Max--+4 PM 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
This is the first time I tested after his night shot and as some of you suggested he is low. Do I need to do anything? Should I be concerned? We had a 70 at +4 in the afternoon and that is when we stopped the insulin. Thanks.

Elise
 
I would feed a little bit of low carb food, maybe a tsp or two, and if possible, test again in an hour. According to the protocol we follow here, kitties earn a reduction in dose if they go below 50.

I can't stay up with you tonight, but the instructions for handling low numbers are here. If you cannot stay up later to test again, I'd leave a bunch of low or medium carb food out for Max to munch on. Most kitties will look for something to eat if they are feeling that their blood sugar is low.
 
Thanks. I just put some food out for him and he ate. He seems fine. When this happened in the vet's office he wasn't concerned but that is when he decided to stop insulin. Of course his previous day Nadirs were between 114-185.

Elise
 
Hello Elsie,
Try not to be despondent,I have had times when I have felt totally overwhelmed with this confusing,scary illness,I still cannot get to grips with how the dosing (too little or too much insulin) works.
Please don't stop posting,let these amazing knowledgable people guide you,the more they do, the more you will understand how to look after Max.As we say in the UK keep you chin up,hope you have a more peaceful day today.Diane & Bailey
 
Thank you so much for getting that +4 test! It begins to fill in the picture and let us all know what Max is up to. The next piece of the puzzle is what he does with that green number. His numbers may look pretty much the same for the AM or he may bounce into higher numbers. It can take roughly 3 days for the bounce to clear (sometimes sooner, though).

For convenience, you didn't need to open a new thread for Max's PM numbers. We try to keep each days information in one place and then link the threads in the next day's condo.
 
Re: Max--1/23/14 AMPS 250. +3. 310

Okay about the threads. Should I continue in this one for today? So would you ride out the bounce or go back to his lowest dose and start over with gradual increases? I tested him 1/2 hour before his insulin today because he really wanted to eat. This way I can test 3 1/2 hours after his shot. Would I record it under 3 it 4? That bug drop really startled me even though you said it might happen by the way. On my vet's meter I know it would be about 30 points higher which once I remembered that I calmed down. Thanks.

AMPS. 250

+3 after AMPS. 310 +8= 254

These levels are all in the same basic area. Do some never Nadir during one cycle?

elise
 
you can keep posting on this one for today. then tomorrow morning, start a new one and link to this one by copying the web address and putting it in between the ] [

like this: put web address here

yes, some days you won't really see a nadir. what you have today is a response from the 74 last night. Bounces can "wipe out" the normal curve. Here's the link to the description of what a bounce is. Look for the second post in the thread. New Dose Wonkiness

That link is at the bottom of the New to the Group sticky, along with several interesting single topic links.

You want to just hold the dose and let's see if we can catch the nadirs and find out where this dose is taking Max. Most cats bounce when they are getting into ranges they aren't used to. But 74 is an AWESOME number - you want that! So hold the course, keep up the testing you're doing and we'll look at the low points to see if this is a good dose or if it needs adjusting.

The protocol calls for reducing if you get under 50.

Great job with the night cycle test, btw! many, many cats go lower at night so we always suggest people get a night cycle test every night. just like you, many are surprised. but it's great information to have!

hope you're having a great day! julie
 
Well 74 may be awesome, but today's numbers aren't. He was just 328 PMPS. When this all started we started with 1 unit BID and kept going down. He reacted immediately to the insulin. Now he is all over the place. I wonder if he will drop again tonight????

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top