5/27 Max AMPS212 +3=210+5=185+7.25=134PMPS 143+1.25=154

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119323 for yesterday's condo

Yesterday his BG was high for both cycles. I was convinced this vial of lantus is no good. I wish I knew for sure how it was stored. Then this morning he is much better even though I did feed him some lc at +6.5 last night. He woke me early demanding food but I ignored him mostly because I didn't want to know his BG. I don't know if the lantus is working or his BG is just better this morning.

A friend has offered to give me 4 pens. She lives far away and we are trying to figure out how to mail them. Do you think dry ice would work?

YESTERDAY'S RECAP:

AMPS 243
+3=437
+6=396
PMPS 364
+3=382

Going up already at 1.75 by 61 points. Maybe we are on to something! Fingers and paws crossed.
 
Re: 5/27 Max AMPS 212

Hi guys .. this isn't a bad start to the day .. low yellows can always lead to some nice blues! Not sure about how to ship lantus is warm weather .. I hope someone can help you get it figured out, 4 pens is awesome! Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/27 Max AMPS 212 275@1.75+3=210

Maybe that 275 was just a food spike, Elise? Perhaps Max will continue to work his way down for the rest of the day. :-D
 
Re: 5/27 Max AMPS 212 +275@1.75+3=210+5=185+7.25=134

He is working his way down and I hope won't bounce as a result. It's only blue but he hasn't spent much time here lately.
 
Re: 5/27 Max AMPS 212 +275@1.75+3=210+5=185+7.25=134

just saw your post from yesterday - i got that particular friskies at Kmart here in town. My grocery store didn't carry it either, but i looked on the Friskies site and if i remember right, there was a "store finder" where you put in your zip code and it told me where i could find it.

looking great this afternoon, max!
 
Re: 5/27 Max AMPS 212 +275@1.75+3=210+5=185+7.25=134

Thanks, Julie. I'll check their site. My grocery store only had ocean whitefish in the special diet and the other one I checked didn't have any. Pet Smart carries the chicken and beef I think. So far I haven't found any turkey. I've just been searching on line so far. He used to eat Wellness for several years but that was before they totally revamped the food. It looks like the numbers are good so I might try it as well. I guess the juice is working but my needing to increase might be because it isn't in its prime either. It gives me a little time to arrange to pick up the pens that my list friend no longer needs.
 
Re: 5/27 Max AMPS212 +275@1.75+3=210+5=185+7.25=134PMPS 143

Well, at least I think the lantus is still working. Now can he just surf and not bounce? Am I asking for the impossible.

Someone just suggested I switch to PZI and quoted an article that I recently read where the vet felt it is the best for cats. Why do so few use it?
 
Re: 5/27 Max AMPS212 +275@1.75+3=210+5=185+7.25=134PMPS 143

It's a good insulin too. Here is some information from that PDF that is posted on the TR Protocol page about managing a diabetic cat using long lasting insulins. I know you found it confusing, but wanted to pull out just the introductory part.

Overall, glycemic control using glargine/detemir is superior to protamine zinc insulin
because of the long duration of action of these insulin analogues, which reduces periods
of hyperglycemia.

If you want to try something different for Max, I'd try Levemir (detemir) when you're at a point of needing more insulin. You've given the Lantus a good try and it might be that making a switch would be helpful. You could certainly try PZI if you wanted, though.
 
I just had a email discussion with the vet I was telling you about on a yahoo group. He doesn't like PZI and doesn't think lev would be any better for Max. I think I went too long with the vial of lantus and it wasn't potent enough. He said 4 months is probably better. I think I should have switched at least 6 weeks ago. Water under the bridge though.
 
So I got my answer from the vet on the yahoo list. He says Max is definitely not well regulated. He recommends antioxidants and better low or no carb food than fancy feast with all it's by products. He is suspicious of the high BP without kidney or thyroid disease present as I have been. Yet I would be scared to stop his BP medication in case it is real because what if he went blind or had a stroke? He has never tested low and even low normal. I doubt white cost syndrome could raise his BP that much. I will always wonder about that though. He said Max does show signs of being insulin resistant. Nit what I wanted to hear.
 
Wow! That is some information from that vet! Makes me wonder if Rocky is also showing signs of being insulin resistant. That is kind of scary.

In the past, the only reason that I was suggesting to you to feed Max a food with a lower phosphorus content is because foods with a high phosphorus content can burn a hole through the lining of cat's gut, creating an ulcer, which causes a lot of pain when you eat. I was diagnosed and treated for ulcers in my twenties. It becomes really painful soon after you eat. I can understand why it might cause a food aversion, an aversion to eating ANY brand or flavor of food, in a cat, *if* a cat has an ulcer. I wouldn't know if Max had a ulcer and that would sometimes explain his picky eating.

I have suspected FF Classic Chicken as helping to cause ulcers for a long time in the case of my little pancreatic kitty "Jomo" who has passed. I wish I had done a better job of recording the foods that I fed her to see which ones caused her the most trouble. I do remember that she LOVED that LC FF-CC and I would feed it to her a lot because it was not a problem getting her to eat it--- until it was..

I talked to the owner of 'Hounds and Gatos' today. They are an LC we cat food and I wanted to now where I could buy it in my area. Rocky has never eaten it before. None of my other cats have eaten it. I couldn't believe it when I left a message and the owner/founder, Will Post, called me back. Well, he told me that the foods do not have carbs in them but he is mistaken about that, :lol: , but I wasn't going to argue with him. The good thing is that none of his wet cat foods contain any grains. Plus, he even has a RABBIT flavor! :shock: He told me that they don't sell that one at Pet Food Express but they could order it for me. I haven't looked into the cost of any of the Hounds and Gators foods. I think I am going to give them a try and see if Rocky will eat it.

http://houndgatos.com/about-us.aspx

I have been all out of the 4% Artemis Turkey Formula for about 2 weeks now and that is why I have been feeding Rocky the 4% FF-CC instead.

One thing I have noticed is that Rocky makes a coughing, choking sound sometimes after he has eaten the FF. I do not believe this to be a hairball. He has not done this after eating any other food. It wasn't a burp. I wonder now if this is the same sound that Max made that you described as a "grunting" sound.

Max's streak of blue sailing today looks AWeSOME on him! :-D
 
Nice blues tonight. I hope this is a sign that this dose will bring some more green into Max's life.

BTW, as a person with an insulin resistant cat, I think Max's SS just looks like he is bouncy. I've seen here that most cats do better with food in the 3-6% carb category instead of zero carb food. Some foods do have antioxidents already added to them, so it is worth looking around for them.

I'm not sure why the vet thought Levemir wouldn't be any better for Max. Neko was bouncier on Lantus than she is on Lev.
 
Hi Elise.

No advice from me. Just wanted to pop in and say hi. Max is looking better on this dose. A lovely, blue surf!

Petsmart has the Friskies Special Diet Turkey & Giblets here in Northern CA. You might ask your local store if they can order it for you.

Good luck getting the pens - a great deal, if you can ship them safely cheaper than you can buy them!
 
Well, blue is sure better than stinky pink and mellow yellow. Hopefully it will turn to some green in the next day. I dosed so I'm glad he didn't drop a lot like I thought he might. See, I can't guess what he will do.

For an antioxidant the vet suggested Cell Advance 440 and another one that I have forgotten right now. Has anyone tried it?

Tina, I really don't think ff causes ulcers. I fed a cat that who lived to be 17 and passed from lung cancer. She had the beginning of kidney disease but nothing else. I don't think Max has an ulcer. If he did there would likely be some internal bleeding and very dark stool neither of which he has ever had thank goodness. I think he very well could have had the beginning of an infection. Whatever it was it went away thank goodness. The only reason he is against ff is that he feels it isn't made from a good quality protein. So many here do so well on it that i don't know if it's true or not. Do you have a Global Pet Supply near you? They carry Hounds and Gato. There is one in Culver City if you feel like taking a ride. Their prices are discounted on most foods and better than Pet Smart or Petco or Centinella Feed and they have a huge selection. I think I will go there and buy a few cans of different foods to try again.

Wendy, I certainly would not rule out Lev if Max doesn't get better regulated with lantus. I was looking at how much better Gracie looks on lev and tomorrow I will check out yours too. I like how you see my ss better than he does. I think he said that because of the pancreatitis and he feels Max needs to get the inflammation down to heal. I'm going to get an antioxidant to try and start using the oil that Marje suggested tomorrow and see if it helps. I asked him about food and he mentioned freeze dried. I have been putting a little on Max's food from time to time so I might start adding a little to his ff to give him more quality protein. He also gets his freeze dried chicken treats and baby food so he is getting more quality protein.

Thanks for stopping by, Tricia.

Have a great night everyone. I'm heading to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top