Ozy update AMPS-77,+1-90,+2-98,+3-81,+7.5-51

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112579

Just stopping by to say hi. Ozy had a pretty good February. He was at 9 units for most of the month and then a few days ago, he went low and we reduced to 8.5 units. I was up with him pretty much all night that night... he dropped into the 30's twice in that cycle. We stalled until we felt comfortable shooting and now we are doing 10 am and 10 pm, which works pretty well for us, it turns out.

During the month of February we did use R a few times. One drop seems to be right for him.

I have jury duty pretty soon so I want him stable for that. And I am going to have to get him back to 7 and 7 so I can shoot him before I have to leave to get there. Either that or John will have to take him into the vet at 10 am on those two days, which we may do. John tests but he doesn't give him shots. Since we like this schedule, it seems a shame to move it.

This is a chart that shows how Ozy's glucose has changed in the eight months he has been on insulin. I consider it a "good cycle" if he pretty much stays below renal threshold.

December was a rough month due to his dental, when we had to skip two shots plus we changed to Levemir so we had to drop his dose and work back up. I am glad we made the switch because he is much flatter on Levemir and it doesn't sting.
 

Attachments

  • OzyChartGoodCycles-004.jpg
    OzyChartGoodCycles-004.jpg
    23.4 KB · Views: 184
Re: Ozy update AMPS-77

It's great to hear that Ozy is doing well. Congrats on the reducie. I hope you can work things out with his shot schedule around your jury duty.
 
Re: Ozy update AMPS-77

Hi Donaleen - good to hear from you. It's great to hear that Ozy is mostly under renal threshold. That is my goal these days too, plus I find that Neko just feels better there. How is Ozy doing in general? Still giving bupe every day? I'm finding it's helping here.

Good luck with the jury duty/shot thing. I hope it doesn't last too long. Is John not comfortable with giving the shots? My DH would do those, but wouldn't test at first.

I'm pretty happy with the flatness of Levemir too. Not all cats are flat on Lev, but looks like we lucked out on that.
 
Re: Ozy update AMPS-77,+1-90,+2-98,+3-81

Hi Dyana and Carla and Wendy. Thanks for stopping by.

Yes, Wendy still Bupe every day. We were giving him .2 ml twice a day and recently switched to .15 ml three times a day. Bupe works great for him but it wears off in about 7 hours. The .15 three times a day seems to give him pretty continuous coverage.

I think Ozy is doing pretty well. Thanks for asking. The extreme low numbers wear us out but don't bother him. He is still holding at around 18 pounds and we have not been successful getting him to lose any weight. His last case of eosinophyllic granuloma is almost gone but I feel a new lump on his neck. He is sleeping on the sofa between us right now.

His neuropathy symptoms are gone. Does he still need to take zobaline? Any advice on that?
 
Re: Ozy update AMPS-77,+1-90,+2-98,+3-81

hmmm, good question. i think most people keep giving it. i think over 80% good cycles is fantastic. Ozy, in fact, is looking very nicely regulated. well done!

perhaps you won't end up having to go to jury duty. i keep getting called, but then cancelled or sent home.

nice to see you! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top