5/29 Pixie skinny 0.25u PMPS=90, +4=76

Status
Not open for further replies.

caringcdn

Member Since 2014
Good Morning LL!

Hopefully things weren't too wild yesterday evening and through the night but somehow I doubt it. I'm looking forward to catching up on how everyone is doing this morning.

Thank-you to everyone who has made helpful suggestions about possible food choices for Pixie. I'm going to see if I can get a few different kinds for Pixie to try. He really needs to have some higher calorie food soon because he's looking anorectic and I don't want to wait until he's skin and bones.

It was so nice to discover that so many DH are very involved in the treatment of their diabetic pets. My husband, Steve, tries to help with testing but to be really honest, he is a little brutal on Pixie's poor little ears. Well at least I now have Kristen as a wonderful back-up and that's a big relief to me. I love John and Mike's term PCPCPC duty - poke,carb,poke...all these acronyms and cute sayings certainly do lighten the mood in an otherwise tense situation.

Pixie, other than being too thin, is doing the same which is a good thing. He's been pretty consistent these last couple of weeks and truthfully, this is more in line with the Pixie I knew before his diagnosis. Today is Pixie's 7th day on a 0.25u dose and I think after today, he's eligible for a decrease to 0.1u but I'll wait to hear from my more experienced mentors before changing his dose.

Healing vines and hugs to all that need them today. Take care everyone and have a great day! Anne

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +2.25=65, +3.75=61

Well, it looks like Pixie is doing quite well today! Nice greens!!! Keep up the good work, Pixie!!

Not sure about the dose decrease yet, but I am not as knowledgeable on that at the moment since I haven't read up on the protocol lately, but I'm thinking that you should stay with the current dose for a while.

Hope you both have a good day and thanks for visiting our condo!!!
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +2.25=65, +3.75=61

Those are some very awesome numbers on so little juice...way to go, Pixie!!

Good luck with the fuds search...it is so darned challenging when our babies have special dietary requirements....

Have a great day, Anne!!
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +2.25=65, +3.75=61, +5.5=74

Pixie is looking great in his green, but since you skipped a shot you have to reset the counter on the number of cycles on one dose. Unless the cat is going too low it always helps to support the pancreas w/ insulin for as long as possible. Patience pants!!!

I added a little more about the foods in Tess's condo today. Tess needs to gain a little weight too and we try to feed her the highest calorie foods we can. I tried last night to post in your condo, but things just weren't responding, my auto backup was in an unending loop!
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +2.25=65, +3.75=61, +5.5=74

I think you have the World numbers on the US spreadsheet, but from your Subject line, those are some real pretty green numbers :mrgreen: . I see no problem with trying the 0.10 dose starting tonight.

Go Pixie!
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +2.25=65, +3.75=61, +5.5=74

Thanks Ann, I'll check Tess' condo - John mentioned yesterday that you keep dietary information there. Patience hasn't always been my strong suit but I'll try. You know as I think about it, what you say about supporting the pancreas makes absolute sense.

Today at noon, Pixie missed the litter box and pee'd in the tray and I thought, oh man but then I realized that this was a great opportunity to test for ketones and glucose. Was I ever surprised to find both tests negative - the ketones one relieved me but the glucose one really made me happy. Things are starting to fall into place for Pixie.

You know, one final point about diet - for the last two days, I've been feeding Pixie the Merrick's purr fetch bistro turkey and/or chicken which are lower in phosphorus than the salmon. What I've noticed is that Pixie doesn't seem to be peeing as much - he's gone from puddles to more normal sized pee. I hope it continues as excreting so much, must certainly impact his ability to gain weight.

Thanks for visiting Pixie's condo Amy, Deb and Ann :-D . Anne and Pixie
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +2.25=65, +3.75=61, +5.5=74

I know on the Phos. I try to keep the food for my other 2 cats lower in phos too, not as stringently as for Tess, but i avoid all the really high Phos and carb foods for every one.
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +2.25=65, +3.75=61, +5.5=74

Great day for Pixie! It is nice when DHs help out. Mine will shoot and test if I am not around, but I am a control freak with T's FD and am just always around. :lol: Our son will also test and shoot anytime needed so DH and I can get away sometimes. It is so much easier if you have backup.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +3.75=61, +5.5=74, +8=88

Hi Anne!!!

I'm loving that sea of flat green on Pixie's SS. I agree with Dyana; even though you did skip a shot and, theoretically, you'd start counting cycles over again, he didn't miss a beat on his numbers. So I think I'd try the 0.1u starting tomorrow. I'd give him tonight's cycle at .25u (unless he earns a reduction another way) and then try the decreased dose tomorrow.

When our CKD kitty, Gus (civvie) was losing weight, our vet had us give him extra virgin, unrefined coconut oil. He quit losing weight and even put a little back on. He was eating really well but just not maintaining weight. It does not have sugar and it shouldn't affect Pixie's BG. I gave it to Gracie for a while for hairballs (she is super plush) but it raised her triglycerides. I've seen other FD cats get it with no change to their triglycerides so I think it was just a Gracie thing :roll: :roll: :roll:

Mike coined the PCPCPCPC thing a long time ago when we were new. It just stuck around LL. ;-)

Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +3.75=61, +5.5=74, +8=88

Hi Marje,

Is it hard to find extra virgin, unrefined coconut oil? I'd like to try some with Pixie as it may even help with his occasional hair ball problem.

John did tell me that Mike coined the phrase - I see that DH is quite witty.

Thanks for the information about coconut oil - I've read that cats can handle higher levels of fat. Coconut oil and a higher calorie diet might be just what Pixie needs, provided he'll eat it. Anne
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +3.75=61, +5.5=74, +8=88

Pixie continues to look great! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Good luck with that new dose starting tomorrow.

I didn't have any problem finding the coconut oil. Either check out your local grocery stores and see if they have an organic section (our Canadian Superstore does) or try a health/vitamin shop. They are cheaper at the grocery stores, at least out here. I used it for both my kitties - both have long hair. You can either liquify it and add to food or add it solid. I put some in a little spice jar and let it rest in warm water for a while to liquify. Neko will eat anything, but the civie prefers it liquid to solid.
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie 0.25u AMPS=99, +3.75=61, +5.5=74, +8=88

When I was giving it to the cats, I used tropical traditions because of the super high quality. But for the humans in the household (because it is very good for beans, too), I buy a huge tub at costco for a lot less. It is also extra virgin, unrefined.
 
Re: 5/29 Pixie skinny 0.25u PMPS=90

Nice numbers for Pixie. It's good to hear you are seeing him act like his old self.
 
Good job, Pixie!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: AND you get to shave a little off tomorrow!!! woo-hoo! I give Shasta coconut oil at shot time and she loooooooves it! Keep up the good work and enjoy the rest of your evening, Anne!
 
Go! Go! Go Pixie! Keep up the good greens for you and mommy :mrgreen:

You made me laugh when I read that your husband is a little brutal on Pixie's ears. My boyfriend is the only person besides me who can poke and give the insulin to Juno, but he's living in Portugal and I'm in Denmark. Here, I'm the one doing all the work, but last time that I visited Juno's Daddy, I had to leave Juno with him for a couple of days. As I expected, he got all scratched and bitten from Juno's fangs each time he had to test :lol:. He told me that once he had to be a bit brutal to poke Juno's ears :roll:. He loves Juno so much and he wouldn't hurt him for anything in this world, but I would have liked to see that! I know that Juno can be a small lion whenever he wants :twisted:.

Have a great day Anne!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top