3/10 Cinco PMPS 168 +5 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
3/9 Recap:
2.0 units bid

AMBG: 67 Boarding. No insulin given.
AM+4: 88
AM+7: 153
Vet did not take a PMPS :sad: :evil:
PM+3: 63 Fed LC (usual second dinner)
PM+4: 49 Fed more LC
PM+4.5: 61 Fed more LC
PM+5: 51 Fed 1 TB MC
PM+5.5: 54 Fed 1 TB MC
PM+6: 64 No food
PM+6.5: 61 Fed1 TB MC
PM+7: 71 No food
PM+8: 68 No food
PM+8.5: 72 Gave 1 TB MC.

Yesterday's mini-condo

I haven't decided if Cinco was trying to punish me for boarding him again so soon or not. If he was, it backfired, since his ears got poked every half hour for four hours! :o . Guess he had enough of that and decided to stay blue today. Fine with me. I'm tired of it, too!

I just got off the phone with the supervisor for the vet techs at the animal hospital where I board Cinco and Minka. I was a bit concerned by the way they handled his testing. On Friday, I dropped him off around noon. His PMPS was 159. They did not test him again that cycle. At 6:30 am he was at 53 :shock: and they gave him his regular dose! Then, THEY DID NOT TEST HIM AGAIN UNTIL 6:30 pm!! :o :o :o Fortunately, he survived that and was at 108. They did test again at +6 and he was at 78. The next morning (yesterday), we was at 67 at 6:30 am and they did NOT shoot! confused_cat I probably wouldn't have, either, but what kind of consistency is that? Then they DID test at +4 and +7 (88 and 153). They did not, however, do a PMPS before shooting the normal dose. :roll: When I got him home at +3 he was, as you can see above, down to 63. :YMSIGH: I have no idea why he was so low, at the vet and on AB, but what kind of a way is that to monitor and treat a diabetic cat??? The supervisor was very nice. She said she is fairly new there and still familiarizing herself with the protocols. She said she has a meeting of the techs scheduled for tomorrow, and one of the topics was going to be dealing with diabetic cats, so my call and concerns were very timely. She agreed that it was not handled correctly. She said she would find out what techs were involved and what vet was on duty, and that she had already decided that in future a diabetic cat will be housed in the hospital side of the facillity, instead of in the boarding section, so that he can be monitored more closely. I have a feeling that will cost more :sad: , but it if means they will pay more attention to his BG, I'm fine with it.

I knew Cinco was low last night, as he was very active, wandering around the house and talking up a storm. Even at 49 he wouldn't appear to be in trouble to someone that didn't know him, which is why testing is so important! I have to board him for one night next month, so I want to be sure they are clear on the proper way to handle him. I feel like we dodged a huge bullet this weekend. I'm just grateful he is so good at handling low numbers and hung in there! cat_pet_icon

Minka was her usual cooperative self. Her eyes are still running, although it doesn't look as bad today. I'm going to give it one more day before calling her vet.

Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: My thoughts and prayers are with Rebekah and Alex today as they mourn dear little Ole. :cry: o:-)
 
Re: 3/10 Cinco AMPS 150 +3 132 +6 144

I think you are right to be concerned about the lack of appropriate testing. :-x They probably thought they were testing excessively. :roll: :roll: :roll: I'm glad Cinco is doing fine. And looking good today! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 3/10 Cinco AMPS 150 +3 132 +6 144

I am SO glad that Cinco is ok! That's just shoddy work, as far as I'm concerned. You were paying them to test and watch him! :evil: What the heck were they thinking???? Ok, I'm just irritated and he's not even mine.

Well, he is ok and that's what matters most so hugs and scritches are sent! :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

I hope Cincos ears feel better today. I'm glad Minka is ok and hope the eyes clear up without needing a vetty visit, sending vines:) Hope your rest of the day goes well :-D
 
Re: 3/10 Cinco AMPS 150 +3 132 +6 144

Beautiful flatness for Cinco today! I have to admit, what went on with Cinco at the vetty is why I'm pretty terrified to leave anyone else at all in charge of Trix. I'm glad he's OK, and you were able to speak with someone about all that went down during his stay. Hopefully your words will not be taken lightly, and future diabetic boarders will benefit from your experience.

Have a great night, Tricia!
 
Re: 3/10 Cinco AMPS 150 +3 132 +6 144

Nice recovery blues for Cinco today. :-D OMG on the vet's office! :-x I sure hope they fix their protocols before Cinco is due for boarding again.

When Neko went to the dental specialist in December they gave me all sorts of assurances they would test her. She only got .1U insulin that morning, and 1/3 breakfast but due to other cases being deemed more important, her dental was resecheduled to 2nd last of the day. And they didn't test until just before anesthesia. :-x She tested at 76 - on an Alphatrak!!! (where 80 on an ATrack is 50 for us). Yikes! Next time I think I'm going to type up instructions for the vet's office.
 
Re: 3/10 Cinco AMPS 150 +3 132 +6 144

I am so glad Cinco is doing good.
That's terrible about the testing at the vet! :evil: :evil: :evil:
 
Rachel, I appreciate your sympathetic indignation, and I share it. :smile:

Liz, I actually think you are right, since the last time I boarded him one of the vets told them to only test twice a day! :roll:

Wendy, you'd think typing up the instructions would eliminate this kind of error, but I gave them an entire page of instructions, with key points highlighted, and they still couldn't do it! :YMSIGH: Maybe I gave them information overload, but Cinco's situation is complicated, with all the eye drops, etc.

Thanks, Mariko. I think so, too. Hopefully we all learned something from this. :-|

We came home from bowling tonight to be greeted by the tell-tale smell that told me I had a present awaiting me (fortunately, it was entirely in the lb this time!) ! :? I'm so glad Cinco didn't make a mess - he had a bath while he was boarding and he's so soft and fluffy and smells so fresh. I'd like him to stay that way for a while. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top