5/20/2015 Tiger PMPS 440-Dose Increase .05

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118762

Just wanted to confirm an increase to 3.0 units tomorrow. I do realize I should have posted sooner, but we've been too busy, plus I continue to have problems logging in, especially yesterday. Anyway, last week's vet visit went pretty good. This was our first meeting with the new vet at our current clinic. He did test her urine and BP is good. No kidney problems and thyroid is good. Tiger's 3 month check is in June. She goes for another check up this Thursday, that will be the last visit with the old vet, whom we really like. I can't decide if I want to move with him or stay at this clinic.

One last question, where do I get syringes that have half unit markings? Thanks for any replies - Wishing health and healing for all.
 
Most of us get the syringes at WalMart. Sometimes they'll tell you they don't make them, but they do

I use the Relion brand 3/10cc, 5/16" (short needle), 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes .....they have a purple "stripe"

Also, you need to change the permissions on your spreadsheet. Just go to your spreadsheet and in the upper right corner click on "Share". Change the permissions to "anyone with the link"
 
I agree with you somewhat on the dosecrease. And you might not want to hold it quite so long next time. After 6 cycles, you're not getting better numbers, it's time to go up again.

I think I might only go up to 2.75 though since Tiger is starting to get some 200's

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
I agree with Chris on the .25U increase. Only hold that dose for 6 cycles unless Tiger sees some blues, in which case you'd hold longer.

Another place to buy syringes is online. A good place to shop is American Diabetes Wholesale. What brand of syringes are you currently using? ADW is also a good place to buy test strips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top