4/2 Eeyore +5 82, +88 *Stalling, PMPS 50, now +12.75 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Eeyore

Member Since 2014
Previous Condo

Eeyore is having another great day!!(hope I didn't just jinx it!) Either the fact that I moved his evening meal to be more aligned with his pre-shot and insulin, or he was headed towards green pastures anyway, E has been doing well! His little ears are sore from all the increased testing the past few days so I tried not to go too crazy today, but still tried to get a range of time frames to keep an eye on him.
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88

Looking good Eeyore! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Great job Melanie. :-D :-D So considerate of him to bounce at night so you can sleep. :lol:
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88

He is looking awesome!!! It is nice to be able to give them a pokey break once in awhile. I hope you see more great numbers this evening!
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88

are you using neosporin with pain relief on his ears? the stuff works miracles - i used to slather it on punkin's ears every night when we were done poking, and by morning they were healed.

i don't know what's improved his BGs either, but WOWSER, keep it up! i wouldn't be surprised if it was changing his food to work better with the insulin shot time. we know the best results are usually feeding when the insulin is the strongest in the first half of the cycle in most cats.
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88 PMPS 50!

Help!

Eeyore's PMPS was 50. Should I NOT give his insulin or just hold off?? I just put his food down for him to eat dinner
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88 PMPS 50!

Wow at the PM bg reading, Melanie! We just went through a similar situation tonight with Jersey, so I feel for you. I don't think many of the dose advisors are around on Wednesday evenings. Hopefully someone with more experience than I have will stop by and offer you some dosing advice. In the meantime, it's my understanding that it is generally recommended that we do not shoot at 50.
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88 PMPS 50!

I'm re-reading the sticky on what to do with low preshots and it say 50 or below hold off for a little while, but should I not feed him either? He will be very upset about that haha
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88 PMPS 50!

Hey Melanie,

When you're stalling, you should not feed. If Eeyore has already eaten, that may throw off your next bg check. You may want to change your subject line to draw more attention to your condo. I used "Stalling - Jersey PMPG...." in my subject line earlier.

I'm so sorry I can't help you more.
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88 *Stalling, PMPS

I had initially put Eeyore's food down for him but once I started re-reading the sticky about low numbers, I picked it back up so he didn't eat very much. Hopefully the little he did eat won't mess with his numbers too much?
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88 *Stalling, PMPS

Wow, Eeyore does like to work the juice for a full 12 hours! Shelly is right...when you are stalling, you don't want to feed because you want to know exactly what sort of number you are working with. That 50 is right on the cusp of what I consider to be a shootable number, and it's right on the edge of earning a reduction, too.

ETA...I'm sure a little won't influence his numbers greatly.
 
Re: 4/2 Eeyore AMPS 190, +2.5 76, +5 82, +88 *Stalling, PMPS

Wow! Way to work that juice Eeyore. :shock: Could you update us with a +12.5 reading when you get it?
 
What do you feel like doing tonight Melanie? Do you have plenty of strips, high carb food and are able to monitor tonight? Can you delay the shot by 3/4 an hour and still shoot 3/4 an hour later tomorrow morning?

You options are to shoot the full 1.75 dose since he didn't technically gone under 50, shoot a reduced dose of 1.5 since he's close, shoot an even smaller dose, delay some more to see if he'll keep coming up, or skip.
 
SHOOT!!! Way to go Melanie. :thumbup Paws crossed for some nice solid surfing tonight. I'd get a +1 and a +2 to see where he's going. If you are nervous at all, a +.5 is an option.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top