1/28 Ole +9 356 ToR +10.5 340 PMPS 372 +3 319 Dosing???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good Morning!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112678

Last night;

PMPS 391
+2 370
+4 273
+8.5 184
+10.5 365 ToR
AMPS 452

Well, I tried a ToR at +10.5 and for me, that is 4:30am, so we'll see how good my eyesight was. My technique is that I compress the plunger into the R for just a drop.

I do feel good about working our was down into the lower floors, but that end cycle bounce...We'd like to kiss Red goodbye for ever with Pink given a pink slip, wouldn't we Ole. He's nodding his head over here as he's washing his face so I'm taking that as a yes!

I hope all is well with you all, and that your Tuesday is a mighty fine!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/28 Ole AMPS 452 +2 479

Hi,

It seems to me that my +10.5 (4:30am) ToR was less than a touch. Bummer.

Ole is pretty quiet in his bounce/food spike, but earlier, he did come over and sit at my feet where he let out a tremendous belch. I've never known a cat with such poor table manners!

Get down Ole!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/28 Ole AMPS 452 +2 479

Hi guys .. :lol: Ole! You have bad table manners?? Too funny .. Now we just need him to cruise on down to the lower levels! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/28 Ole AMPS 452 +2 479

Good Morning ~O) ~O) :cool:

Regarding your TOR, unlike Lantus, you can pre-fill a syringe with R.
So, next time if you think there is a chance you will want to give a TOR at 4:30am, you can prepare the syringe before you turn in. If it turns out you don't need it, you can keep it in the fridge for the next cycle.

When BKs L dose got north of 7u or so I had difficulty shooting him (due to hand tremor) and I was experiencing many fur shots. grr_red
So I started splitting the L into 2 syringes.

That meant I had 3 syringes to prepare (2L and 1R). When it came to the R syringe, I would pull an approximate amount, based on my R scale and what the numbers were doing at the time. I then placed it on the counter on a sticky on which I wrote the amount type of insulin the syringe contained. With all my syringes loaded I was prepared. I had to be - 3 shots while BK had his head in the food bowl was tricky - I had to move fast. I would then test, and based on the number , my R scale and the instincts I developed, I would either shoot the amount I pulled, squeeze some out for a lower dose or if the signals indicated - just skip it and place the loaded syringe back into the fridge for use later. This did require mindfulness at all times that I cross check the R dose before I shot.

It was when the numbers and/or my instincts indicated that skipping the R was the thing to do, that I asked the wise ones of the day if I could save my loaded R syringe in the fridge for later. I was glad I asked - the answer being yes made things a bit easier for me.

I want to point out - it's been 5 solid days with no trips to the penthouse for Ole. . .
Looks like a first. . . :-D
 
Re: 1/28 Ole AMPS 452 +2 479 +5 374 +8.5 315?????

I have a quick question!

My meeting got moved back 20 min, so I zipped home for a test at +8.5, and will not be home at 9.5 as planned. I thought I would most likely do a TOR since this morning's didn't quite work. Ole's pattern is that he climbs in the late in the cycle, but I won't be home until 11.5.

My question, should I give him a ToR now? I have about 15 minutes before I have to take off, or should I not give him R tonight because I can't be home until the end of the R cycle.

Thank you
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/28 Ole AMPS 452 +2 479 +5 374 +8.5 315 +9 356 ToR

you never know what would've happened if you hadn't given it, so maybe that 4:30am TOR kept him from going higher.

looks like you've been able to hold him flat with the little bit this afternoon. he may see the real response to it in tonight's cycle.
 
Re: 1/28 Ole AMPS+8.5 315 +9 356 ToR +10.5 340 PMPS 372

Good evening!

I ended up giving Ole another ToR at +9 because his BG jumped 40 pts in about 20 minutes, following his end of cycle upward trend. I hope I'm not being too aggressive with the R, but I'm trying to keep his PS #'s lower so that Lantus has a better chance of being effective and moving him into the yellows. I also feel that a ToR just gives him a little nudge, not a shove. Please let me know your thoughts. Also let me know what you think about Ole's L dose. I'm trying to think ahead to when I am gone (leaving Thursday evening returning Sunday evening) to make things easy on Alex and Ole. Alex is a good partner in this endeavor, he has even tested for K, but I don't want to put any undo stress on them and put Alex in a situation that he doesn't know what to do.

Ole is doing well. I believe today is the last day that he will be cooped up in our bedroom. The bathroom is looking mighty fine and my contractor says that it is on the record book for the fastest bathroom remodel ever! Thanks to my skills as a project mgr! hahaha Ole doesn't know the meaning of the word timid. I would let him out of his "prison" when I popped home, and that darned cat would march straight into the 5'x8' little bathroom to see what the guys were up to. Investigating the situation, right under foot.

Here's to all you kitties and beans that need extra support tonight. (((cuddles)))

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/28 Ole AMPS+8.5 315 +9 356 ToR +10.5 340 PMPS 372

Paws crossed for some yellows tonight. Good news that the reno is almost done. Too funny on the furry assistant project manager. When we had ours done, Neko quickly discovered that the tile guy (quiet worker) was a cat person. :smile:

You might want to put a question into your first subject line - something like "dose while away?" to get more opinions. My thoughts are that I think Ole is good where he is. I think normally I'd be thinking about an increase to 7.5 now, but if DH can't monitor as closely, it might make sense to hold off. You could also think about Alex doing a one time reduced dose if he's uncomfortable with a PS number, say really low yellows or a blue. It's not ideal, but would give him peace of mind.
 
Re: 1/28 Ole AMPS+8.5 315 +9 356 ToR +10.5 340 PMPS 372

Slide on down, Ole! Are you interested in joint the LantusLand Sliders Curling Club? We will show you how so slide all the way down to blue and green. :lol: We go to Dr. Miller and Dr. Sullivan at Canyon Pet Hospital. They are part of Team Zener. :-D :lol:
Liz
 
Hi!

Yes, it is awesome that Ole has not been to the penthouse for many a day. Too rich up there! We hope to have a sunny night that continues into a sunny day!

Also let me know what you think about Ole's L dose. I'm trying to think ahead to when I am gone (leaving Thursday evening returning Sunday evening) to make things easy on Alex and Ole. Alex is a good partner in this endeavor, he has even tested for K, but I don't want to put any undo stress on them and put Alex in a situation that he doesn't know what to do.

I was wondering if anybody has any suggestions (Thank you Wendy for yours). Ole is 4 cycles in to his 7.25uL. Do you think I should increase tomorrow morning (no R)? He will then have 3 cycles in before I leave, and can stay there until I come home. I will be on the phone with Alex, and we will both be here. Alex is fine as a CG, but he can't monitor as closely.

Thank you!
Rebekah
 
I agree with Wendy about tactics for while you're gone. I think you probably could go ahead and increase the L in the morning if you wanted.

edited for clarity.
 
Hi there :cool:
Rebekah said:
I hope I'm not being too aggressive with the R, but I'm trying to keep his PS #'s lower so that Lantus has a better chance of being effective and moving him into the yellows. I also feel that a ToR just gives him a little nudge, not a shove. Please let me know your thoughts.
Looks to me like you are doing fine with the R - using a light hand, monitoring, observing and going with the flow & rhythm of his cycles.
Rebekah said:
Also let me know what you think about Ole's L dose. I'm trying to think ahead to when I am gone (leaving Thursday evening returning Sunday evening) to make things easy on Alex and Ole. Alex is a good partner in this endeavor, he has even tested for K, but I don't want to put any undo stress on them and put Alex in a situation that he doesn't know what to do.
That's a tough one. I know you don't want to lose ground. However all things considered I'm inclined to say push the pause button on increases until closer to your return. You never know what Ole will do. ( One day I'll tell the story of BKs first green PS. . .)

Thinking out loud here -
You might consider holding this dose and have Alex increase, if needed, Saturday PM or Sunday AM then Ole would have one or two cycles of the new dose already in the pipeline when you return Sunday PM. I don't see much action in the first 2 cycles of previous increases. Additionally, Is there a possibility you can guide Alex in applying the occasional TOR, should the need arise while you are gone, assuming he could monitor? That way if you hold this L dose and it looks like Ole is headed for the penthouse while you are away a quick little tap may be all it takes to keep the numbers in a comfortable range until you return.

Tomorrows AMPS may very well help you decide which way to go. . . .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top