Eddie - Input on Switching to Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Good morning!

By way of (not-so) short introduction, Eddie and I have been here at FDMB for about three months, and have been posting to the PZI board pretty regularly during that time period. I feel sort of traitorous asking about a different insulin. :lol: Eddie was diagnosed in mid-December and we were prescribed ProZinc. Long story short, we've been fairly successful with ProZinc thus far, and had been "earning" reductions rather quickly until about three weeks ago. We went out of town over the weekend, leaving Eddie in the hands of a lovely young vet tech, but we lost a fair amount of ground in that short period of time. Since then, we've gone back up in dose fairly close to a full unit across our sliding scale to try to get back into good cycles. Last night, finally, we seemed to get a better cycle again.

After lots and lots of reading and studying, knowing the successes of the TR protocol, I've been thinking about a switch to Lantus for quite a while, but our recent set back has me thinking about it even more. Losing ground is really disappointing.

Here's what we're doing right now:

We are shooting a sliding scale that was originally developed for Eddie with Carl's awesome assistance. That scale started to get Eddie great cycles. Eddie started having long duration, meaning that he was too low (for ProZinc) to shoot on a 12/12 schedule, so we stalled to shoot and ended up skipping shots fairly regularly. We have experimented with shooting for overlap on the ProZinc with varying degrees of success. Sometimes it works perfectly and we get the right amount of overlap, and sometimes we don't catch it quick enough to stop a huge rise at the end of the cycle. A few times, shooting pre-shots below 200 resulted in crashing. A few weeks ago, we started dipping below 50, and started earning reductions rather quickly. I caught a 30 when I came home from work for lunch one day. nailbite_smile We were down to a scale ranging between 1.4u and 1.8u depending on Eddie's pre-shot numbers. Since coming back from being out of town for a weekend, we worked our way back up to our original scale which ranges between 2.0 and 2.8. We gave up on trying to control the duration of his shot, and shoot (after 8 hours) whenever his numbers warrant. Sometimes that's at 9 hours post-shot, and sometimes it's at 15 hours post-shot.

Here's what we don't like about ProZinc and how it works with Eddie:

It can be harsh. We can get huge drops at times. It's tough to predictably shoot any overlap because the ProZinc can drop him too fast if he's sitting in numbers below 200. Duration is all over the place. Eddie has short cycles lasting 8 hours (or less sometimes), and sometimes he is still too low to shoot after 15 hours. We had an 18 hour long cycle one time. Nadir is all over the place. I can't predict with any degree of reliability when Eddie's nadir is going to be, even after three months, and lots of data/testing. Sometimes it's at +5, and sometimes it's at +10. There are times when I cannot actually tell at AMPS/PMPS whether he's rising or falling compared to his numbers throughout the previous cycle. No protocol. Obviously ProZinc has a general protocol, but that doesn't really work for Eddie. We pretty much wing it most of the time.

Things we like about ProZinc and how it works with Eddie:

Flexibility. We can change the dose as needed, and we can shoot pretty much anytime his numbers warrant. We don't have to wait till +12 to shoot again if Eddie's rising fast at the end of a cycle. I do own a pair of patience pants graciously provided at the start of our journey, but they're balled up in the back of my closet right now. :smile: The ability to adjust dose fairly rapidly works with my lack of patience. Sliding scale. There's a lot of tweaking involved in a sliding scale. We can shoot higher to pull him down off high pre-shots when needed. And of course we love our fellow PZI people (Sue, Deb, BJM, etc.).

Things we like about the idea of switching to Lantus:

A protocol! Obviously no protocol works perfectly for all cats, but having guidelines that say "if this...do this" would be nice. Lantus seems generally less harsh. Generally longer duration than ProZinc. Shoot low to stay low. Being able to safely do this with Lantus has huge appeal for me...using the depot to keep numbers in healthy ranges without huge swings on either end - I know that you can in theory do this with ProZinc as well, but we haven't had a great deal of luck doing that thus far. Obviously the remission rate also has huge appeal.

Things we have questions/concerns about Lantus - TR:

My primary concern with switching is monitoring during the day. I work full time 8-4:30. I am able to come home for about a half hour at lunch time almost every day. In a crisis, DH would probably be able to stop in as well. That said, if Eddie were to be dramatic and go too low during the day, I can get away with calling in or taking a long lunch once in a while, but I cannot do that often. I can usually only get in a test around lunchtime, or if DH gets home a little early, another test in the latter part of the cycle. Nighttime is another story. I'm a night owl, and right now with what we're doing, I'm frequently up at all hours anyway, so that's not a problem. I know Lantus does better at keeping low numbers low than it does pulling down high numbers. ProZinc is probably more effective at that. It's normal for Eddie to be in the 300's at pre-shot (although this varies wildly). Will Lantus have enough oomph to pull him down from those numbers? Finally, since we have had some success on ProZinc, and have been at it doing pretty tight regulation (as tight as we can get it), is it a mistake to pull the plug now and switch, assuming it will take Eddie some time to get into the swing of things with Lantus?

Our vet and our regular vet tech are awesome. They're willing to help us do whatever we want. If we want a script for Lantus, all we have to do is ask, and they'll write it. They prescribe ProZinc to all their diabetics. Our tech was aware of one of their patients who went into remission on ProZinc, went out of remission, and started Lantus, then switched back to ProZinc and went back into remission. Other than that, our tech was not aware of any of their other patients on Lantus. After giving them the info on what we've been doing with ProZinc, they have started to hand out the FDMB ProZinc protocol as developed here, and they also prescribe u100's and a conversion chart for use with ProZinc. How cool is that!?

Thank you for reading my novel and adding input. While I'd feel stupid throwing away a just-opened vial of ProZinc, if it's the right time to switch Eddie to Lantus now, so be it.
 
Hi Jen!

first, just want to say welcome and second, that even if you switch insulins, please feel free to keep up your friendships on the PZI support group! :lol:

you can also consider Lev as an option. I had punkin on Lantus and was very happy with it, but i have been intrigued with how well many cats do on Lev. Just something to consider.

At the top of this pagethere is a link that talks about the differences between those two insulins.

About 5 paragraphs down from the top of Lantus & Lev: Tight Regulation Protocol there is an excellent PDF article that you have to download to read on Management of Diabetic Cats on Long-Lasting Insulins. I think you'll want to print that off for your vet, or send them the link as well. It's the most recent publication of the protocol we use and has some great information on there on many different aspects of managing diabetic cats. I think you'll find it really helpful.

You have good reasons for wanting to try out a different insulin for Eddie. We know that cats feel better when their blood sugar isn't zooming up and down and both Lantus and Lev will be able to hold it flatter for him. When you're ready to switch, let us know and we can help you with a dose to start with. I want to reassure you that many people here work full time and manage to follow the TR protocol. One important tool is a timed feeder. If you don't have one already, they are incredibly helpful. I got the Petsafe 5 Compartment feeder for punkin and felt like it allowed me to feel comfortable when i had to go back to work. The Lev nadir is later than the Lantus nadir - not sure if that would make a difference in your decision. Punkin's nadir on Lantus was pretty consistently at +5.5. I know some cats on Lev have their nadir around the next preshot, but i've heard everywhere from +8 to about +4 of the following cycle. You'll have to relearn everything you know about nadirs! but most people are happy to have the numbers flatter and the cycles longer.

Would you like some Lev spreadsheets to look at? Often our higher dose kitties are on Lev, but there are some "regular" dose kitties on it as well. The first one that comes to mind is Marge/Gracie, but i can find you others if you'd like.

Please ask as many questions as you have, we're happy to help you sort through the decision.
 
Hi, Jen and welcome.

I'll do my best to answer some of your questions and I suspect that some of the folks who have switche from ProZinc to Lantus will also chime in.

First and foremost let me underscore that Lantus is by no means a "perfect" insulin for every cat. It really sounds like you've done a great deal of reading and research already, which is great! The reading tends to focus on the theoretical -- how Lantus should work. The practical rejoinder is that every cat is different (ECID) and while some kitties have a textbook response, not all do.

Ideally, a Lantus cycle is flat. I have a kitty who would take issue with that given that she likes fast, early dives. That doesn't occur all of the time but if you're anticipating that Eddie's cycles will immediately flatten out, you might be disappointed. Many cats go through periods of bouncing before their cycles flatten out and some cats never seem to lose their ability to bounce.
Things we have questions/concerns about Lantus - TR:

My primary concern with switching is monitoring during the day. I work full time 8-4:30. I am able to come home for about a half hour at lunch time almost every day. In a crisis, DH would probably be able to stop in as well. That said, if Eddie were to be dramatic and go too low during the day, I can get away with calling in or taking a long lunch once in a while, but I cannot do that often. I can usually only get in a test around lunchtime, or if DH gets home a little early, another test in the latter part of the cycle. Nighttime is another story. I'm a night owl, and right now with what we're doing, I'm frequently up at all hours anyway, so that's not a problem. I know Lantus does better at keeping low numbers low than it does pulling down high numbers. ProZinc is probably more effective at that. It's normal for Eddie to be in the 300's at pre-shot (although this varies wildly). Will Lantus have enough oomph to pull him down from those numbers? Finally, since we have had some success on ProZinc, and have been at it doing pretty tight regulation (as tight as we can get it), is it a mistake to pull the plug now and switch, assuming it will take Eddie some time to get into the swing of things with Lantus?

If you can get a spot check during the day, that would be wonderful. Many people who are gone the better part of a day use a timed feeder to make sure there is food available should numbers drop. I've arranged my shot time so I can get some early tests but beyond that, I'm gone the better part of the day. There are lots of people here who have challenging schedules.

As far as Lantus having enough "oomph" to pull numbers down, in theory, yes. However, Eddie and his pancreas are the only ones who will know that for sure. Gabby has dropped from he 400s to the 40s on Lantus (although not in a long time). You might want to look at several of our spreadsheets to get an idea of how kitties respond to Lantus. Obviously, a lot may depend on how people are following TR, how long their cat has been diabetic, and a host of other issues but it will give you a sense of what our SSs look like.

The hardest part of a switch, IMHO, is your thinking differently about how your are dosing. ProZinc dose is based on the pre-shot numbers. With Lantus, dosing is based on the nadir. You don't have the same flexibility with making changes in dose at every shot. Because Lantus is a depot-type of insulin, each dose needs to stabilize before you can evaluate it's effectiveness.
 
Wow! Thank you Julie and Sienne for your kind and thoughtful responses.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
first, just want to say welcome and second, that even if you switch insulins, please feel free to keep up your friendships on the PZI support group! :lol:

Oh definitely! :smile: There's not a lot of us regularly posting on the PZI boards, and probably even fewer willing to give dose advise. I haven't been at this real long, but I do attempt to help with dosing questions when I can, based on my experience with Eddie, and I would continue to do so. :smile:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
At the top of this pagethere is a link that talks about the differences between those two insulins.

I hadn't really considered Lev, but most of the advantages I see with Lantus also apply to Levemir. I haven't spent a lot of time studying that as an option, but I do think that's also worth looking into. Thank you for pointing out the link describing the differences. Somehow, I actually ran across that study you pointed out yesterday in fact and had skimmed through it. :smile: If I read correctly, this is the first data I've seen actually comparing remission rates between the insulins. As far as I'm aware, while there's a fair amount of data regarding the effectiveness of ProZinc in controlling clinical symptoms, there really has not been any studies specifically looking at remission. Next time I speak with our vet tech, I will definitely pass along this info.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
If you don't have one already, they are incredibly helpful. I got the Petsafe 5 Compartment feeder for punkin and felt like it allowed me to feel comfortable when i had to go back to work.

We do have timed feeders -- three of them in fact. We used them with our recent weekend away, and they seemed to work great. One of our civilians refuses to eat if its a stranger feeding her, so the feeders were really for her benefit. :smile:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
The Lev nadir is later than the Lantus nadir - not sure if that would make a difference in your decision.

It is kind of mind-boggling that the nadir for the last dose might not occur until the middle of the next cycle. As long as I had a reasonable chance of being able to "catch" the nadir, when it happens probably doesn't matter too much.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
Would you like some Lev spreadsheets to look at?

Yes! I'm a nerd and spreadsheets are fascinating to me. I study them all regardless of the type of insulin! :smile:

Thank you again for your input, Julie!

Sienne and Gabby said:
That doesn't occur all of the time but if you're anticipating that Eddie's cycles will immediately flatten out, you might be disappointed. Many cats go through periods of bouncing before their cycles flatten out and some cats never seem to lose their ability to bounce.

Thank you for pointing this out. Is it safe to assume that there really is no difference in bouncing comparing insulins? Eddie liked to bounce sometimes for up to two cycles when we first started having good numbers. A couple weeks ago, his bouncing had dramatically improved, and he was clearing bouncy pre-shots pretty easily. Seems as of late we seem to be back to high-flat bounce cycles. Strangely enough, I don't see a lot of the high flat cycles in the PZI kitties that are currently posting regularly, other than with Eddie. High pre-shots seem to be more common. I definitely get that bouncing is part of "life with FD." Just curious if there was any evidence that bouncing is better or worse (anecdotal or otherwise) with one insulin versus another.

Part of the appeal with the L insulins is that at least "in theory" you can get those flat cycles, whereas with ProZinc it seems to be a heck of a lot more challenging to accomplish that. Eddie has been known to surf, and he often surfs at what should be the end of his cycle, so I guess my hope is that whatever physiological mechanism is at work that allows him to do that at times will maybe translate well to a depot insulin.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Many people who are gone the better part of a day use a timed feeder to make sure there is food available should numbers drop. I've arranged my shot time so I can get some early tests but beyond that, I'm gone the better part of the day. There are lots of people here who have challenging schedules.

This is a possibility for us. We've actually started to move our morning shot time earlier to allow time to stall if Eddie's surfing, so that would probably work to catch some of those early cycle numbers. Strangely enough, a 12/12 schedule works pretty good for us, but Eddie's cycles are not fitting very nicely into that pattern. ;-)

Sienne and Gabby said:
You might want to look at several of our spreadsheets to get an idea of how kitties respond to Lantus.

I will definitely study some more Lantus spreadsheets. When we first joined, I read pretty much everything that was posted, and studied a lot of spreadsheets. I do peek in on Lantus and Lev kitty condos fairly frequently as well, and will start doing so more now. :smile:

Sienne and Gabby said:
The hardest part of a switch, IMHO, is your thinking differently about how your are dosing. ProZinc dose is based on the pre-shot numbers. With Lantus, dosing is based on the nadir. You don't have the same flexibility with making changes in dose at every shot. Because Lantus is a depot-type of insulin, each dose needs to stabilize before you can evaluate it's effectiveness.

I'm comfortable with the concept of dosing based on nadir, but I'm still wrapping my head around the concept of the depot. :smile:

Thank you so much Sienne!

I don't know if this is a question that anyone would be able to answer or not, but is there anything that I've said about Eddie or if you even have a chance to peak at his SS that would make L/L look like not such a good option? Or anyone who has switched from ProZinc - issues that were encountered during the switch? Things that were good/bad comparing the two types of insulin?

Thank you all again! I hope you will all forgive my epic response!
 
i can't think of anyone that didn't like the switch to an L insulin. Ruby went OTJ very quickly after the switch. i'll get her ss for you - but i have to use a different computer. same with the other spreadsheets.

Some cats seem to want to stay bouncy, but many will make progress once a person gets to a high enough dose. There are some food "tricks" that can help some cats improve on it. you just keep on trying and hope that they stop.

when i get back online tonight i'll pull the spreadsheets for you.
 
Hi Jen and Eddie. I am one of the Levemir users here - I used Lantus until September last year (after starting on Caninsulin :roll: ). Julie mentioned Lev as an option. It generally has an onset of around +4 and nadir around +8 so you have to decide if that will work with your schedule. My Neko doesn't like to be normal so she is one of those who sometimes has even later nadirs, even into the next cycle a couple of hours. I just think of it as moving the goal posts a bit down the time scale. If you like looking at spreadsheets, Libby switched Hershey from Prozinc to Lev in mid June of 2012. He had quite a dramatic reaction to Levemir right away, which is why we usually recommend a smaller dose of the L insulins to start. Most of the other Prozinc to Lev spreadsheets are for cats who (or were) higher dose cats so not sure how useful those would be for you. If you want, I can dig some up.

With Lantus, and to some extent Levemir, we find the +2 test is very helpful for a lot of cats in giving us a hint what the cycle will look like. If you can arrange to shoot when you get up and then leave the house after +2, then you can decide whether you leave low, medium, or high carb food in that autofeeder.
 
Thank you Julie and Wendy! The more spreadsheets, the better. :lol:

Wendy - I stare at gorgeous Neko's picture every time I see a post from you. :-D We had been shooting around 6/6, which gave us about a 2 hour window between shot time and the time I had to be out the door for work. We just moved back our shot time to 5/5 (as much as Eddie's cycles will cooperate), so that would give us an opportunity to get some of those early tests. It is nice that you can get an idea about what might happen during a cycle if there's a drop by +2. It's sort of the same with ProZinc - at least with Eddie. Currently, I know it's going to be a big drop and an exciting cycle if Eddie's going down by +2.
 
Here's one more SS from a high dose kitty that switched from Prozinc to Levemir. Lu-Ann/Grayson was swimming in a sea of pinks on Prozinc but got much higher dose on Levemir, switched starting end of May 2012. He is also Acro/IAA like Neko and had radiation therapy (just 3 weeks before Neko) and is now on a much lower dose.

The one fun thing about Levemir is that for those kitties who choose to nadir quite late, you can end up shooting some quite low numbers as nadir may be at PS time. The lowest I've done is a 54. :shock: After delaying when I saw a 50. :shock: :shock: We have a motto here that you shoot low to stay low (once you have to data to do so of course), because if you start low, you don't tend to get the same drops as you do when starting higher.
 
Just got finished studying Hershey's SS - fascinating!! I've got about 20 spreadsheets open in my browser studying in between checking Eddie. :-D
 
Most of the cats who use Lev that come to my mind are the high dose kitties. Many switch if their cat is diagnosed with a high dose condition because Lantus has an acid ph, and if you're injecting larger quantities, it can sting some cats. i kept punkin on it and he never reacted - we got up to 15.5u. but even some cats at smaller doses react to it - marje's gracie, for example, flinched with lantus.

The ones below are all not high dose kitties, so perhaps they might be helpful to you in that perspective.

Before you get super excited about the spreadsheets i've linked below, let me just say that i took most of them off our OTJ list, because i started there looking for Amy's Ruby, who i remembered had switched from PZI to Lantus. So . . . all of these except for Marje's Gracie and Jill's Alex are OTJ. Not every cat gets there - it was just the list i was looking at.

Amy's Ruby (Amy switched from PZI to Lantus and Ruby went OTJ fairly quickly.

Laurie's Mr Tinkle (Laurie switched from PZI to Lantus)

CD's Big Mac on Lev

Marje's Gracie on Lantus then Lev

Jill's Alex on lantus then lev

Sue

Susan's Sammy

Linda's Scooter (first Lantus, then NPH, then Lev)

have fun!
 
Well, we're biting the bullet! I spoke with our vet today who looked over Eddie's SS and was in agreement that Lantus may work better for him than ProZinc, and we'll be picking up his prescription before shot time this evening. She's familiar with TR, and I think that's the route we're going to start with.

I believe I read that there is no need to skip a cycle when switching from ProZinc to Lantus? If so, is there any reason not to start him with tonight's shot?

Our vet recommended a 1.5u starting dose if we were comfortable with half unit marks (which we are since we have u100's with 1/2 unit markings), or otherwise, to start at 1u. Does this sound about right? Eddie's been on ProZinc for about 3.5 months now, and has cycles that are pretty much all over the place, but ballpark, we're at around 2.2 units or so. He weighs about 13.5 pounds, which is a good healthy weight for him.

I apologize in advance as Eddie and I are probably going to need some hand-holding at first as we learn this new insulin.

Thank you!!
 
Hi Jen, looking forward to seeing you and Eddie more often here. :-D The 1.5U dose sounds about right. We start at .25U per kg of weight (divide lbs by 2.2). And 1.5 is also .7 of his current Prozinc dose - we do like to consider the current insulin dose. Since Prozinc is an in and out insulin, you can do Prozinc in the morning and Lantus at night. Although Lantus as a depot insulin means you hold the first dose for 5-7 days (unless he earns a deduction), sometimes people see more action initially, so we recommend monitoring closely the first few days. But it could also be completely boring until the depot is built so you'll get to learn patience if you don't have it already. :lol:

Feel free to start a condo here tonight with his numbers. You definitely test enough for TR and are more than welcome here. I'm guessing you've already read the sticky notes at the top of the forum. It's great you are starting on a weekend so you can watch him, and there's likely to be more people on the board too.
 
Perfect! Thank you Wendy!

I'll post Eddie's condo starting with his PMPS. Looking forward to jumping in and joining Lantus Land. :-D
 
Hi Jen & Eddie,
Rusty was switched from Lantus to Levemir before he came to live with us, so I don't have experience with the switch. But I do have experience with Lantus (with Stu, my previous diabetic kitty, who was switched to Lantus when PZI Vet was discontinued; so I have been involved in switches and just wanted to say that it is not so daunting.) You just have to appreciate that the different insulins have their idiosyncrasies and that there is no way to really predict how a particular cat will react, since every cat is different (ECID). That said, I like Levemir for its later onset and often later nadir.

Rusty is a long-term diabetic and is a "normal" dose kitty. Feel free to look at his SS.

Good luck with whatever decisions you decide to make. Everyone here is happy to help.

Ella & Rusty
 
HI, Jen & Eddy

Blackie is also another low dose kitty. In the beginning she was on ProZinc before I switched her to Lantus back in 2010, and she's been on it ever since. The highest amount that she's ever gotten with the Lantus was 5.25u. We've gone down, and then came back up again to 3.25, and was on that amount for quite some time before coming back down again. After some experimenting with food, she's been coming down on her own since that point. Since then, I've been maintaining and watching her weight, and just allowing her to tell me when she wants a dose adjustment.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top