2/20 Scooter +22-161,+23-145,+24-108,+25-104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Hi Folks:

Yesterday

Okay so usually I shoot at 10 am which is in 15 minutes. I know Scooter had food and the last number +21-170 is reactive of that.

I think I should wait another hour and see what happens. confused_cat

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Linda

PS thank gawd for the smaller board. :lol:
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Hi Linda,

How long ago did he eat?
Would you be able, schedule wise, to wait 2 hours from that meal as to reduce food influence for a PS ?

(If I seem to disappear it's due to connectivity problems I've been having :-x )
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Is the 170 the # before you shoot, or the # 1 hour before you shoot? Your subject line doesn't have a # in it, hence my question.

Nice job yesterday, though. :-D
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Morning Linda. ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) @-)

How long ago was that +21? And how long ago did Scooter eat? Stalling is fine.
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Sorry Ladies

I do believe I am tired. :lol:

right now I am at +21:30 he ate at + 20 1/4 can LC 5% carb

I don't have an AMPS number yet I am still on yesterdays schedule
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

If I'm reading this right, you didn't shoot? He's going back down on his own? Someone's deciding they're tired of this au juis!

Gosh you've got to be BEYOND exhausted...BIG HUGE HUG!
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

His normal shot time was 1/2 hr ago.

yesterday we shot 1 1/2 hrs late because of low numbers. He did not have a shot last night. No insulin since 11:30 am Wednesday.

I feel like I should not shoot till I see what he is going to do. However I have never dealt with this before and not sure my choice is right.

What do you ladies think?

Linda

Oh and yes I am tired but not giving up yet. :lol: :-D ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Yes Squeaky and KT's Mom he is going back down on his own!

Gosh he has been doing this for 24 hours now! :lol:

The numbers are a bit higher this time though. Yesterday he was doing this in green numbers.
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

161 and 170 are basically the same with meter variance, but it does show Scooter isn't going up.

As usual, you have a couple of options for today. Option 1, skip this morning, get some sleep and go back to a new dose tonight. Something like 2 U might be more appropriate - the dry food effects seems considerable. Option 2, shoot the new dose or a reduced dose this morning. If you do shoot something, you could still be busy later in the day after onset but you'd get a bit of a nap in this morning before then. A reduced dose might be 1U.

What do you feel like?
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Good Morning Wendy! ~O)

Well I feel like maybe waiting him out another hour and see what numbers he is showing us. Could it be he has had enough insulin and wants to prove it?

I am doing okay just kind of giddy and silly. We are getting the "worst" snowstorm of the year today according to the weatherman :lol: so I will be home. Flakes are light and fluffy. :-D

Linda
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Stalling is OK, game is about to start. ;-) He isn't in normal numbers so may need some insulin. Let's see what Scooter says.
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

I'd bet you're tired after having an exhausting, yet exciting day yesterday. :lol: You've got a lot of people on here helping you that has a bit more knowledge than I do. Have you gotten a test yet again?
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Angela - no not yet on the half hour is when I test. Your help has been amazing!!

Wendy- This game is already exciting!! :-D

Scooter has been sleeping for an hour now. Snoring even. :-D
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Hi Linda,

I just read in your chart that 2/18 was the first day that you had stopped feeding your entire house of furrbabies dry kibble.. Was Scooter free feeding, dry kibble up until 2/18 as well?
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

You could wait another hour but unless he really zooms up, I'd be thinking skip today. The old dose had a large depot and if you do need to resume insulin it'll be a much smaller dose so it would be good to really drain the depot.

Scooter really does like to keep you guessing doesn't he. :lol:

ETA: Could you change the first subject line to get rid of the AMPS and put the latest numbers in, +22 and +23. Thanks. That way we can see at a glance the trend.
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

You know Tina I thought that he was only on the wet food but it appears that he was eating kibble behind my back.

He was actually sitting on the kibble container begging for some like a dog yesterday. :lol:

oh-e-vay!
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Wendy I feel like he is diving again and I will have to get the HC and karo out in a few hours. cat(2)_steam confused_cat :roll:
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

I'd be very suspicious of the carbs in the kibble giving him high numbers. (I know he's going lower now). Do you plan taking them off of kibble forever? If his pancreas can do the work of the insulin if he isn't eating kibble, that would be awesome!

You must be so tired right now. Good job with managing Scooter's lows for the past 24 hrs.. :-D
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter AMPS Should I shoot?

Yes I took all 13 of my kitties off dry food on Tuesday. I read Dr. Lisa's info and decided. I also have Jack who is diabetic and OTJ since 2012 on LC wet food.

I am at this point hoping the same will happen for Scooter. I did not start this thinking his numbers would tumble like this though. I was hoping to get him out of red and black and pink. Light green is a huge surprise and scary.

The wonderful women who have been helping me for the last two days are saving Scooter and teaching me as we go.

I think we are all alot surprised by this. :-D
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter +22-161,+23-145,+24-108

That speaks volumes - a skip it is! :-D

You should be OK today since it's been 24 hours without insulin, but I'd still get in some spot checks. Don't bother with HC unless he goes below 50 and just feed him his regular LC meals.
 
Re: 2/20 Scooter +22-161,+23-145,+24-108

I think you can sleep for a bit. Just make sure there's some regular wet food out for Scooter to snack on if he wants it.
 
Now you can go bed! Sleep well, Scooter is slowing down and you'll have sweet dreams. :-D :-D :-D

party_cat party_cat party_cat
 
Man what a game!!

Scooter is playing with kittens and happy as a lark.

From the bottom of my heart THANK YOU Wendy, Julie, Angela and Marje. Also to all of you throwing your support and kind words over the last 24 hrs.

I am humble by your kindness. o:-) :YMHUG: \M/ cat_pet_icon

Linda

goodnight! :-D
 
You're welcome, however, we're here to help you get Scooter back up from diving so much. :lol: Tsk... Tsk... Scooter. :lol: Can you let your Momma Bean rest a bit now, lil man? :lol:

Nice work you 2! :-D
 
Wow, I'm glad Scooter is giving you a bit of a break now :shock: . I was watching your progress yesterday evening but didn't want to interrupt the people helping you. What a difference wet food makes, hey? I'm so glad it all went well even though you are probably pooped @-) . Hopefully you can get some rest tonight :-D
 
Go Scooter! Who needs that juice, anyway?

Linda, you are doing great. Have a good sleep. I'm happy for you that Canada won, but I thought that we would win. What a game, indeed!

Ella & Rusty
 
well, well. scooter was apparently a crack food addict and was hiding it. who knew?

i'll be curious to see what he does next. the Scooter Show has become quite interesting! :lol:

hope you're getting some well-deserved rest, Linda. glad you kept things up last night, though - he obviously needed the attention.
 
A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!

I hope you got some sleep today, Linda. If he does need to restart insulin, we can start at a lower dose and then take him up per the protocol.

Great job all along but what a difference by not feeding kibble!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top