6/11 Tiger +5.5=81;+6=93;+6.75=69;+7.25=77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
6/10 Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120122

We stayed blue last night, so I was expecting the high yellow AMPS, but around +4, we hit green. Not enough for a dose decrease, but she has stayed green. And now, I worry that she will be in single digits at PMPS time and I will be scared to give the full 3.75 units! :shock: I gave 1 tsp gravy lover with 2t lc food at +7 and +8. Will be testing again soon, I know, I know, shoot low to stay low, but it's scary when the dose is high like ours is! nailbite_smile

Healing vines to all in need; hugs to Helle for the loss of Bisse, so heartbreaking!
 
boy i hear ya on the dose - punkin got up to 15.5u. you feel the weight of shooting a larger dose. However, if the cat is at a "good" dose, meaning that she's getting some green numbers but not sending her too low, you should see a flattened cycle when you shoot low. If you have any doubts, post here and ask for help deciding. You might review the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky between now and pmps - the part about shooting low, to help you think through what you'll want to do.

you don't need to feed her gravy in advance, though. i think it might be better to see what her pmps would be without extra carbing.
 
Fabulous cycle today. :mrgreen: Tiger responded very well to that dosecrease threat in yesterday's condo.

Nice to see Tiger inching up just a little bit. I agree that you don't want HC at this point of the cycle for numbers above 50. A couple tsp of LC can get them surfing when you first see them in those green numbers.

Shooting low definitely takes courage and data about what your cat will do next. I was lucky that Neko never made me shoot green til we got down to 1.75U, though I did have to shoot 8.75U into the 110 range. I remember seeing Nancy/Pepper(GA) shoot over 25U into the 50's. :shock: But only after she had a ton of data and knew that he was nadiring at PS. You have shot a 150 at this dose and there is some chance Tiger might bounce the next cycle.

If you get a +11 or +11.5 and are concerned about what number you see, post for help in making a decision.
 
Thanks ladies! :smile:

PMPS 213
+2 = 278

Julie, 15.5! :shock: But I understand, 3.75 is a small amount comparatively and it is what got her here in the first place. But until I have a better understanding of how insulin works, it always befuddles me. Sometimes I don't think Tiger has a nadir - like yesterday. I copied the Handling Low Numbers, thanks. And yes, this was all for naught, I shouldn't have fed the hc, she was probably climbing already,but next time... :oops:

Wendy, I admit, I blew it again, giving the 2 tsp hc was not necessary! :oops: Boy, I can't imagine shooting 25 units with a pre shot number of 50! :shock: I have shot 4 units at 150something, and the results were different, once she increased, another time she dived off a cliff, always keeps me guessing!
 
Hi Ruth. Tiger did great yesterday. I looked at his ss today but you haven't updated it. I hope he and your husband are continuing to do well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top