-D

You're very welcome and try to sleep.......good luck with the morning shot.
 
Re: 12/15 Lucy PMPS=70;+1=59;+1.5=50;+2=47;+2.5=97;+3=126

155 @ +4
She might be bouncing, but that's fine.

If she doesn't turn around in an hour, I think I'll give her sub-q fluids before bed.
She's been vomiting once a day every day since Thursday, and it's her sq-fluds day anyway.
I was going to skip today because I didn't want it to lower her BG, but I think it's OK now... she's high enough.
It's good... I think she needs it.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top