Re: 4/30 Max Dosecrease AMPS 305+3=347+5=299
tiffmaxee wrote:
I swear they put something to attract cats in ff.
They DO. :mrgreen:
I know for a fact that the reason the cats all love the kitty crack kibble made by Purina is because they saturate and then pour their Forta Flora product all over it. Many people use Forta Flora to get inappetent cats to eat.
FF is made by Purina.
Does Max like the powder, Forta Flora? If so, you might try mixing a little bit, (like 1/4 pkg)) of it into the pate food that you want him to eat.
Or, I haven't looked at the FD or CKD lists lately, is there any other cat food made by Purina that is low in phosphorus but also is LC? :roll:
On the dosecrease of 2.25u for Max.. when I went up the insulin dosing scale with Rocky I felt like I had failed him, and I even started to cry and wondered if I had done him compassionate service by rescuing him from DKA...You see my friend had been fostering him and she let him get this sick, and then she went on vacation and left him with me. She never took him to the vet but told me that she thought he might be diabetic and she was going "put him down" when she got back from Hawaii.. It broke my heart. I couldn't believe this super tame cat who got tapped during a T-N-R one night was going to be killed all because my friend had stuffed him like a pig from the all-you-can-eat Meow Mix buffet..it was really bad, she had even been feeding him the CANNED meow mix when he stopped eating the dry kibble. ohmygod_smile That Meow Mix stuff is mainly bird food, you know, right? The first 3 ingredients are like, corn, more corn, and even more corn. (And cats LOVE THE CARBS! :thumbup ) Because I have little money, I mix a small amount of Meow Mix that I am sometimes given as a donation w/ a higher protein food to feed my ferals colonies. Guess who are the first ones to the dry feeding bowls?
THE BIRDS!!!
Anyway, I took Rocky to the emergency room because I could not stand to see him suffer. That's how he came to be in my care. I went into
major debt for him.
From the point I brought him home from the hospital his BG continued to go up. He was in the hospital for so long. I'll have to go back and check my records but I think he was there for like 14 days...However, the vets fell in love with Rocky and the last 5 days they kept him there as a "medical board" because even they could not decide on what a good insulin dose would be for Rocky so they wanted to continue to monitor him.
I got a pleasant surprise after giving him the increased insulin doses.. I hope the dose increase works as well for Max and that you start to see some lower numbers. I'm not sure why but I have hunch that you might see lower numbers from Max if you could find a food lower in phosphorus to feed him as well. ♥