3/23 Gracie PMPS 264 +2 150

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

3/22 Recap:
AMPS: 96
+1: 86
+2: 53
+3: 41
+3.5: 60
+4.5: 58
+6: 53
+7.5: 62
+9: 76
+10.5: 70 VOMIT...alot!! :shock:
+11.5: 95 fed
+12.5: 98 Stalling to see if she keeps food down/BG comes up
PMPS (+13): 177
+2: 296
+5: 294


Good morning LL! Our deepest sympathy to (((Dyana))). Also to Jennifer (Cain), Barb (Daphne), Ashley (Sushi). Prayers for Tommy, Champ, Lucy, Trix, and any others who need them.

LBG is doing much, much better today. She really had me very worried yesterday and I almost took her to the ER. I've never seen her vomit like that. She got on Mike's pillow at +11 (AM cycle) and didn't move off of it until +5 (PM cycle). I could tell in her eyes that she felt bad and was uncomfortable. The first round of cerenia/ondansetron got immediately thrown up but she kept the second round down and I think it helped immensely. I stalled her shot because I wanted to be sure she would keep a little boiled chicken down and that numbers were going up. I knew I needed to get insulin in her but she also had to be able to keep food down. She did eat boiled chicken breast and a little bit of cat food and kept it down so I shot the rising number (glad I did). I think it going up so high so fast was indicative of her discomfort. I had to syringe feed her +2 meal. But she ate enthusiastically at +3 +4, +5. Our normal bedtime is usually +5 when Mike is gone and she actually got up as I was getting ready for bed. She moved around the house, got a drink, acted like she felt a lot better. She got up in her condo in our room, took a bath, got down, got a drink of water, and then jumped in bed and got back on Mike's pillow. She didn't cuddle with me but she slept soundly right there all night and when the alarm went off, she woke me with purrs and kisses on my face. She's been eating well this morning (touch wood), whacked her whack-a-mouse, been moving around and visiting all her favorite scratching places, and she's out on the catio now. I gave her another ondansetron early this morning just to be sure any nausea or potential vomiting was not going to be in the equation. Thanks for all the well wishes for her and vines. I don't know what it was but I hope it was just bad food or a bug.

Our 30th wedding anniversary is in early May and we have not been away together in the +3.5 years since Gracie's dx. I saw a Groupon for a fabulous deal at one of our favorite places an hour south of here and I thought it would be great if we could just go on a Sunday and come back on Tuesday (anniversary would be the Monday). I called a lady I've known a very long time who was a vet tech at our previous vet's office; I trust her but she has her own massage business now so I have never wanted to impose on her time. However, her hours are flexible and I thought perhaps she would just stay with G&T those 2.5 days and we could do an 18 hour shoot schedule just to make it easier. She agreed and so I booked the Groupon. She emailed me yesterday that she has to cancel :roll: :roll: I have to try and find someone else we can trust because we really would like to have the time away. We could take G&T but I know all those resorts spray for bugs in the casitas and I don't want them exposed. We might just have to cancel and lose the Groupon deal. :cry: :cry: But what really upsets me is losing the chance to have time away together on our anniversary. We'd have gladly paid full price for the casita.

Boy I hope I can finish the taxes today. I got a lot done yesterday. It's so gorgeous out here! Have a super day.
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie AMPS 235 +2 247 Better

Hi Marje ~O)

I am sorry Gracie didn't feel well. Poor girl! its nice to read that she is Better today.

Bummer on the anniversary get away. I hope that you will ebb ale to find someone else maybe to come and care for Gracie. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie AMPS 235 +2 247 Better

So glad that Gracie is acting like herself today. Good use of the anti- nauseau medicines quickly for her.


Sorry about the anniversary plans. Is there any techs at the vet's office that could do it? It is hard to find someone that you trust. Do you need someone to shoot and test or just give the insulin.
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie AMPS 235 +2 247 Better

Hi Marje,
I read your condo yesterday before Gracie's vomiting episode, so was surprised when I visited this afternoon. That was really weird! Could there have been something in the new bed that caused her to vomit? (bad catnip, or something similar?). Anyway, I'm glad she's feeling better today. Rusty is sending her a beautiful bouquet of healing vines, just to make sure all is well.

I hope you can find someone to take care of your kitties while you celebrate your anniversary. I'm sure you'll be able to make arrangements.

Keep feeling better, Gracie. Don't catch whatever it is, Tobey!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie AMPS 235 +2 247 Better

I'm happy to see today's Gracie update. I hope she continues to get better and better. We bought a new rosemary plant and I saw Neko out there taking a few clippings to send down to her Soul Sista.

Bummer about the anniversary - I hope you find a solution to get away. How often do they spray? Any chance of renting the casita a few days before you go down there and getting them not to spray so it wears off before you are there. I'm afraid I know nothing about bug sprays but you'd think these days there'd be demand for spray free accommodations.
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie AMPS 235 +2 247 Better

Hi Marje, I'm so glad to hear that Gracie is feeling better :cool: . Gracie, you keep it up, ok? It worries the beans when you don't feel good :sad:

I hope you can get away for your anniversary...are there any LL peeps close by to cat sit? I guess they'd have their own to watch :? . It's too bad there isn't a "rent a vet tech" service ;-) . Paws crossed you can find someone so you can go out and have a romantic few days :-D

I hope your Sunday is going well otherwise, with kitty kisses and cuddles, and relaxing :razz:
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie AMPS 235 +2 247 Better

I'm glad Gracie is feeling better. I hope you can find someone you can trust so you can still take your anniversary trip.
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie PMPS 264

Glad to have the visits Michelle, Catherine, Wendy, Rachel, Ella, and Carla. LBG has been doing fine today so far. I did not give her any meds tonight and she ate well.

Ick on the flat yellow but she really went up last night and I know part of it was discomfort; she seems to have gotten rid of that sometime last night as she has been playing today. I didn't dare give her any R just in case she's not totally over it. Just gotta wait this one out.
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie PMPS 264

Hi Marje,

Thank goodness Gracie is feeling better today. The pukkies are never any fun for anyone involved.

I really hope you can find someone else to stay with Gracie while you and DH go on your trip. It's so important to have time away; I can't imagine how frustrated and disappointed you felt when she called to cancel. :sad:

Hope Gracie breaks out of the yellows soon!
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie PMPS 264

Hi Marje, so glad that Gracie is doing much better and hoping that you'll see that in her numbers soon. So sorry to hear about the vet tech issues and the incertainty around your anniversary plans. I very much hope that you're able to find a replacement in time or come up with an alternative plan. We've had issues ourselves trying to find a vet tech to help us. There's still time to find someone else. Have you tried searching on Care.com? We did find a pet sitter on that site that we're hopeful may some day be able to help monitor Zeke; she's still working on building Zeke's trust in her but has made great progress already.
 
Re: 3/23 Gracie PMPS 264

SO glad LBG is doing better today, that ondansetron and cerenia combo is like magic! Who cares about those yellow numbers as long as Missy G feels better!

And big bummer on the plans to get away. The last time Liz and I got away was three years ago, just a few months after Zener's diagnosis and one of our vet techs stayed here overnight, tested in the AM and PM and came here at lunch to check on him. We knew nothing about FD then, and he was still eating kibble.

We have paws crossed something works out for you to be able to go. I sure wish we weren't five hours away!

Anne
 
Thanks for the great suggestion, Laura. I guess I have to get to a huge level of comfort to use someone I don't know. It's going to be hard enough to leave her without one of us here.

Wendy...the resort we go to is out in the desert so lots of opportunity for spiders and scorpions so they keep the casitas sprayed monthly and the pesticides build up. It makes me too nervous to take them somewhere that they would be exposed to pesticides.

Looks like someone wants to welcome Daddy home with a late night party.
 
Zener is doing the same thing. He and Gracie are plotting!
 

Attachments

  • pyjama-party.jpg
    pyjama-party.jpg
    80.9 KB · Views: 354
Marje:

I'm so glad Gracie seems to be over her bug. I'm thinking you were a lot more upset by it than she was!

I've been wracking my brains, trying to think if I know anyone in Tucson I could contact for a recommendation. My sister used to foster kitties and dogs for a friend that ran a rescue group out of her home. I'm wondering if that friend would know someone. I'll ask my sister to check with her. As I recall, Kathy's friend was extremely particular about the people that adopted her foster animals, so I'd bet she wouldn't recommend anyone who wasn't completely trustworthy. I'll let you know if I get any leads. Have you asked your vet for any suggestions?

I think it's sweet that Gracie sleeps on Mike's pillow when he's gone. She's keeping it warm for him! :-D
 
I am so glad that Gracie was back to herself yesterday. That episode was very scary.
I hope you are able to find someone that you trust to take care of your babies and you and Mike are able to get away together for a few days!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top