6/21 Polly AMPS300+6=272+8=300+10=256 PMPS256+2=227+4=211

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap 6/20

AMPS 340
+2=325
+8=250
PMPS 233
+2=281
+4=340
+6=310
+8=292

What a wild ride this is. Can't say I'm having fun :YMSIGH:

Julie, you suggested upping the dose after four cycles instead of the six we've been using.

Questions: I look at Polly's ss and see that she usually comes down the cycle after the increase. Then she goes back up and jumps around a bit and by the time we're at the sixth cycle she levels out a bit. But we start the down/up/jump/level with the subsequent increase.

If we go to a four cycle increase, will we miss the "levels out a bit" and see Polly just jumping around? I don't know. But, gads, I'd like to see her smooth out for a bit. What if she's just super sensitive to even slightly lower number (i.e., under 230) and she 's bouncing with just the slightest dip? Again, I don't know.

What would be the harmful impact of holding the dose for eight cycles to see if she'd begin to surf and gently come down? Or is this just a "pipe dream" question?

I'm just asking. And I trust your recommendation. Guess I'm just "bouncing" from hope to frustration. Like my girl, I'll bounce back.

I will go to 3.75 with PM shot today.

I'm calling my vet Monday for an appt. Want to see if there's anything going on that would interfere with our progress. She's eating well, peeing and pooping just fine. But a check-up with bloodwork and the fPL (?) for pancreas level might offer some answers. Poor Polly. She just turns into a quivering lump of hyper scared kitty, ragdoll ya' know, at the vet. But I've just got to see what's going on...or not.

Sorry for the ramble. Frustration is winning this morning! Think I'll take a long nap!

Thanks for everything.
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS 300 (long, with questions)

i love how you preface your subject line with a warning! :lol:

good questions! there's nothing wrong with waiting longer to see if 8-10 cycles will help her flatten out. go ahead and do that instead of increasing tonight. it's good to write your observations in the comments section.

I'd get the Spec fPL test for pancreatitis done - she has to fast at least 6 hrs prior to the test, but some labs want 12 hrs, so find out before your appt how long it needs to be. I'd also ask for the break-out thyroid tests to see if she has hyperthyroid.

Exercise can also make the cells more receptive to insulin, so anything you can do to increase her activity is good.
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS 300 (long, with questions)

Long naps are a cure all for almost everything - gotta get one of those in myself. :-D

I know far too well how frustrating this dance can be when there just doesn't seem to be any movement. :YMHUG: But I've also seen some cats that seem to do nothing for dose after dose, then all of a sudden seem to find the fitting dose. You'd think they'd get slightly better with each increase, but it doesn't always happen that way. You just have to keep plugging away at the increases.

Good idea going to the vet for tests. Make sure they take a look at Polly's teeth too. Infection/dental issues can also be the source of stubborn numbers.
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS 300 (long, with questions)

Thanks, Julie. I will hold this dose (3.5) for 8 maybe 10 cycles just to see what happens. (And my vet will be happier since he wanted me to hold the dose for that long with each increase!)

Yes, I'll get her tested for everything. It's only been a little over a month since we did all the panels, including SpecfPL (but I don't think they did it fasting so I'll make a point of asking how long she should fast and what to do about insulin if she isn't getting breakfast), a gentle way to remind them it's a test requiring fasting.

Nice vet. Just baffled by Polly's nontextbook responses.

Again, thanks.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS 300 (long, with questions)

Wendy&Neko said:
Long naps are a cure all for almost everything - gotta get one of those in myself. :-D

I know far too well how frustrating this dance can be when there just doesn't seem to be any movement. :YMHUG: But I've also seen some cats that seem to do nothing for dose after dose, then all of a sudden seem to find the fitting dose. You'd think they'd get slightly better with each increase, but it doesn't always happen that way. You just have to keep plugging away at the increases.

Good idea going to the vet for tests. Make sure they take a look at Polly's teeth too. Infection/dental issues can also be the source of stubborn numbers.

Thanks for the wisdom. Having the encouragement from beans and kitties who have walked this road tilts the journey more downhill than up! Easier breathing and a clearer view of the destination.

Polly is toothless, in literal and figurative ways :lol: , but she did have an infection in a her two lower canine sockets back in late March. Clavamox and re-check at vet gave her the all clear. But I'm thinking we may still have a problem there. Will definitely check into it.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS 300+3=289+6=272 (long, with questions)

Marilyn

Some cats are slow responders and, if they are getting some good numbers, it makes sense to hold the dose a little longer. IMHO, that's not the case with Polly. Even with the occasional blue numbers, I don't think holding the dose longer is a benefit to her. If she were getting mostly low yellow with mid blues, I'd think it was worthwhile.

Having said that, we are supportive of you and what you feel you need to try. But if she was my kitty, I'd continue to increase every six cycles until I see better progress towards a mostly blue cycle.
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS 300+3=289+6=272 (long, with questions)

Marje and Gracie said:
Marilyn

Some cats are slow responders and, if they are getting some good numbers, it makes sense to hold the dose a little longer. IMHO, that's not the case with Polly. Even with the occasional blue numbers, I don't think holding the dose longer is a benefit to her. If she were getting mostly low yellow with mid blues, I'd think it was worthwhile.

Having said that, we are supportive of you and what you feel you need to try. But if she was my kitty, I'd continue to increase every six cycles until I see better progress towards a mostly blue cycle.

Thanks for the response, Marje. You've given me something to chew on. I'll see how she goes through six and probably increase. Disappointed that today going through 3-4 cycles on this dose she's surfing higher than on earlier, smaller doses. Gotta guess something else is going on. Or that Polly is just being Polly!
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS 300+3=289+6=272+8=300+10=256

if she were mine, as long as she's just having a spot of blue on each dose, i'd go up after 4-6 cycles too. But sometimes you need to see what will happen if you try something else. It's up to you.

Wendy made a really good point - there are many cats whose blood sugar stays up there until you finally hit the "right" dose to move them. It does seem logical that each dose increase will improve the numbers some, but often that doesn't really happen. Increasing methodically helps you know you didn't miss a good dose along the way. When you do hit a good dose often the numbers will improve fairly quickly.

I spent the summer of 2011 increasing punkin's dose while his numbers stayed basically the same, marilyn. he went from 7.5u-15.5u with the numbers really not responding. i know how discouraging it is. Polly is still on a relatively low dose. Eventually, you will get to a dose that Polly will respond to. You're not alone. We're hanging in there with you! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS 300+3=289+6=272+8=300+10=256 PMPS 256

Julie and Wendy are spot on. Sometimes you just have to be religious about taking those increases when she needs them and then all of a sudden, she could hit that perfect dose. And yes, we are hanging in there with you! :-D
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS300+6=272+8=300+10=256 PMPS256+2=227+4=21

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

But I've also seen some cats that seem to do nothing for dose after dose, then all of a sudden seem to find the fitting dose. You'd think they'd get slightly better with each increase, but it doesn't always happen that way. You just have to keep plugging away at the increases.

Wendy, I'm hanging on to this thought. I taught high school kids for 30 years; I get the concept of "plugging away" 'til the light goes on. Not always easy, but wowzee, when that light clicks, what a good feeling. And, yes, sometimes then it took a few steps back to gain one step forward. Sort of like my Pollygirl.

Some cats are slow responders

Marje, you made me laugh with this line. I'm taping your quote to the mirror over the vanity where I test, feed, shoot the Polls. Goodness, it took over a year before she's jump on the bed with the other cats and me for nighttime. And perhaps another year before I could touch her and then only when she was elevated on a high surface. Only within the last two years has she initiated scritch sessions while curling next to me on the couch. She still won't do eye contact! Yup, my girl is a "slow responder." My new mantra. She's taught me patience. This sugar dance is just the test to see what I've really learned!

And Julie. What a precious gift your special Punkin has given to all the sugar kitties (and beans) you have helped. Inspirational. I've read his story, the SRT journal, and swooned at the posted pictures. What a legacy: saving lives, giving hope.

Polly's coming down tonight. I'm prepared to see her high again tomorrow for a bit. And we'll go to 3.75 tomorrow night. Me and my Polly, just plugging away.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 6/21 Polly AMPS300+6=272+8=300+10=256 PMPS256+2=227+4=21

i love your stories of her blossoming, marilyn. she's obviously a special kitter!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top