6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59+1-70+2-72+6-48+8-90+10-103PMPS-92+2-92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eliza&Giuseppe

Member Since 2014
I shot him in the 70's yesterday and everything was perfect but 59 is a little scary. I am home all day so testing isn't a problem. I was just wondering if I should give it a go and see what happens and if so should it be the 1.5U he's getting or reduced? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 Shot or no shot?

I'd wait 1/2 hour after that first test, do not feed him, then test again. That will tell you if he is rising or surfing. If he's rising or surfing you can feed and shoot. If dropping, he might have earned a reduction already.

People here have shot anything above 50, but there's a good chance Guiseppe might want a reduction today if he hasn't already. You said you are home. Do you have plenty of strips and high carb food? I'd shoot his regular dose, but you might be up for a bit of testing today. I'd definitely get a +1 and a +2 and maybe even a test 30 minutes after PS. I can't stick around all day and the board seems slow. You have to feel comfortable with whatever you decide.
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 Shot or no shot?

I just waited 30 mins and retested he is still 59. I do have plenty of strips and his Hypo kit all in order with HC gravy. I know it may be a little intense today but I feel pretty confident. Should I test him after food to make sure there is a food spike or just go ahead and shoot him?
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 Shot or no shot?

I'd feed and shoot. Maybe test 1/2 hour after that. It does take a while for the food to hit the blood stream but it would be good information to know how much of a rise he gets from his regular breakfast. If it's not much, you can always give him a tsp or two of medium carb or higher low carb food. Good luck - here's hoping for lots for lots of healing green again today.
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 Shot or no shot?

Nice greens! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Wendy, will the levemir make a difference for shooting a low number?
Liz
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 Shot or no shot?

Good point Liz - Levemir absolutely makes a difference in shooting greens. But more in comfort level than in technique. You do have several hours after the shot before onset and the meals in between will life the numbers. Neko is on Levemir and I've shot low 50's without batting an eye. I've only hesitated when she's given me a 40's number, then I wait until it's the 50's. Guiseppe may be like Neko who often has preshot as her nadir.

Eliz - if you've shot and are OK with going ahead, could you remove the 911 from your first post? We like to save it for emergencies - it does rather bring attention.
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 Shot or no shot?

good job eliza! as long as you are testing, you will be able to steer his blood sugar with carbs.

just don't get complacent! ;-) this is his first couple of days with all these greens and he is bound to go below 50 and earn a reduction before long. you want to make sure and catch that point, both to keep him safe by giving him carbs, and to know that he needs a reduction in dose afterwards.

eta - can you take down the 911 now? that way if you have another point where you feel in crisis, you can put it back up and it will get noticed.
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 +1-70 +2-72

Thanks guys! He's doing great so far but I don't think I'll ever feel complacent even when he goes into remission (because I'm very determined to get him there is why I use the word "when" :-D )


+1-70 +2-72
I think he's looking pretty good so far but I know Lev has a much later Nadir so I'll be sure to keep the testing up!
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 +1-70 +2-72 +6-48

Okay so now the Lev is starting to take effect and he's now at +6-48 Should I feed him his regular LC food or give him a little bit of gravy?
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 +1-70

I'd give him a little bit of gravy - still a while to go in this cycle. Could you also update your first subject line so people can see Guiseppe is low.

Congrats on the reduction! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 +1-70 +2-72 +6-48

Woohoo! What a great day for Guiseppe! :mrgreen: The subject line of the very first post (your original) is the only one that shows up on the forum...
Liz
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 +1-70 +2-72 +6-48

I just gave him his LC food now I'll give him a bit of gravy.
I've been having issues updating the status today. I've done it twice already, let's see if this time it stays.
Yayy so excited about the reduction
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59 +1-70 +2-72 +6-48

Subject line looks good!

I'd test again in 30 minutes after he's eaten.
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59+1-70+2-72+6-48+8-90+10-103 PMPS-92

Alright so I am guessing the carbs are wearing off for his PMPS since he's gone from a +10 of 103 to his PMPS of 92 so looks like I will be setting a alarm to get some testing in. I gave him a reduction from 1.5 to 1.25. Is that correct?

All in all I am really pleased with is results today and possibly could have given less than a teaspoon of gravy. Guess this stuff is trial and error

Thanks for all the help today
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59+1-70+2-72+6-48+8-90+10-103 PMPS-92

The reduction to 1.25U is correct. Both Lantus and Levemir can produce a "double dip" in some cats where they drop down a little bit towards preshot. The drop won't be as low as the nadir. So, the drop to 92 at PMPS could have been that. The 103 at +10 isn't really that much different from the 92 anyway, both are within allowable meter variance. Guiseppe could also have just been surfing. :mrgreen:

You are right that this is trial and error. Keep a log of what food you fed, how much and when and it can be useful information the next time you get a low. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to test every half hour when Guiseppe is in the 40's or 50's. You want to make sure the gravy worked. As the insulin is working, it is possible he could drop even further, requiring more high carb food.
 
Re: 6/17 Giuseppe AMPS 59+1-70+2-72+6-48+8-90+10-103 PMPS-92

I do keep a detailed log on a notebook of the times and how much I feed him and of what so I don't forget or to help me keep track of scheduling test times. Also it has helped me kinda see what foods are best for him not causing huge food spikes and keeping him surfing.
I am feeding Fancy Feast Classics all of the chicken, turkey, and beef flavors also I feed Friskies Turkey and chicken. I was feeding a lot of fish based ones but then I read fish isn't good to feed very often and since I have cut them out I have seen way better results. I guess everyday we learn a little more about how our specific kitties react to things.

I seriously try to get in as many tests as possible with him but like I've stated before, he's a very difficult one to test and when I have to test him every 30 mins, it ends up being a 30 min struggle just to get the test done. But I can't complain because its only been one month and we have come so far. As of late he has just been sitting there not even growling or moving a muscle when we have a slow testing day. Progress!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top