May 17 Pixie - 1.0u PMPS=99

Status
Not open for further replies.

caringcdn

Member Since 2014
Good morning :-D We made it through the cycle last night without any serious problem. The only hard thing was having low numbers, i.e. 65, and having to check every half hour to make sure Pixie didn't drop too much and he didn't. He was pretty consistent from +4 through to +6 at 65 and then started to go up at +7 with a 70. I apologize for not posting the numbers either on my spreadsheet or in my condo but I was pretty exhausted waking up so many times through the night and testing. Please be assured that I would not have let Pixie go unattended with such low numbers. Until I get a better sense for the numbers, I feel more at ease testing every half hour or hour.

Pixie is doing well this morning, still hanging on the water bowl but eating - 1.5 oz LC food. This time I didn't mix in any MC food as I am better rested and able to react more quickly if his numbers drop too quickly. I tested at +0.5 and he was the same, 108 and I didn't feed him any more. Pixie will get his subq fluids later this morning as they definitely may be lowering the BG and I don't want that so early in the cycle.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118834
 
Re: May 17 Pixie - 1.0u AMPS=113, +1=95

You have to do whatever you feel most comfortable with, Anne! I know this is exhausting right now, but you and Pixie are both doing a fantastic job!

Hope you enjoy your weekend!
Shelly
 
Re: May 17 Pixie - 1.0u AMPS=113, +2=52, +3.5=58

Thanks Shelly, you as well! This our Victoria day long week-end in Canada and it's starting out with beautiful sunshine, though it's still a tad cold up here. I live along the shores of Lake Huron, one of our five great lakes, and this time of the year is spectacular. You just can't beat it but the winter....oooooh, the winter is brutal because we get a lot of lake effect snow and white outs (zero visibility). Our highway along the lake is closed a lot during the winter - I can remember it being closed for 2 weeks straight because the snow drifts got up so high on the highway. Oh the joys of living in Canada. When my husband retires, it would be lovely to become a snowbird and spend some of our winter months in a southern U.S. state. Perhaps one day :-D .

I know I've thanked you many times already but I want you to know, Shelly, that your messages, have been very thoughtful and comforting. Would you believe that it's been a little over a week since I've joined the board. Last Friday and Saturday, I was trying to fill in Pixie's spreadsheet and by Sunday, Pixie had officially changed food from MC to LC. Wow! I had to drop off my last two weeks of Glucose Curves to the vet yesterday - one before I started the protocol ranged from 578 to 137 on 4u of lantus and yesterday's, 108 to 56 on 1.25u. I didn't get a chance to speak with him but I did write a few notes for him so he doesn't flip about the numbers. I'm anxious to see his response.
 
Re: May 17 Pixie - 1.0u AMPS=113, +2=52, +3.5=58

Usually we wouldn't reduce the dose unless Pixie actually got to 49 or under. But hopefully he's going to hold these good numbers with this morning's dose reduction. If he trends up with higher nadirs, you'll want to go back right away to the 1.25u.

If your vet is concerned, send him the link to the Tight Regulation Protocol page and point out the PDF about 5 paragraphs down. The protocol is very spelled out on how to treat a diabetic cat. We know that a cat kept under 120 as much as possible has an excellent chance of having their pancreas heal and becoming diet-controlled. Pixie is looking very optimistic. What I see is that she isn't bouncing - in other words, her body has become re-accustomed to normal numbers. When she begins getting dose reductions, which looks like it won't be long, that will tell you that her pancreas is healing and is beginning to supplement the insulin you are injecting with its own insulin.

You have every reason to be pleased with her response! Keeping a cat out of high numbers prevents damage to the body. Right now he's had a full 48 hrs with his blood sugar completely under 120. You're doing everything right.

Mr. Greenie is very pleased with Pixie! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Wow! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: What a difference on Pixie's spreadsheet! You are doing a fantastic job with him Anne.

I too am curious to hear what your vet says. It's hard to argue with those great cycles though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top