1/23 Scooter AMPS 414, +5-444,+10-344,+11-376

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Scooter threw up this morning right after his shot. It may be from temporary food change. I changed it to 9lives super supper pate to see if he would eat since yesterday he ate very little. He loved it and ate well then threw up.

Numbers yesterday are not very encouraging for me. His Vet is away at the conference in FL but I may call when she gets back for a check in for him.

Linda
 
Re: 1/23 Scooter AMPS 414,

Sounds like Scooter ate too fast. I have two Abys that do that. In fact, I just finished cleaning up the results of that activity from one of them. Why can't they stay in one spot until they're done??? Then, half an hour later, they want more food, like it never happened. :lol: :lol: Wish we recovered that quickly!

Hope Scooter comes down for you today. Sending good tummy vines.
 
Re: 1/23 Scooter AMPS 414,

Sorry about the throw up. My civie does that too. I have to give him just half a meal at once, wait an hour, then give him the rest. It's easier on healing pancreas to spread out the food, so if you aren't doing that already you might try that.

Come on Scooter, let's see some yellow again!
 
Re: 1/23 Scooter AMPS 414,

If Scooter is eating too fast, it can set up a "scarf and barf"...and then 5 minutes later they're starving to death again. There are a few things you can try if that's happening.

Try spreading his food out on a flat plate so he has to work a little harder to get it all. You can buy special dishes that are raised in the middle and the food goes into a "groove" around the edges that will slow them down too. (You can also just put a big rock or something totally inedible, like a golf ball in his bowl..anything that he has to "work around" to get the food will slow him down)

If he does scarf and barf, give him 10-15 minutes for his stomach to settle, and then only give him a small teaspoon of food. Repeat every 10-15 minutes as long as he's holding it down until he gets his meal portion.

Hope his tummy settles down soon and he starts to give you some better numbers!
 
Re: 1/23 Scooter AMPS 414,

I think it was scarf and barf because he must have been very hungry. He didn't eat his normal amount yesterday.
Today he is eating more often and smaller amounts. He is very cute when he wants food he grabs my leg as I am walking.
The person who had him before us declawed him so it is more like a swat and walk. lol


Linda
 
Re: 1/23 Scooter AMPS 414, +5-444,+10-344

we call that a "drive by" at our house! :lol: when they run by, attack you and then run away. ohmygosh cats are so cute!

which is a good thing since they can be such a pain in the neck!

i'd stick with the "4 cycles and increase the dose" phase still. if nothing changes by morning, i'd go up .05u because he's still got nadirs over 300 and flat.

hi scooter! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/23 Scooter AMPS 414, +5-444,+10-344

Julie you are so sweet!

I was just going to ask if I should do a dose increase. LOL

I think I just need to check in with you all before I do it. Seems to make me feel more confident.

I was wondering if this is normal as I will be going up to 3.0 tomorrow. Is that a high dose of Levemir?

Linda
 
I think Julie is right. Unless you see something much lower tonight, it's time to up the dose again.

3.0U of Levemir is not a high dose. It looks like Scooter got up to 4U of Lantus, and often kitties will be around the same number of units of Levemir. When we switched in September, we originally needed a little bit less than the Lantus dose, and now we are a little bit above it. It's another one of those Every Cat is Different things. :lol:
 
I "third" the suggestion to raise Scooter's dose. Given that he was getting a total of 12u per day before you switched him to Lev, getting Scooter up to a total of 5u per day may not be enough insulin yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top