1/14 Cobb PMPS 288 +2 241 +5 148 +8.5 144

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

WHOA!!! Where did that come from? I tested twice, 537 and 527. I took the lower of the two.

Since Lantus is a depot, could we be seeing the effect of that suspected fur shot from 2 days ago?? Unless I slept through a drop last night, which doesn't seem likely given the 200 at 4.5.

Cobb seems perfectly fine. I heard him tearing across the upstairs a few times this morning. And all the other Ps are in place.

Well, hope he comes down soon.

~Suzanne
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527

Whoa is right and good call on taking the lower number :-D I think we've all done that at one point or another. Glad to hear that Cobb is doing well! Come on down sweetie, there is absolutely nothing interesting on that floor.
Have a good day Suzanne
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527

Hey,

You get down off of that floor this instant!

I've just started retesting when numbers aren't the numbers I was expecting and I'm shocked at how often there are bum strips! When the numbers are true though, as a rule, I opt for the lower one... I also do that when weighing myself, not that I'm obsessed with that sort of thing.

Have a great day all, and come on down Cobb!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527

hmmmm. . . . .

good job retesting to verify. :cool:
that is definitely 'out of pattern' relative to Cobbs response to this dose. . .
I guess it's possible to get 2 bum readings in a row. . . .

Do you have a backup meter? I recommend everyone have one, in case the one you have gives up the ghost.
Also handy to cross check a weird number . . .

BTW - How's the search for a new vet going?

eta - do you have a solution that came with your meter to test your meter?
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489

Whoa, Cobb, remember that you don't like to be up high anymore? Come on back down where you belong :-D
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489

Still looking for a new vet. We will probably go with Perry and Sooty's vet. She's about 30-40 minutes from the house but she's dealt with a high dose cat before so I. Anticipate a good amount of support.

Definitely out of character. Is it odd to lose regulation like this every so often? Could it be the supposed fur shot drained the depot, but there was enough that particular night for the green streak? I haven't noticed any floaties in the insulin so I assume it is still good.

I don't have a backup meter, other than the old iPet, but I have no strips for it! I'll grab another Confirm or Micro at some point.

Are all solutions the same? One didn't come with my meter, but I have the solution that came with the iPet.

The high numbers don't seem to be bothering Cobb today. He's up and about, and downstairs and letting Matty let him. Hopefully it's a fluke cycle.
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
:?: Any chance Cobb got hold of any contraband ????
:cool:
I don't think so. I'm not sure where he would have gotten a hold of anything, unless there is some old bag of treats that I'm not aware of.

I suppose there could be a chance that I didn't actually give him a shot last night. I'm pretty sure I did, but I could not bet my life on it because I don't remember it.
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446

Cobb, come on down please - no need to be so dark and mysterious today!
Definitely out of character. Is it odd to lose regulation like this every so often? Could it be the supposed fur shot drained the depot, but there was enough that particular night for the green streak? I haven't noticed any floaties in the insulin so I assume it is still good.
Take a look at Neko's 2012 SS around June/July. Put your shades on, she did a lot of rainbow's then. :lol: At the 7U and 8U doses, she'd get a couple of good runs into green and then it's like her dose just fizzled. I called it "going stale". So yes, depending on why Cobb is on higher doses, it could be that what was working last week, isn't this week. I'd eliminate any other reasons first, but just putting that out there as a possibility.

You also asked about the fur shot draining the depot. When I've seen a fur or reduced shot on a higher dose, it usually impacts the first part of the next cycle, and then the numbers trend up. Since Cobb got some nice green in the last half of that cycle, I don't think that was it. It is possible to get droplets of insulin out when you are getting rid of bubbles or measuring the dose and then get on your fingers. Seems forever to get rid of the smell.

You mark on your SS when you last got the insulin (good job), and it looks like it's about a month old. That should be more than good enough as long as it's going back in the fridge.
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446

Wendy&Neko said:
Cobb, come on down please - no need to be so dark and mysterious today!
Definitely out of character. Is it odd to lose regulation like this every so often? Could it be the supposed fur shot drained the depot, but there was enough that particular night for the green streak? I haven't noticed any floaties in the insulin so I assume it is still good.
Take a look at Neko's 2012 SS around June/July. Put your shades on, she did a lot of rainbow's then. :lol: At the 7U and 8U doses, she'd get a couple of good runs into green and then it's like her dose just fizzled. I called it "going stale". So yes, depending on why Cobb is on higher doses, it could be that what was working last week, isn't this week. I'd eliminate any other reasons first, but just putting that out there as a possibility.

You also asked about the fur shot draining the depot. When I've seen a fur or reduced shot on a higher dose, it usually impacts the first part of the next cycle, and then the numbers trend up. Since Cobb got some nice green in the last half of that cycle, I don't think that was it. It is possible to get droplets of insulin out when you are getting rid of bubbles or measuring the dose and then get on your fingers. Seems forever to get rid of the smell.

You mark on your SS when you last got the insulin (good job), and it looks like it's about a month old. That should be more than good enough as long as it's going back in the fridge.

Yes, the insulin is in the fridge every night. We actually have a mini fridge in our bedroom for his insulin and opened cans of food.

Matt suggested Cobb had adjusted to the dose as well. We are still discussing the testing. It will happen at some point, I promise!!!

There's a lot going on at 8pm, which is when Cobb gets his shot. The other night, I tested, fed and then totally forgot to give his shot. I remembered about 5-10 minutes later and Matt gave it while I was rocking the baby. I don't remember giving it last night. That's not to say that I didn't...just that I don't remember doing it! I can usually backtrace my steps pretty well.
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446

cobbsmom said:
I suppose there could be a chance that I didn't actually give him a shot last night. I'm pretty sure I did, but I could not bet my life on it because I don't remember it.
I hate when that happens - we go into autopilot mode and don't recall if we did something or not. Life is so flippin' busy.

It would be a good idea to come up with some sort of system to cross check. Hopefully there are folks that have their own methods to share.
I developed my own crazy method, since many where the times I loaded 3 syringes with 2 types of insulin AM and PM. While juggling my work responsibilities.

I used to place 2-3 stickies on the counter where I prepared BKs syringes (one for each syringe). One or two marked Lantus and the other marked R. Most times I included the doses (with BK it seemed like doses changed every time I turned around)
I placed each vial on the appropriate sticky. I filled one syringe, placed it on it's sticky and moved the vial away. Then did the same with the other.
With doses as high as BK was getting I did not want to risk forgetting or pulling 13uR instead of 13u Lantus.

Whatever works for you. If your attention gets diverted having a system in place will give you peace of mind.
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446

I'll figure out a system of some sort. I used to have one but then something with Matty changed and it threw everything out of whack!

So tonight will be the 10th cycle since Cobb first saw green. Should I wait another cycle or two now that we've been thrown this curveball? Or should I increase tomorrow morning if we don't see blue or green tonight?
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446

cobbsmom said:
So tonight will be the 10th cycle since Cobb first saw green. Should I wait another cycle or two now that we've been thrown this curveball? Or should I increase tomorrow morning if we don't see blue or green tonight?
One important guideline of TR , which you are encountering for the first time, comes to mind being that you are unsure if you skipped last night:
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir... stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose.

(I know, I know, it sucks)

I'd say wait a couple cycles and see if Cobb does a course correction and take it from there. Caution around increases is prudent at 10u particularly since we don't know why Cobb is a big gulper.
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446 +10.5 296

cobbsmom said:
+10.5 - 296

I give you Cobb's randomness...

:?

:cool:
 

Attachments

  • Full Moon Jan 2014.jpg
    Full Moon Jan 2014.jpg
    12.8 KB · Views: 536
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446 +10.5 296

Thanks Sandy!

I'm okay waiting a few more cycles, especially after today's unexpected numbers and then big drop. We'll stick it out and see what comes. Chris keeps telling me this is a marathon, not a sprint!
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446 +10.5 296 PMPS

Strange day on the spreadsheet. But I guess the numbers don't always reflect what's actually happening!

Cobb had a good day. I found him sprawled in several new places, and he made multiple trips downstairs.

Now...let's see what tonight brings!
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446 +10.5 296 PMPS

Hey Suzanne!

Seems like a lot of our kitties got lost today and went in the wrong direction! I think Cobb just went with the crowd :lol:

I know how you feel wondering if you gave his shot, but I know when I give China hers, the syringe is right there in her "spot"..so even when I forgot to actually shoot her, when I went to get the +2, there it sat. Pretty easy to remember you didn't shoot when there's a syringe with insulin in it sitting there staring at you :oops: :oops:

Just remember, this too shall pass!
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb AMPS 527 +3 489 +5.5 443 +7 446 +10.5 296 PMPS

Hi Suzanne, You're doing just fine. Don't forget that THE CAT has to be factored in to the equation. And Cobb is a cat!

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Test solutions are specific to the meter and they expire within a few months after they are opened. You can order from the manufacturer of the meter (usually there is a phone number to call in the instruction booklet). Another method to test the meter is to try it out on your own blood. That's what I do.
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb PMPS 288 +2 241

Looks like Cobb has decided to abandon the upper floors. Must have been too crowded today. I told him the lower floors have more space to accommodate all the sugar cats, but those upper floors are cramped so there's no need to go up there any more. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb PMPS 288 +2 241

Maybe a bounce breaking? Zener can do those all day slides, too - he's proud of Cobb! :-D :-D You might want to get a spare battery for the meter too. They will last a year or two but you never know when it will go out.
Liz
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb PMPS 288 +2 241

sometimes the farther away you get from an "event" the easier it is to figure out what happened. from tonight, i think it looks like he didn't get a shot last night. the dose from yesterday morning would've carried him for a while - bigger dose kitties can sometimes even skip a shot without seeing much of a blip on the spreadsheet. but he really looks kinda flat yesterday from +8 on. yes, he was up some at pmps and down some at +4.5, but we're talking about a range of 50 points.

then this morning's amps (way to get our attention, cobb! good job buddy! cat_pet_icon ) of 527 followed by a slide down all day. He either may have let go with a bounce from the 200's - but that doesn't seem likely - or you forgot to shoot him. given that you're not sure you gave the shot, that's probably the most likely.

it happens.

you could count out 14 syringes every Saturday and put them out of the box. then if you're not sure, you could count what remains and see if it was skipped.

although that seems like work - i probably would just figure that now it's on your radar and you're less likely to have it happen in the future.

in any case, he's recovered from whatever it was. :-D

I think I would add a ? in last night's dose column since you're not sure you gave it. cycle counting starts over from a skipped shot, so it might be important later when we're counting shots to see if his dose should be increased.

Sandy's point with the pictures - a lot of our cats have wonky numbers with the full moon. dun dun dun (that's the spooky music sound) we'll see what happens tomorrow. :lol:
 
Re: 1/14 Cobb PMPS 288 +2 241 +5 148

Hi all,

Whatever it was, it lookalike Cobb has cleared those yucky numbers!

Matt is pretty sure I gave the shot but was asleep so he has no really basis for that, other than I don't usually forget it. If I did, I went through the routine on autopilot so...who knows. I know I did forget to give Matty his medicine this morning so it's entirely possible I was completely out of it! Whatever happened, Cobb has returned to the second floor now!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top