6/9, HELP!!Peyton, PMPS 242, +2.5 152, +4.5 47 LOW!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, help..what to shoot?

I forgot to add he ate an hour and a half ago
Julie
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, help..what to shoot?

Yes. You're not making dosing decisions based on the pre shot test.
By the way, we normally tell people not to feed the last two hours before shot time.
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, help..what to shoot?

Hi Julie. Did you shoot the 1.00 unit?
I keep looking for a response.
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, help..what to shoot?

Thank you Dyana. I went ahead with 1u before I had to leave for work. I stuck with the motto, "rather be too high for a day than too low for a moment" :)
Normally I wouldn't have fed him but he woke me up begging and he hasn't been eating good. With diabetes, kidney failure and as skinny as he is I took the opportunity. I tried to wait as long as I could to get his BG level. Poor boy isn't used to me telling him no to food. Since his kidney diagnosis anytime he was willing to eat we went for it. We now have to learn anew routine. Thank you so much!
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, help..what to shoot?

Thanks Julie. I just wasn't sure if you were still asking or waiting for help or not, or didn't understand my "yes" ;-)

I sometimes let J.D. eat when he's not supposed to too, because when he eats it's good and I just want him to eat.
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS "Hi",+3 497, +8.5 292, PMPS 242, quest

Peyton's PMPS 242. Making sure before I shoot that I still need to stay with 1u?
Thanks!
Julie and peyton
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, +3 497, +8.5 292, PMPS 242, ???sho

Hi Julie, I'd try to stick with 1.0U for 6 cycles, unless Peyton earns a reduction before then. Did you shoot this morning? I don't see the units in the spreadsheet. Nice sliding down the scale today Peyton! :-D
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, +3 497, +8.5 292, PMPS 242, ???sho

Thanks Wendy! I did shoot 1u this morning. I will go back and update. Thank you for noticing.
Julie and peyton
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, +3 497, +8.5 292, PMPS 242, ???sho

Yes! Shoot!!

The same 1 unit dose unless Peyton drops below 50 anytime during a cycle

Thanks for visiting our condo too Julie!
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, +3 497, +8.5 292, PMPS 242, ???sho

Shouldn't you be resting young lady? :)
Thank you! I don't want to jinx us but I MAY be getting the hang of this. Lol
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, +3 497, +8.5 292, PMPS 242, ???sho

I take that back! Lol
I do have a question related to posting. How do you all take yesterday's condo and put it in a new condo with it's own heading? Like how you had all my condos in one coversation:
6/7
6/8
Etc...

When I say I'm computer illiterate I'm not kidding. Ha!
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, AMPS Hi, +3 497, +8.5 292, PMPS 242, ???sho

It's not really necessary for you to do anything "fancy"

The way you posted your link today is fine!! If you really want to know, I'll try to figure out how best to show you though

When you get to PMPS, you also might want to go ahead and delete the AMPS results from your original subject line since you'll run out of spaces soon. (it only holds so many characters)
 
Re: 6/9, Peyton, PMPS 242, +2.5 152

As long as everyone understands my link then I don't need to be fancy :) I think learning to post is just as hard as learning about diabetes. Lol! I'm slowly getting the hang of it.

Just got a +2.5 reading of 152!!! Woohoo!
 
First breathe - you can handle this. I'd give Peyton a couple tsp of high carb gravy. If you pop the lid on a can, you can press it down and get the gravy out. That's the part with the carbs. Then test again 20 minutes after he's eaten to make sure he's coming up.

If you haven't already, you might want to print out the Sticky on Handling Low Numbers
 
I was just reading them. Thank The Lord I bought the gravy good yesterday and put in the emergency stash. Should I test him again to see if he's coming up before giving him gravy or just go ahead with the gravy?
 
First breathe - you can handle this. I'd give Peyton a couple tsp of high carb gravy. If you pop the lid on a can, you can press it down and get the gravy out. That's the part with the carbs. Then test again 20 minutes after he's eaten to make sure he's coming up.

If you haven't already, you might want to print out the Sticky on Handling Low Numbers
 
Sorry for the repeat - server went wonky. The order is feed high carb, wait 20 minutes, then test. If still low, fee high carb again, wait 20-30 minutes and test. We call that lather, rinse, repeat. It takes about 20-30 minutes for the carbs to go from the plate to the blood stream.

If it's been a while since your last test, you can test again first.
 
It's been 30 minutes so I will test again real quick. I hate all this poking and so does he :( His little ears are sore :(
 
Waiting for your test result. By the way Julie, that 47 means Peyton has earned himself a dose reduction. His new dose tomorrow will be .75U.
 
i won't intervene except to say that i just got your pm and wanted to check on you.

47 isn't dangerously low. you just want to take action and he'll come up. Your goal is to keep him over 50.

his ears might be sore but you're keeping him alive and safe. don't hesitate to use the neosporin with pain relief - the stuff is miraculous in how it takes out the owie.

i'm off to bed, but you're in good hands. Wendy is a pro.
 
Thank you Julie! Helps to know we aren't quite to the danger zone. I just happened to decide to test him again since he has been going down all day.

Wendy, BG went to 45 so I'm going to give him gravy and repeat
 
Good plan. Test again 20 minutes after he's eaten the gravy. I'm glad he didn't go down much. The 40's are still OK numbers, but don't leave us any margin for error, so we'd like him out of the 40's quickly.
 
I Julie. I'm going to be up with Max because he just dropped to 40. I think Julie is ready to call it a night. So we can talk with each other if it's okay with you.
 
julie, elise is going to stay with you and guide you through bringing Peyton up. Max is having low numbers right now too - he just hit a 40, so she's up with him anyway. She's got tons of experience!

Wendy & I are both calling it a night.

we'll check on you tomorrow. don't forget to take a 0.25u reduction from tonight's dose when you give him his shot in the morning. I don't have his ss open right now, but whatever you shot tonight, reduce it in the morning. If you have questions in the morning, just post here and hopefully someone will see it in time.
 
The first time is scary for all of us, but you are in great hands with Elise. Peyton is really responding well to the Lantus.
 
BG 72
YAY!!! It went up. Now do I feed again or don't feed and with 20 and test again?

Thank you for helping me while you are having the same issue. You are a godsend!
 
I'd feed a little and test in 20. Sometimes they gone back down. If he stays up this time then you can not feed and test in 20-30 minutes.
 
I know exactly how you feel, literally. It helps me to talk with someone when I am experiencing a low number. The first time I had to handle it by myself in the middle of the night it was even more scary without anyone to talk to about it. You are doing great.
 
I'm just stopping in to say hello and good luck to both of you!! I am new and don't have any advice to offer, but I can tell you're doing great!
 
If it weren't for you I would be calling my vet at home right now! Lol! And he probably wouldn't have as good advice. I do t k ow how you did it alone. Bless you!
I fed him a couple teaspoons and will test again in another 10 or more minutes.

How are things going for you?
 
You're doing great. I just went to test Max and he was at 70 also. He was at 40 and then only 42 the next test so he got his favorite Soulistic Triple Harmony with karo!! He only gets it now if he goes low. That is why this board is so wonderful. There is almost always someone to help when you need it, even in the middle of the night. You can't get your vet then.
 
So glad he's going up!!! I'm about to test again.

I have my vets cell number but he may not be too happy with me if I woke him in the middle of the night. Ha
 
You are lucky that you have that number. My vet is not available after 6 or on the weekends. I'll be waiting for your next test result.
 
BG 108!!!! Woohoo!!!!
Now what? Ha

Quick recap:
PMPS 242
+2.5=152
+4.5=47
+5=45
Fed 2 tsp gravy
+5.5=72
Fed 2 tsp gravy
+6=108
 
Do you think you can stay up a little longer? I would not feed and test in 30 minutes to be safe. If he is the same or higher you can go to sleep without any more testing.If you need to go to sleep I would leave a little lc food out.
 
I'll stay up a little longer. Don't think I could sleep good worrying about him. If it starts to go down again do I repeat the same steps again?
 
30 minutes from my last check will only be another 15 minutes. I've already made it this long...thanks to you :)
 
I wouldn't be able to sleep either. The other night I went to sleep at +6.5 with Max a 84. He woke me at 4:30 for food so I decided I better test first. The meter said LO and that time I did freak. I ran for the karo and HC. Then when I tested next he was 145. Based on what happened the next day, it was a strip or meter error. Next time that happens I will test a second time. I was up all night, maybe got an hour of sleep and tested the poor guy every hour for the first 6 hours.
 
Oh dear! That is scary!!!
Peyton is resting so peacefully I hate to wake him and stick again. Hopefully this will be the last one of the night. I don't know how I have kept from breaking out in tears over sticking him this many times. I keep telling myself what the other Julie said, "you are doing it to keep him alive".
 
I know. I just woke Max to test him again. Do you have neosporin with antibiotic ointment? If you do put a little on his ear or ears. If not get some tomorrow as it really helps. Max is waiting for more food but I don't want to give him any until I test one or two more times. Because he got karo I need to check an extra time as it can wear off faster than food.
 
I keep forgetting to ask you to take off the 911 on your first post. I think the emergency is gone, right?
 
LOVE the neosporin!!! His ears are covered in it right now. I get the best sample from about the middle side of his ears. Any further up and I have to stick twice. I don't like sticking in the same area too many times but there alsmot no choice.

Here we go....fingers crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top