2/23 Shadow AMPS 334

Status
Not open for further replies.
glad to see those blues peeking in there!

i think you can increase Shadow's dose some. Not too sure about going back up to the 1.25 after it got shadow into the 30's, but can you hit a dose that's somewhere in between 1.0 and 1.25? i think you need a little bit more insulin. Look carefully at where the black line of the plunger is and see if you can figure out a slightly larger than 1.0u dose.

Here's what I'm looking at from the guidelines on the Tight Regulation Protocol page:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.


when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

adjusting doses back and forth is a normal part of this process. You've had 14 cycles on this dose - usually we would adjust at least every 10 cycles. sometimes holding too long means that a cat gets used to higher numbers and it takes more insulin to get them down. No harm done, of course, i'm just explaining it to you so you'll be aware of this.
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
glad to see those blues peeking in there!

i think you can increase Shadow's dose some. Not too sure about going back up to the 1.25 after it got shadow into the 30's, but can you hit a dose that's somewhere in between 1.0 and 1.25? i think you need a little bit more insulin. Look carefully at where the black line of the plunger is and see if you can figure out a slightly larger than 1.0u dose.

Here's what I'm looking at from the guidelines on the Tight Regulation Protocol page:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.


when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

adjusting doses back and forth is a normal part of this process. You've had 14 cycles on this dose - usually we would adjust at least every 10 cycles. sometimes holding too long means that a cat gets used to higher numbers and it takes more insulin to get them down. No harm done, of course, i'm just explaining it to you so you'll be aware of this.

Hello

Ok thank you for the advice...Yes, this is all new to me. So As I understand I should increase her dose a little under .25 How should I mark this in her SS? Technically speaking according to the protocol wouldn't Shadow need The second option, "If nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by.5" But are we thinking to not increase THAT much because of her "bounce" last time?
 
no, she doesn't need a 0.5u increase. you had nadirs in the 100's today - you could go as high as 0.25u increase if you want, but i think i'd try hitting something in between the 1.0 and 1.25.

for the spreadsheet you could call it 1.1 or many people call it a "fat" 1, marking it f1.0 in the units column. the important thing about measuring doses is that you can repeat the dose. it doesn't matter if i would measure the same dose the same way, just that you can do it. you might draw up some colored water in an old syringe to keep & use as a comparison. that can be very helpful.
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
no, she doesn't need a 0.5u increase. you had nadirs in the 100's today - you could go as high as 0.25u increase if you want, but i think i'd try hitting something in between the 1.0 and 1.25.

for the spreadsheet you could call it 1.1 or many people call it a "fat" 1, marking it f1.0 in the units column. the important thing about measuring doses is that you can repeat the dose. it doesn't matter if i would measure the same dose the same way, just that you can do it. you might draw up some colored water in an old syringe to keep & use as a comparison. that can be very helpful.


OKKKKK!!!!! I understand now! Little slow on this one! ;-) Ok Fat 1 coming at kitty tomorrow A.M!
 
it's fine - no worries. i'm glad you're looking at it and trying to figure it out. it takes a while!

we base dosing upon the lows that a dose causes. that keeps the kitties safe!
 
I'm glad you are seeing some blues :-D . Good luck with the new dosing, those little bits are sometimes so hard to measure! Have a good evening :razz:
 
Nice blues today. :-D Good luck with the increase tomorrow. It's amazing how much difference a little drop can make. For doing those small changes in between doses, and even just to be consistent from one dose to the other, some people here use calipers to measure the dose. Here is a link to Marje's post on dosing with calipers.

With my calipers I can find 3 doses in between a 1U and a 1.25U. But best of all, I know I can get DH to draw up the dose and I just tell him the number of millimeters and I know we'll have consistent dosing.
 
How nice that Shadow made it into the blues this evening. It means she's working the juice! Getting the right dose takes a lot of trial and error sometimes, and then when you think you have it perfect, the cat decided to move the mark! :o But isn't that what we love about cats?! Never boring. Hope you seem some more of those pretty blues. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top