Re: 12/29 Lucy PMPS=164
I sent an e-mail to the vet this morning with her recent BG as well as how Lucy has been doing.
I mentioned that I was going to increase her dose to 1 unit once her appetite stabilizes, but the vet wants me to try another experiment.
She wants me to cut her dose back down to 0.5u again, and do a fructosamine in 7 - 10 days.
It bothers her that how her last fructosamine was low and her weight was up - both could be an indication of too much insulin.
And it also bothers her that her appetite and energy were very poor the whole time she was on 0.75u until yesterday.
The way she asked me is "Could you humor me and try this experiment?", so she is not saying that 0.75u is too much, but I guess she wants to be sure.
She said she'd feel a lot better about increasing her dose if we get a higher fructosamine at 0.5u and Lucy's overall well-being (appetite, energy, drinking) isn't any better on a lower dose.
I'm not happy about this.
You probably think I'm stupid.
But I agreed to try this experiment, although I know I'm likely making a mistake.
It does bother me about her fructosamine. I know she dropped to a 40's number right before the fructosamine test (12/17), but that was just one time.
If the fructosamine takes an average, she should still be within the reference range.
It also bothers me a lot that her numbers have been quite similar on any dose since November, no significant changes in her BGs on unit 0.5u, 0.75u, 1u, 1.25u, 1.5u, 1.75u or 2u, except few greens here and there on higher doses.
I just don't feel right about that.
I've already got a great advice on this board to stick to the TP, and how I can't be overdosing her with the amount I test.
I know I know I know, but I couldn't ignore what the vet was suggesting.
I also want to make sure what the vet wants to make sure.
The another reason I agreed to this is because I don't think her BG will raise all that much even if I reduce to 0.5u, seeing how she's been reacting to dose change in the past 2 months.
Plus the most important thing for me is that Lucy feels better than I see green.
If she trends too high and starts feeling sick, I'll then increase the dose.
Again, I know I'm probably screwing things up again.
I'd appreciate your thoughts on this, but please do not say anything negative about my vet.
She's a good vet, and she has always been sensible treating her with various issues.
She cares about Lucy and her safety.
At least, she didn't tell me to stop insulin, so she's compromising and meeting me half way.......
Anyway, I'm a bit frustrated about this, but other than that, Lucy is doing great!
Eating and Feeling very good tonight.