Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Member Since 2011
3/9 Recap:
2.0 units bid
AMBG: 67 Boarding. No insulin given.
AM+4: 88
AM+7: 153
Vet did not take a PMPS :sad: :evil:
PM+3: 63 Fed LC (usual second dinner)
PM+4: 49 Fed more LC
PM+4.5: 61 Fed more LC
PM+5: 51 Fed 1 TB MC
PM+5.5: 54 Fed 1 TB MC
PM+6: 64 No food
PM+6.5: 61 Fed1 TB MC
PM+7: 71 No food
PM+8: 68 No food
PM+8.5: 72 Gave 1 TB MC.
Yesterday's mini-condo
I haven't decided if Cinco was trying to punish me for boarding him again so soon or not. If he was, it backfired, since his ears got poked every half hour for four hours!
. Guess he had enough of that and decided to stay blue today. Fine with me. I'm tired of it, too!
I just got off the phone with the supervisor for the vet techs at the animal hospital where I board Cinco and Minka. I was a bit concerned by the way they handled his testing. On Friday, I dropped him off around noon. His PMPS was 159. They did not test him again that cycle. At 6:30 am he was at 53 :shock: and they gave him his regular dose! Then, THEY DID NOT TEST HIM AGAIN UNTIL 6:30 pm!!
Fortunately, he survived that and was at 108. They did test again at +6 and he was at 78. The next morning (yesterday), we was at 67 at 6:30 am and they did NOT shoot! confused_cat I probably wouldn't have, either, but what kind of consistency is that? Then they DID test at +4 and +7 (88 and 153). They did not, however, do a PMPS before shooting the normal dose. :roll: When I got him home at +3 he was, as you can see above, down to 63. :YMSIGH: I have no idea why he was so low, at the vet and on AB, but what kind of a way is that to monitor and treat a diabetic cat??? The supervisor was very nice. She said she is fairly new there and still familiarizing herself with the protocols. She said she has a meeting of the techs scheduled for tomorrow, and one of the topics was going to be dealing with diabetic cats, so my call and concerns were very timely. She agreed that it was not handled correctly. She said she would find out what techs were involved and what vet was on duty, and that she had already decided that in future a diabetic cat will be housed in the hospital side of the facillity, instead of in the boarding section, so that he can be monitored more closely. I have a feeling that will cost more :sad: , but it if means they will pay more attention to his BG, I'm fine with it.
I knew Cinco was low last night, as he was very active, wandering around the house and talking up a storm. Even at 49 he wouldn't appear to be in trouble to someone that didn't know him, which is why testing is so important! I have to board him for one night next month, so I want to be sure they are clear on the proper way to handle him. I feel like we dodged a huge bullet this weekend. I'm just grateful he is so good at handling low numbers and hung in there! cat_pet_icon
Minka was her usual cooperative self. Her eyes are still running, although it doesn't look as bad today. I'm going to give it one more day before calling her vet.
Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: My thoughts and prayers are with Rebekah and Alex today as they mourn dear little Ole. :cry: o
2.0 units bid
AMBG: 67 Boarding. No insulin given.
AM+4: 88
AM+7: 153
Vet did not take a PMPS :sad: :evil:
PM+3: 63 Fed LC (usual second dinner)
PM+4: 49 Fed more LC
PM+4.5: 61 Fed more LC
PM+5: 51 Fed 1 TB MC
PM+5.5: 54 Fed 1 TB MC
PM+6: 64 No food
PM+6.5: 61 Fed1 TB MC
PM+7: 71 No food
PM+8: 68 No food
PM+8.5: 72 Gave 1 TB MC.
Yesterday's mini-condo
I haven't decided if Cinco was trying to punish me for boarding him again so soon or not. If he was, it backfired, since his ears got poked every half hour for four hours!
I just got off the phone with the supervisor for the vet techs at the animal hospital where I board Cinco and Minka. I was a bit concerned by the way they handled his testing. On Friday, I dropped him off around noon. His PMPS was 159. They did not test him again that cycle. At 6:30 am he was at 53 :shock: and they gave him his regular dose! Then, THEY DID NOT TEST HIM AGAIN UNTIL 6:30 pm!!
I knew Cinco was low last night, as he was very active, wandering around the house and talking up a storm. Even at 49 he wouldn't appear to be in trouble to someone that didn't know him, which is why testing is so important! I have to board him for one night next month, so I want to be sure they are clear on the proper way to handle him. I feel like we dodged a huge bullet this weekend. I'm just grateful he is so good at handling low numbers and hung in there! cat_pet_icon
Minka was her usual cooperative self. Her eyes are still running, although it doesn't look as bad today. I'm going to give it one more day before calling her vet.
Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: My thoughts and prayers are with Rebekah and Alex today as they mourn dear little Ole. :cry: o