4/25 Cobb PMPS 178 +2 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Wendy and Julie, my skills are just a testament to my teachers. :smile: Pay attention and learn quickly I do. :lol:

We are back in blue this morning. Glad to see it.

Cobb's appetite seems to be leveling off a bit more. I think yesterday he ate 1.5 cans. So he's cutting back to what he should be eating. He isn't stalking his food bowl, or waiting at the door at shot time.

Last night I climbed into bed to find our furry friend IN MY SPOT! How rude! I was able to scoot him over a few inches and he stayed to get some love. He scampered away when the doorbell rang (and woke the baby) and then I didn't see him again after the phone rang (and woke the baby again). Smh... :evil:

Anyway, yay! It's Friday!! It's going to be 82 here tomorrow...ahhhhh! And the cover is coming off the pool. Sadly not warm enough to get in yet. I missed most of last year's pool season with a newborn, so I can't wait to get in!

Happy Friday!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 4/25 Cobb AMPS 199

Hi guys .. I'm glad to hear cobbs appy is leveling off .. and I'm happy to see a nice blue start as well! Wow, 82? We hit 60 for the first time in 6 months two weeks ago and it's been downhill ever since :sad: have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/25 Cobb AMPS 199

I can only tell you my experience (I wish there were more examples. . .)

We had one paper on IAA to refer to - this one and it is for humans. The last paragraph begins with "When insulin sensitivity returns it can happen quite suddenly". I kept that front and center of my mind.

BK had a lump, which was about the size of a large marble, removed from the back of his neck on 10/23/2008 - thankfully it was benign.
While he was under the vet took the opportunity to get a good look inside his mouth - it was a total wreck - way beyond what she felt comfortable addressing.
Among the wreckage she saw the remains of a molar that appeared to be easily removed, which she did. She recommended a veterinary dental specialist for the rest.

It was then that the changes started. BK was at his highest Lantus dose at the time, 13.5u and I was using R liberally.

10/30, one week later, I did not use any R the entire AM and PM cycles - a first - and we went 4 days in a row with no R -- this was huge, particularly since was using very high R doses at the time.

11/03 which was day 5 of no R and less than 2 weeks after the fragment was removed, BK threw a 47 at AM+11.75 and we did our first BCS. I have a remark on his ss that day that reads "IAA seems to be breaking - uncharted territory - playing it safe."

11/04 he had his first Lantus reduction, down to 13u. He was in a holding pattern until his 1st major dental on 12/03 after which the crazy wild ride down started.

So, if you observe insulin sensitivity returning proceed with caution. I believe that is the key - the return of insulin sensitivity.
 
Re: 4/25 Cobb AMPS 199

Nice to see Cobb back in the blues!! Just barely, but that one point is all that counts!...LOL

No advice from me on the insulin sensitivity though

Good luck Suzanne...hopefully the dental helped enough to at least get him using less insulin and keeping better numbers!

When's the pool party??
 
Re: 4/25 Cobb AMPS 199 +9.25 170

A blue day, how nice! :-D :-D Joining you in bed - even better. :cool: Even if he was a bed hog. :lol:

Neko's also an example of IAA, but the picture is confused by the addition of acromegaly. Like BK, she seemed to show more sensitivity to insulin after she first went below 50 (Aug 1, 2012). Two days after that we hit the road for Colorado for SRT. I started having to lower her dose August 10th just to have a safe road trip home. She held that reduction. Following the trip, we had an interesting 3 months of reductions. I started taking reductions when she went below 70, as there seemed to be a lot of continual downward pressure. I have no idea whether we started to break the IAA, the SRT was effective right away (unusual according to the CSU folks), or both.

I went back to reductions under 50 when we got below 4 units, but I'd also reduce if she was taking a lot of HC to keep her up. As Sandy said, proceed with caution at that point and find what works for you and keeps Cobb safe. I never gave any BCS shots, but I was "lucky" that she never gave me any green preshots until we were down to 3.25U.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top