Shelly & Jersey (GA)
Member Since 2014
What a week! Due to extra-long days at work, I haven't been able to post since Monday - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114385.
The numbers have been too high for my liking this week. This morning, we finally saw a really good AMPS of 92. My husband then accidentally fed Jersey the high-carb FF from the hypo kit. :cry:
Since I can't recognize bounces yet/still (boo.....on me), I have to assume that I was shooting no insulin on a few occasions. For those who have not read some of my previous posts, I'm struggling with the micro-doses. I may be getting too close to the zero line on occasion and not actually getting any - or enough - insulin in. The new insulin syringes, which are hopefully easier to read, were supposed to arrive yesterday; the tracking number indicates that they have disappeared somewhere in Florida.
We skipped this morning's shot due to a another late day at work today. Her PMPS was 318. I was able to barely squeeze enough out of the Lantus pen for tonight's .10 dose. Note to self: You HAVE to occasionally check and see how much is left in the pen!!!!! My husband is picking up a new prescription (a vial, I think) tonight.
Jersey has been her usual mischievous self the last couple of days. She somehow opened the cabinet door in the bathroom last night, jumped in, and then managed to lock herself in. Luckily, the thumping of the door led me to the scene of the crime, where I was able to free the little devil.
I do have a question for the experienced users out there - With this new vial of Lantus, how much more potent will it be? Do I need to try to skinny the dose a bit? (Go ahead and wish me good luck with that one! :lol
I know I've read on this board that new pens/vials can be a bit stronger.
I also have a general question about food. I've fed Jersey Primal raw food on a few occasions. Twice, she has vomited up hairballs after eating it- no food, just hair. Have any of you noticed something like this in your own cats? It could be sheer coincidence, but I found the connection interesting.
The numbers have been too high for my liking this week. This morning, we finally saw a really good AMPS of 92. My husband then accidentally fed Jersey the high-carb FF from the hypo kit. :cry:
Since I can't recognize bounces yet/still (boo.....on me), I have to assume that I was shooting no insulin on a few occasions. For those who have not read some of my previous posts, I'm struggling with the micro-doses. I may be getting too close to the zero line on occasion and not actually getting any - or enough - insulin in. The new insulin syringes, which are hopefully easier to read, were supposed to arrive yesterday; the tracking number indicates that they have disappeared somewhere in Florida.
We skipped this morning's shot due to a another late day at work today. Her PMPS was 318. I was able to barely squeeze enough out of the Lantus pen for tonight's .10 dose. Note to self: You HAVE to occasionally check and see how much is left in the pen!!!!! My husband is picking up a new prescription (a vial, I think) tonight.
Jersey has been her usual mischievous self the last couple of days. She somehow opened the cabinet door in the bathroom last night, jumped in, and then managed to lock herself in. Luckily, the thumping of the door led me to the scene of the crime, where I was able to free the little devil.
I do have a question for the experienced users out there - With this new vial of Lantus, how much more potent will it be? Do I need to try to skinny the dose a bit? (Go ahead and wish me good luck with that one! :lol
I also have a general question about food. I've fed Jersey Primal raw food on a few occasions. Twice, she has vomited up hairballs after eating it- no food, just hair. Have any of you noticed something like this in your own cats? It could be sheer coincidence, but I found the connection interesting.