12/22 Lucy PMPS=252;+2=169;+4=164

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Saturday!

Yesterdays' condo

12/21 AMPS=182 (0.5u); +1=169; +2=194; +3.5=203; +6.5=187; +9=184; +10.5=193
12/21 PMPS=209 (0.5u); +1=189; +2=140; +2.5=157; +5.5=160; +7=157

12/22 AMPS=167 (0.5u); +2=243; +6.25=211; +8=218
12/22 PMPS=252 (0.75u); +2=169; +4=164

Lucy is yellow yellow yellow today, and not feeling too good.
I'm giving her a ear-poke break since she got poked a lot on Friday and yesterday.

I e-mailed Lucy's BG curve of Friday's PM cycle together with yesterday's numbers to the vet, and she agreed to increase the dose to 0.75u.
So Lucy will get a dosecrease tonight, and hopefully she's get back in blue soon.

Sending vines to all in need!
 
Re: 12/22 Lucy AMPS=167;+2=243;+6.25=211

It seems to be dosecrease day here in LL! I hope Lucy starts working it, and I hope she's feeling better by now, too. Work that dosecrease, Lucy!!!
 
Re: 12/22 Lucy AMPS=167;+2=243;+6.25=211

Sending lots of feel better vines to Lucy. Hope the increase works and you see better numbers soon!

Hope you have a good night, Mariko
 
Re: 12/22 Lucy AMPS=167;+2=243;+6.25=211

Vines for Lucy. Use that jooce! Are you interested in a Kitty Curling team? I bet you would be a great curler.
Liz
 
Re: 12/22 Lucy PMPS=252

Lucy says "I'm in." for the kitty curling team.

Lucy's been yellow all day today.
She got a dosecrease tonight, and is now on 0.75u.
I don't know why suddenly an all-yellow cycle.
Maybe the shed has finally drained from the previous higher dose.
Or maybe it's just because.
I have no confidence to interpret her numbers, especially so now because I was likely over-dosing per vet.

Her mood and strength aren't as horrible as they were a week ago, but I can tell she's not loving the yellow surf.
Hopefully tonight's dosecrease will bring her down soon......
 
Re: 12/22 Lucy PMPS=252

Work that juice, Lucy, and get ready for Kitty Curling. (Rusty would like to curl, but we'll have to get him boots to keep his feet warm.)

Hi Mariko, vines for Lucy to feel much better on her new dose.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/22 Lucy PMPS=252

Mariko

I've been reading your condos and agree with Julie's comments from the other day. I don't think Lucy was overdose.

When you increase as slowly as you did and hold the doses as long as you were (all good), it'd not possible to overdose kitty. And with the amount you test, there is just no place where Lucy (who is not a diver) would have dived down so low and then skyrocketed. I have seen SSs with "insulin induced hyperglycemia" and Lucy's SS does not look like it. Cats that are overdose are either very high and flat or they are high, dive to a low, and then bounce back up to really high numbers.

So I'm very glad to see that you have increased her dose. Yes, I think her depot was carrying her over for a bit and now it had depleted.

Cats change and you might find, as you slowly increase the dose in small increments, that Lucy will find a dose less than 2u which works better for her.

I understand why you would want to try and reduce the dose and it was a good experiment. I hope Lucy's depot refills quickly and she feels better. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/22 Lucy PMPS=252

We LOVE blues and greens but welcome all sliders to the LL curling team!
 

Attachments

  • katie curling 3 copy.jpg
    katie curling 3 copy.jpg
    18.1 KB · Views: 144
Re: 12/22 Lucy PMPS=252;+2=169

Lucy is back in blue....
She is happy to be accepted in the LL curling team.

Thank you, Marje, for following Lucy's experiment.
I really hope I wasn't overdosing.....
I don't want to lose sleep over the past, but I'd at least like to be able to adjust her dose safely in future.

I lost words of argument about overdose when the fructosamine results came back low.
Fructosamine: 145 umol/L (reference range 191-349)
And the comment from the IDEXX lab read: fructosamine - prolonged hypoglycemia

Can you think of any reason why her fructosamine was low when her BG was mostly in higher blue prior to the test?
Can there be any explanation to this other than that I wasn't catching dives to extremely low #s?
 
Re: 12/22 Lucy PMPS=252;+2=169

The fructosamine provides you with an average glucose concentration over the past 2-3 weeks. If you look at Lucy's SS, she was in the 40s during that timeframe and so the number is going to be skewed to the lower end. That's why I am not a big fan of fruc tests for a cat that is being home-tested. You have real time data.

And keep in mind that normal numbers at the lab are higher than what we use because the machines are calibrated for animals.
 
Re: 12/22 Lucy PMPS=252;+2=169

Way to work that extra juice Lucy. Let's keep it down to blues now please.

I hope she's feeling better now in these nicer numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top