5/30 Tiger AMPS 385;+3=241;+5=200'+6=185;+7=172;+8=180

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119346

I was scheduled to increase to 4.0units 2 cycles ago, but I really wanted to see what would happen on 6 cycles. Maybe that was a bad decision on my part, I dunno. But today I increased to 4 units and am holding my breath to see what happens at tonight PMPS. Thank you so much for your advice Wendy and Julie, so very much appreciated! I guess I have to admit, I fed 1T regular food with the testing today, probably skewed her numbers but I dread having Tiger drop too fast and I know she probably will bounce from it... nailbite_smile
 
WOOT! Look at those lovely blues! :-D :-D :-D Way to go Tiger!

I'd hold this dose a little longer now and the next increase (if you have to), would just be .25U. Here's the relevant part of the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
If you are worried about tonight, you can always get a +11.5 test and post here asking for advice. It looks like Tiger is surfing here and will probably rise until preshot. If she does, you can give the full 4 units.

Here's the link to your previous condo. We like the link in each day's condo so we can easily go back and see what was previously discussed.
 
wonderful, ruth! what a nice day for Tiger! First blue numbers in a month! good to see her coming down out of the higher numbers. She'll probably bounce from it, but how great to see her numbers moving! well done.

we encourage people to give their kitties a treat after they've been poked - nothing wrong with that! i used boiled chicken breast because it's supposed to be zero carbs, some people use freeze dried meats, but i think it's fine to give her regular food too. Just keep the amounts small (or take it from the amount she normally gets in her meals) so she doesn't put on weight from it.
 
Thanks ladies! Well, pre-shot was 295 so no problem with tonight's shot and at +2 = 363. Guess this means let the bouncing begin... :roll:

Wendy, just to clarify, should I only hold this 2 more cycles as we discussed before, or are you meaning to hold the typical 3 days?

Sienne, I was really afraid of this increase but now I realize I was very foolish to hold doses so long.

Julie, I divide out her food so that she eats a set amount of food daily, just spaced out into mini meals(in this case it was 8) I just was hoping it wasn't ruining her numbers with food as opposed to the freeze dried chicken bits. And regarding the inevitable bounce, is it important to keep checking her tonight? I was going to check her in another 2 hours but maybe I don't need to if she's going to keep going up - any thoughts?
 
the general idea was to increase every 4 cycles because she was high and flat, and then to slow down the increases when she gets into better numbers.

i think i'd stick with the 4.0u for both cycles tomorrow and let's revisit the question tomorrow night about Sunday morning's dose. Usually when we first see blue numbers, we suggest holding longer to see what the kitty will do. That's probably going to be a good idea for her. we'll want to see where she gets to after this bounce clears.

since she's clearly going into a bounce - i'd probably not worry about testing more tonight. with her being really unused to blues, i don't think she would clear the bounce tonight.
 
Since Tiger is new to blues, the protocol suggests holding the dose for 8-10 cycles. Tonight was just the second cycle, so I'd hold at least 6 more cycles.

I would still get a before bed test, just in case Tiger has decided she really likes this dose.
 
OK, Julie and I said the opposite thing. :lol: Let's see how Tiger is doing in 4 more cycles.
 
i just reread your last post and zoomed in on your comment to sienne - the thing about FD is that it's a great big learning curve - and very steep at the beginning. holding doses too long can bring about glucose toxicity where the cat's body has gotten used to those high numbers.

fortunately, you've gotten a little more info and experience now, and it's not too late! with a lot of FD you just look forward - i look at punkin's spreadsheet now and can see all my mistakes. we do the best we can with what we know at the time. :YMHUG:
 
aggghhh, I didn't see Wendy's comments ;-)

Julie, Re: your last comment, yeah it's a huge learning curve, I don't even begin to know what I don't know! It's just lucky I found this forum - thanks to all of you!
 
:lol: wendy! i didn't see your post either.

we didn't disagree too far! LOL. i did say we'd probably hold the dose longer, just revisit it tomorrow night. but i'm thinking Tiger will still be bouncing so we would still be waiting anyway. besides, your answer is better! ;-)

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

we never turn down offers of more tests, but i'd go to bed. she'd have to turn around pretty significantly from a +2 of 363 and on her way up, overcoming a bounce from a whole new range of numbers for her to go low tonight. never say never, but i think the chances are greater she'll still be high in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top