5/27 Tiger AMPS 350;+3=336;+5.5=380;+7.5=400;PMPS=430

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
5/26/2014 post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119346

Thank you Wendy and Julie for your replies . I went ahead with the 3.5units and I apparently have a cat that BG increases with a dose increase :? but I will hold this for one more cycle as per yesterdays post.

Now for the question. Last Thursday we had a vet appt for a check up, but coincidently, Tiger showed symptoms of a UTI - frequent trips to the lb, tiny pea sized urine balls just prior to our afternoon appointment. A urine culture was taken per my request, and when Dr. Peterson brought her back, he laughed and said she pee'ed over everything including him :oops: This afternoon I got a voice message saying she had a very very low grade UTI. My options are to either give oral antibiotics or one that will last 2 weeks(injection). As soon as we got back home that Thursday, Tiger showed absolutely no further signs of UTI, she is back to normal and so I am considering not getting the antibiotic treatment as I don't want her overmedicated if she doesn't need it. Thoughts?? The other thing is, I know I read somewhere that the two week antibiotic treatment is not a good option for cats, I think it was in Dr. Lisa's website. Anyone have experience with this injected two week antibiotic?
 
no, you don't want that 2 week AB. It's called Convenia. Dr. Lisa does have a page on it on her http://www.catinfo.org site. there are a couple of reasons. One is that it was developed to treat skin infections and isn't necessarily appropriate for other types of infections. It is named "convenia" because of its "convenience." Another concern about it is that it lasts in the body for at least 2 weeks and if a cat is allergic to it, and some are, you have a major problem. If a cat is allergic to a short-acting AB, you stop giving it, treat the reaction, and the issue is done relatively quickly. Two weeks is a long time to have an allergic reaction.

Given that her blood sugar is high, and it can be caused from infections, i would probably treat the infection with a more standard antibiotic, personally. i know Dr. Lisa has said that most UTI's are inflammation rather than infection, but if the lab turned up bacteria, i'd be inclined to treat it. Do you know if the test was done with a needle (cystocentesis), rather than catching the urine flow? Sometimes if it wasn't done with the sterile needle withdrawal straight from the bladder, it can be contaminated and not be an accurate reflection of what's going on in the bladder.

If you're given baytril, double check the dosage carefully. too high of a dose of Baytril can cause blindness in cats. Many people give probiotics (fortiflora, for example) along with antibiotics to prevent diarrhea. if you're given a liquid, make sure there isn't any sugar in the compound. and just fyi, if you have Baytril, get pills - punkin had it in liquid and it apparently tastes terrible, even with chicken flavoring. I got it down him and he walked around foaming at the mouth and vomiting everywhere. :shock:

For pills, pill pockets are like meat-flavored playdough that you wrap around the pill so they don't taste it. The Dog Duck and Pea are safe for diabetic cats. I trained my cats to eat little balls of the pill pockets that i throw on the floor, so if i have to give them pills it is a thousand times easier than trying to get it down their throats. Even if you have to poke it down the throat, the pill pocket keeps the pills from sticking to your fingers and i thought helped it go down better.

I should add - punkin did get Convenia once for a bladder infection (prediabetes) and he did fine with it. Bailey UK/anna has gotten 3 shots of it and hasn't had any trouble. the problem is that you don't know if a cat will be allergic to it until it's done, and it isn't necessarily an appropriate AB for all the things it's given for.
 
Lots of cats experience New Dose Wonkiness or NDW when you increase a dose. It usually only takes a couple cycles to get over it. Neko does it for most increases - most annoying. :-x

You hold this dose for one more day, not one more cycle, so a total of 4 cycles or two days on this dose before increasing if you don't see lots of blues.

Infections, if Tiger has it, can be a cause of higher BG's. It's also common with diabetics with extra sugar in their urine. So it's worth treating a UTI.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top