1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +6.25 64 +7.5 63 +8.5 65 +9.5 61 +10.5 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Very Active Member
Did someone call for BLUE skies this morning??? :cool: :cool: :cool:

Cobb is loving these lower numbers. As noted in yesterday's condo, Cobb came downstairs and interacted with Marty. He and Matt also had a playing session last night. I actually cleaned out the litter box last night (a chore I was able to avoid while pregnant :-D ) so I was able to see the decrease in pee firsthand. It looked normal again!

Anyway, it's much warmer today. Starting off in the 30s. A few more degrees and Marty and I can resume our walks around the neighborhood.

Have a fantastic day!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 177

Is it December again? ;-) My, how time can fly :lol:

It sounds like you have some amazing weather down there. I am more than a little jealous sitting up here in my 10 degrees. :roll: Walks sound amazing, but it is too cold. I can't wait for spring!
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 177

Hi guys .. yay for blues and for feeling good! A morning in the 30's sounds like paradise .. we were -15 when I woke up ohmygod_smile have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 177 +3 300

cobbsmom said:
+3 300...boooooo
It''s to be expected and will likely turn around before you know it. :cool:

Another milestone for Cobb - 1st solid Blue cycle !

Also -
No trips to the 4th or 5th floors in the last 11 cycles
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
Go Cobb!
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb AMPS 177 +3 300 +5.25 235 +6.5 254 +8 275

They met
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    39.4 KB · Views: 405
Re: 1/9 Cobb AMPS 177 +3 300 +5.25 235 +6.5 254 +8 275 PMPS

Solid yellow cycle today.

Eight cycles on 10 units. Stay or increase?
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb AMPS 177 +3 300 +5.25 235 +6.5 254 +8 275 PMPS

Lovely pic of your two "kiddies"!

Hi Suzanne, I think Cobb is looking really good. How nice to see a blue cycle. Sometimes you see a "rest" cycle after a really good cycle.

Hope you enjoyed your walk.

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb AMPS 177 +3 300 +5.25 235 +6.5 254 +8 275 PMPS

Looking Good :cool:

adorable photo of bambino & kitty encounter :-D

cobbsmom said:
Eight cycles on 10 units. Stay or increase?

From the TR Protocol-
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb AMPS 177 +3 300 +5.25 235 +6.5 254 +8 275 PMPS

beautiful!

i think the idea is after the blue cycle, you hold for longer to see if, for example, today's yellow numbers are a bounce from the blue numbers. some cats will settle in and go back to blue. or even green!

looking great - and such a sweet picture! love it!
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6 64

"I see trees of GREEN..." (No red roses too.)

We will not be making any adjustments to Mr. Cobb's dose in the morning. He is and will be holding steady at his 10 units.

I happened to wake up (I was sleeping so well). Cobb was on the bed next to my feet. In my just awakened state, I moved slightly and he started off the bed. I got confused and freaked out thinking Matty was somehow crawling down there. Thankfully it wasn't! But since I was awake I figured I'd throw in a quick test and check out what I got!!! I tested twice to make sure the strip wasn't wonky - got a 64 and then a 69. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I gave him some regular food, which he ate some of.
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6 64

WOW! Congrats on that first green. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You should do another test in half an hour if you can to see where he's going.
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6 64

Perfect. I'd just be sure he comes up before you quit testing for the night. If he's clearing the bounce, he could keep coming down until AMPS.

Great photo of him with Matty :-D
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6 64

Wendy&Neko said:
WOW! Congrats on that first green. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You should do another test in half an hour if you can to see where he's going.
Ok. Will do. You know I won't be sleeping that well after that drop! I told Matt he has to grab a test any time he gets up throughout the night as well.
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6 64

*gasp* :shock: :mrgreen:

Cobb's GREEN!!!

Hope you guys are doing ok! that's a milestone!

if he goes below 50, pop open a can of gravy cat food and give about 1 teaspoon of the gravy - then stop and read Sienne's post below about how to take care of low numbers. You'll be able to steer him up into safe numbers.

If you need help and no one is on here, also post on the Main Health forum. There's usually someone on or checking in and out most hours of the day.

and congratulations!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6 64

:lol:

in the time it took me to find the post and write that, everyone else is posting too!

apparently we all have a cobb radar going tonight! :mrgreen:

mr greenie is SO happy to see Cobb tonight! and of course, they always do this at night when it's most convenient for you. :lol:
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6 64

julie & punkin (ga) said:
:lol:

in the time it took me to find the post and write that, everyone else is posting too!

apparently we all have a cobb radar going tonight! :mrgreen:

mr greenie is SO happy to see Cobb tonight! and of course, they always do this at night when it's most convenient for you. :lol:

Of course they do! And I was sleeping so well too!! I barely made it to 9:30 so I tested him early and figured at 215 I was safe! I've been OUT since then!! Lucky Matty was hungry.
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65

He seems to be holding steady in the mid-60s. I can hear him eating. He is eating one of the higher low-carb foods. I think 6%...but it's what he usually eats unless I randomly give a 4% food.

Next step?
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65

This is where knowing whether or not Cobb is an acrocat would be useful. Acrocats have a working pancreas. What this means is that if you feed them regular LC food, the pancreas can kick in and drop the numbers lower. With Neko, I usually try to just give her freeze dried treats until she goes low enough that I have to give high carb and she's earning a deduction. Alternatively, if she's surfing where I don't think she's going to earn a deduction and it's the middle of the night and I want to sleep, I'll give high carb food (about 1-2 tsp) to bring her numbers up.

Cobb is new to greens, so we don't know what this cycle might look like if we didn't give him HC food. So, do you want to watch how this plays out, or do you want to sleep? In either case you'll probably be up for a bit. And how much LC food do you think he's eaten?
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65

He's maybe eaten a teaspoon/teaspoon and a half, maybe a little more of food. I switched it into a different bowl to make him think it was fresher food - but he's smarter than I am.

I'm wide awake right now so I can wait and see how it plays out. Either way I probably won't be getting much sleep. And Matt will probably be waking up in the next hour or so. I don't want to give him HC and have to bring him back down if I don't have to.

Would you test every hour until it starts going back up?
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65

The handling low numbers sticky suggests testing every half hour until numbers get closer to 80, then moving to every hour testing. However, Cobb does seem to be surfing. I personally test every hour at this point, but that's because I have enough data on Neko to know that once she surfing, she's not going down again. The idea is that you want two tests with rising numbers (not influenced by high carb food), before it's safe to call it a night. You could split the difference at this point, go 3/4 of an hour and if he's still about the same level or higher, then go to one hour testing.

High carb food at this point is a double edged sword. It gets him out of the low end of the lagoon to a higher spot, but HC can last around 2 hours before it wears off, so you have to wait at least two hours after feeding the HC to see if the numbers head back down again.

FYI - I'm probably not up much longer, maybe half an hour. Dyana does get up early on the east coast, but not for a bit yet. If Cobb does head down, take a look at the handling low numbers sticky Julie referenced. Any questions on that in case you need it?
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65 +7.5 63

No questions at the moment, except a trip to the ER isn't required unless he's a good deal lower and exhibiting severe hypo symptoms, right? Our ER vet is about 5 minutes away.

If he drops below 50, give a teaspoon of the gravy and test in 15-20 minutes. Right?

I'd rather see him surf or come back up without any outside influences unless we need to, or I'll be doing the same thin in 2 hours.

He's hanging out in our room right now so I can keep an eye on him easily. I'll test him hourly unless I see a reason to grab one earlier.

Thanks Wendy!! Have a good night!
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65 +7.5 63

You are correct, you only need to go to the ER if you see symptoms. I think he'll surf for a while where he is, then head on up in a bit. Your AMPS may be interesting though. :? Most cats in the 40's don't see symptoms. Even in the 30's, Neko was just VERY hungry. If he does go below 50 you just keep on doing the test, feed 1 tsp HC (of the gravy), wait 20-30 minutes and repeat until out of the low numbers. We call this lather, rinse, repeat. You don't want to feed too much HC because you don't want him full in case you need to keep feeding later. It usually takes 20 minutes from the plate to the bloodstream, so wait at least 20 minutes after eating HC before testing.

Even if you don't see below 50 and a deduction tonight, I think Cobb might be planning something in the near future. Exciting times! :cool:
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65 +7.5 63

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Well, well, look at Cobb!
(I glanced at his ss and did a double take !)
You OK?
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65 +7.5 63

Hey Sandy,

I'm good! Shocked, but good! Wide awake now! I told my husband Cobb's number while he was basically asleep and his head popped up and he said, "it's what?!"
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65 +7.5 63

Cobb is rocking that dose \M/ \M/ \M/
fingers crossed for a nice surf. . . .

eta - I'll check back in at 5a eastern
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +1.5 215 +6.25 64 +7 65 +7.5 63 +8.5 6

Thanks Sandy!

Looks like he's surfing.

Cobb is probably like, "what's all the fuss? You wanted me to come down so I came down, and now you're all worried and poking my ear every hour. WTH mom?" :roll:

Some cats... :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/9 Cobb PMPS 226 +6.25 64 +7 65 +7.5 63 +8.5 65 +9.5 61

We're only a couple hours from his shot. Hopefully he goes back up a bit. Stick with the same dose?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top