0.25 TO 0.50???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
Mom=mom's dose++++++++++++++ has been moved yesterday from 1.00 to 0.25. I have had "hi" readings both tests although this morning it was at a 447. Maybe make another change to 0.50?? Maybe the 0.25 was just a little too much of a cut. The vet originally it was a 0.50. Should I go back to that? I can not keep testing 6 times a day because she literally runs from me and hides. Which makes me so VERY sad. I have had her since since she was a kitten. Any advice ?????
 
Hello.
I had to go back and read yesterday's condo.

I see they all asked you to go to 0.25 u for now and hold it.
Let's give it time to see how it goes. You generally hold a dose for 6 cycles .... each day is 2 cycles.... morning cycle and evening cycle....

So stick with 0.25u for now.
The depot needs to stabilize and be consistent so it can be determined whether or not Mom-Mom will need more.
I know it's hard not to react to current numbers. It's a lot to learn all at once.
Lantus is different than the usual animal insulins. And it takes several cycles to see where it going.
 
Here is your last post. This is really hard, to keep giving the same dose when they bounce high but it's the right thing to do. You have to pull on your patience pants and wait this bounce out. Julie and Marje give the best advice and will encourage you to increase the dose when warranted. If they are saying to hold the dose at 0.25u, then that's what you should do. Marje is known as the Borg Queen because resistance is futile. :lol: :lol: You are doing a SUPER job of taking care of Mom Mom. I'm sending you a big hug.
Liz
 
hi laura!

boy i understand you wanting to increase the dose, because seeing HI can be really discouraging. Before you do, though, let's talk about some stuff.


1. Can you clarify a couple of things on the spreadsheet for me? when i open it, for last night at +4, it says "-1", like negative one. then tonight at +3 it looks like it says "111."

Was it really 111, or is that maybe a typo? what about last night?

2. What's your strip situation now? Part of our call on reducing to 0.25u was because you only had a couple of strips left. i know you've got some more now, but about how many? 50, 100? and you expect more in another week, is that right?
 
Laura

I agree with Julie that we need to be sure Mom-Mom did not drop down to blue or green last night or today and what your strip situation is.

Also...how is Mom-Mom acting?
 
Thank you so much for asking. I did get strips, first my husband brang home a box of 20, then my friend bought me a box of 50 plus, I received my Amazon package of 100. I am so relieved. Thank you everyone for the concern, especially BJM who was going to actually PAY for them for me.
 
Morning guys

You need to make sure that your doses are consistently the same amount at each time every day for a little while in order for the insulin to work properly, and for the shed to build up in the body. Yes, you're going to experience a lot of bouncing, and it's normal to see. As you go up in doses over time, you'll notice that the #s will improve, and will come down. Nobody will steer you wrong, and will always be here to help you with regards to dose increases, etc. Never be afraid to ask for help. That's what this board is for.

This all takes a lot of patience. You can experiment with different foods, feeding schedules, and food amounts to help maintain your kitty's weight. Feline diabetes is experimenting to see what works, and what doesn't in order to control those high #s, and bring them down. Eventually, you'll find something that'll work, and stick with it. Just takes a lot of time, and a whole lot of patience.

Hang in there. It WILL happen, and please don't feel too discouraged. We've all been where you're at, and there are times we old timers get discouraged now and then, too. :lol:
 
Hi, Laura --

Sorry I haven't dropped by more often. I'm in the process of moving and I've been a bit preoccupied with getting settled in a new city.

I'm not sure you saw Julie's note above. On your spreadsheet, the value for PM +4 on 4/6 is "-1" which is impossible. Could you please go back and correct that number?

I agree with what the others have been telling you. Mom Mom is bouncing. Given the very low numbers and the symptomatic hypoglycemic episode, I know I'd like to see just how your kitty does on a reduced dose. From what it looks like, Mom Mom's numbers were coming down nicely last night. It can take several days for the bounces to clear. You need to be able to evaluate the effectiveness of any given dose once the bounce clears.
 
I sent a pm to the webmaster because someone put a 1111 on +6 last night as well. I did not do that. This is DEFINATELY not a game to me. I dont have the answer to that. I will take it out now.
 
You should be the only one that can edit your spreadsheet. Did you publish it using the instructions on this site? I know when I publish on my a google drive app it gives the option for those who can see it to also be able to edit it. If that happened, I'm sure it wasn't malicious. Just check your spreadsheet settings so that everyone else can view only, not edit.
 
Hey Laura,

I see you have a shot with Mom-Mom at 129 this morning. That's a great pre-shot, but the lowest you've shot so far. Can you grab a couple of early tests, a +1 and +2 to see how she's responding and make sure she doesn't fall too low?

Also, you'll notice a lot of our subject lines look the same. It's a great way for people to scroll down the main page and see how a cat is doing without having to go into their spreadsheet every time. For example, yours today would look like this: "4/9 Mom-Mom AMPS 129." Then the people who are following you and helping to advise will see what you're shooting. If you're unsure you could make it "4/9 Mom-Mom AMPS 129 SHOOTING LOW." Then it will catch someone's eye and they'll pop in to help!

~Suzanne
 
I am not really sure how to check that but every time I post I hit File, then share, then a box comes up, it says everyone can view and then on the bottom of that it says my name and owner? Them I hit the blue button that says done. I am not saying it was malicious but it happened 2 times. What am I supposed to think? How can I tell if I am the only one who can edit the spreadsheet?
 
I popped in and tried to click in it to see if it was able to be edited from my phone and it won't let me. It could just be a glitch? You know computers. :roll: I wouldn't worry about it. Just double check the numbers when you do go into it. If something looks odd to someone looking at it, we'll bring it to your attention. :smile:
 
I am not sure where to post so I am posting on both. I was told to regulate mom-moms Lantus from 1.00 to 0.25 and I did but her numbers are dropping fast. She went from 129 at 9:45am to 75 at 11am. Isnt this a little fast?
 
Hi Laura!

I tried on my computer and no, we can't edit your spreadsheet. Computers and their glitches!! Google occasionally gets wonky on me too.

When you click on the blue SHARE (at the top right), you should get a new little pop up that says "Who has access" and the first choice is "anyone with the link can view" and the next one is "Your name here and email addy" is Owner

Looks like the +1 was 75 and that's a pretty good drop. Did Mom Mom eat good this morning? Hopefully the food will kick in soon and bring her back up some before the Lantus really kicks in. You'll want to stay close by though to retest for awhile though.

Please go back to the first post here and "edit" the subject line to say "4/8 Mom Mom AMPS 129,+1 75"...As you get new tests in, go back and edit it again to add the +2, +4, etc...whenever you get another test in. If she drops below 50, you can add the 911 icon to get someone's help quickly if you need it and then remove it when the "emergency" is over.

Good luck today Laura! Looks like holding the .25 was a very good decision!!
 
Ok Thanks to all of you. I am gonna retest in 2 hours because she just ate (again), she also ate at 7:30
 
Laura, I'd go ahead and get a +2

We don't want her to continue dropping too much more!

Please go ahead and edit your subject line so we can keep track of her today. We just want to keep her safe
 
Pancake syrup is fine...I use it with China

Just retest in about 15 minutes and please update your subject line so people can keep up
 
If you have some high carb cat food, that would be best. I use the "Gravy Lovers" foods from Fancy Feast, but any of the "gravy" foods is good. You want to try to give just the gravy part since that's where the carbs are (IF she drops below 50)

You don't want to panic and feed too much too fast either. We may need her to eat for awhile, so we don't want to fill her up all at one time, so keep it to about a teaspoon at a time.

If we can keep her above 50 on low carb, that's best, but if she drops below 50, you'd want to give a teaspoon of High Carb gravy or add a couple of drops of syrup to a teaspoon of her regular low carb food and retest in about 20 minutes

She NOT in any danger at this point! 56 needs to be kept track of, but nothing needs to be done right now. Even if she drops to the 40's, we just "feed the forties" and keep testing!
 
Its 12:07 I am going to test again at 1pm.. In the meantime I am not letting her out of my sight. She actually looks a lot better since I squirted 1/2 tsp of orange juice in her mouth. If she goes lower again. I do have syrup AND I have brown gravy. Which is better?
 
Laura, it is vital that you keep testing Mom-Mom. This is new territory for her.
You can't tell by watching her that her blood glucose is OK.
Absence of symptoms does not mean absence of hypo.

If it were my cat I'd be testing every 15 minutes at this stage....
 
Do you not have any high carb cat food??

As long as she doesn't drop below 50, please try to relax. Keep testing every 15-20 minutes but don't feed anymore for now..and no more orange juice either

Orange Juice may work, but it's got a pure sugar and will wear off quickly...and cats don't need orange juice in their diet..it's awfully acidic!!

IF you get a test below 50, (and don't have any high carb cat food like the Gravy Lovers), give her 1 teaspoon of her low carb food with a couple of drops of syrup in it and then no more food until the next test, about 15-20 minutes later.

We want her to get into at least the high 60's/low 70's and then hopefully STAY there (surf), but you'll need to keep testing until she's stayed above 50 for at least 2 hours since she's had ANY food

Take some time now to edit your post today please! Then read through this How to handle low numbers. We strongly suggest having that printed out and on your refrigerator or in your hypo kit (which it sounds like you may need to put together). There are times when the board gives us trouble, and if we can't get online, you'll need to have this where you can find it.
 
Since I gave her the orange juice she has eaten some more canned food. Now she is an 84. I couldnt wait until 1pm. I feel better now. Thanks everyone for being there
 
Okey dokey.

Be aware though, Laura, that the sugar you've given Mom-Mom will wear off fairly quickly, and the numbers can drop again.

There's quite a while to go before the peak of the cycle. And we know that Mom-Mom can also drop quite late in the cycle too.
So it's important to remain vigilant.

Keep testing. Mom-Mom needs you to keep a close eye on her during this cycle.
 
I will keep testing. And believe me, she not out of my sight, even bring her to the bathroom with me LOL
 
BJM said:
From her post on Health:
Mom-Mom said:
She was 84 at 12:30 and still holding at 84 at 12:55.

Thanks, BJ!
(Just need to work out how long post-shot that is. These different time zones really mess with my head! @-) )

My concern is that Mom-Mom has previously dropped a lot late on in the cycle on occasion, so I think we need to watch out for that possibility...
 
I think she normally shoots at 8am but yesterday's shot time was 10/10 according to her posts. Not sure if she just went back to 8am today.
 
Laura

Please do not give Mom-Mom orange juice. It isn't good for cats. Pancake syrup is a much better alternative.

After you enter a number in the SS, you do not need to do anything else. It should be updating automatically so you don't need to save it, share it, or any other option. Just fill in the number. If it doesn't update correctly where we can see it, then you don't have the settings right and i can fix that for you if you will PM me.

I'm glad we held the dose, aren't you :-D :-D
 
Yes I am glad we did ( you guys did) adjusted the dose. I just hope she stays normal. I just came home from the doctor because I have a bubble on my finger. I dont even think sometimes. Here its from the lancet because I dont use a cotton ball. The doctor tried to draw it out with a needle but it didnt help. for now I have to soak it and put the creams on at night. DUH!!! I feel so stupid
 
No I stayed at 10 for today but I am doing it 15 minutes early every day until I get back to 8am - 8pm. I am very much an early bird, I am sleeping by 9 at the latest. It was hard to stay awake for me
 
she is at 108 and Thank God because I cant test again until later on, my hand hurts sooo bad. So thats a good reading isnt it? 108? at 4:30pm
 
If it has been more than 7 hours, I think you're doing great.

I fold a piece of toilet tissue into 8ths and put that under the ear so I can brace it without stabbing myself ... which I've done on more than one occasion!
 
You're doing a great job, Laura!
(And I'm so sorry about your poor hand... :sad: )

Can I just suggest that you check with the folks on this forum before giving the next shot? (I think that low pre-shot number today surprised all of us! :shock: )

If the next preshot number is low then it may even be advisable to give no shot at all.
Do be guided by the folks here. And if in doubt, ask, ask, ask!

I hope your hand is better soon!

Eliz
 
The "no shot" idea is now out the window and I am a little confused because it was 108 just 3 hours ago and now it is 357. Should I just stick to the 0.25 at 10pm? Someone please let me know ASAP. Thank you all very much for your help and support. I really appreciate the great advice you have all so willing shared with me. I would never have gotten this far if not for this group. Hope to hear from someone soon.
 
Thanks to Amy and Elizabeth for pitch hitting for me while I took DM to the doctor!

That's one of the things I love about this message board!!

Looks like Mom-mom is bouncing again. Not too surprised to see that icky pink number at +9

When's your PMPS shot Laura? How many hours away? Telling us a specific time, like 10pm doesn't help unless you also tell us what time zone you're in.
 
I would stick with the same dose. Mom-Mom showed you what she can do on it. She is bouncing. It is completely normal, albeit incredibly frustrating. It can take 3 days to clear a bounce. Her liver kicked in and released counter-regulatory hormones to bring the blood glucose up because it was lower than it is used to. Don't worry. It's normal.

You did great today. Now is when you have to have a lot of patience!

~Suzanne
 
Chris & China said:
When's your PMPS shot Laura? How many hours away? Telling us a specific time, like 10pm doesn't help unless you also tell us what time zone you're in.

Looks like Pennsylvania. Two hours from now would be shot time.
 
Drat on the bounce but you can shoot like an hour earlier since she's so high. That will help you with moving your shot time. Have you tried a warm compress on your finger?
Liz
 
She is at 466. Ann had mentioned that I could shoot an hour an hour early because of the rising numbers? Can I do that? If so, should I stick to the 0.25 right? Please let me know ASAP. Im running scared again.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart, all of you
Laura
 
Liz, to your question about the warm water for my finger, yes I am. I also have an anti-fungal cream for it Whatever it is I have it on my face too. Right in the middle of my face on the left side. The doctor thinks its some kind of fungus from the cat (how dare her), anyway, I was only gonna just keep putting neosporin on it. Anyway, Im gonna test again right now. She ate a few minutes ago, then she is getting her shot. Wish my baby luck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top