6/22 Lucy PMPS=247;+2=304

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Sunday,

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=193 (0.75u); +2=175; +2=248; +7=221
PMPS=196 (0.75u); +1=220; +2=225; +6=173; +9=148

Today
AMBG=130 (skip for b/w); +13.75=112; +15.5=90; +17=83; +18.75=128; +21.5=173
PMPS=247 (0.75u); +2=304

I have a vet appointment for both Lucy and Ginger for a quarterly check-up.
Lucy is getting her cobalamin level tested, so she's being fasted.
Of course she's begging for food on the day she can't eat.
She often gives me "not interested" response to her breakfast, but this morning she's giving me the full package of "I WANT TO EAT!" signs - meowing, waking me up, following me to the kitchen, pacing while waiting.
What a waste of rare good appy. :-x

I am hoping that we will find the cobalamin level to be good on the current schedule of every other day, so we will not have to do this test for a while.
Fasting if hard.

The appointment in in 2 hours, so she'll eat soon enough, but she'll get no shot this morning.
I am grateful that at least she's starting in low blue....

Sending vines to all in need.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130 // FASTING FOR B/W

Mariko, how many hours are you fasting her? I'm glad she is in blue. Good luck!!
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130 // FASTING FOR B/W

Thank you Elise - Lucy's being fasted for 12 hours.
The appointment is at 9:30am, so she hasn't eaten since 9:30 last night.
I checked with the IDEXX lab, and they said 12 hours.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130 // FASTING FOR B/W

Wow! I don't even fast Max 12 hours for a fPL test. Well, just a little while to go.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130 // FASTING FOR B/W

I have an impression that fasting is MORE strongly recommended for cobalamin than spec fPL.
I don't even do a spec fPL anymore.
We already know that she has chronic pancreatitis, and just re-confirming that "yes, she has it" over and over wasn't helping her in any way.
Lucy is a very very slow bleeder when collecting sample, and if I add a spec fPL they'd need a lot of blood and she'd get poked more than once.
So I eventually stopped testing it.....
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130 // FASTING FOR B/W

We don't test run the fPL any more either unless we need to rule it out as a reason if he isn't feeling well. Even that last visit a few months ago when he had those strange episodes we didn't run an fPL since he was eating well.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130 // FASTING FOR B/W

Oh God....
Lucy is meowing and begging so hard.
I don't think she has begged for food this much for a long time.
She has this questioning look on her face - Aren't you forgetting something Momma?
This is heart breaking.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130 // FASTING FOR B/W

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Just a little longer. I know it is torture.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130 // FASTING FOR B/W

Are you going to take some food with you, so she can eat as soon as the blood is drawn?

Does your vet every tell you if too high a test of Cobalamin is a bad thing?

Sending good vet visit vines.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90 // We are home.

I hope the vetty visit went well. It is so hard to fast a kitty.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90 // We are home.

We are home, and Lucy is fed!!!

Ginger was a good girl as usual, and Lucy was extra grumpy.
I don't blame her.
She was hungry, and she got poked 3 times because her vein is tiny.
She freaks out if they try to take blood from jugular vein, so we have to use the tiny vein on her leg.

On top of that, the usual route back home was closed due to marathon.
I had to turn around and find another way home which was jammed also due to the marathon.
Extra driving made Lucy sick, and she puked a small amount of yellow liquid.
Poor girl.
She wanted to eat as soon as we got home, so I'm glad it didn't take away her appetite.

Her BG kept dropping, and when he got home, she was green.
I think she's one of those cats who go lower when stressed.
She ate some so I think she'll go up now.

Dyana - My vet didn't tell me if too high cobalamin was bad, but when Lucy tested too high, she wanted to reduce the frequency of B-12 shot.
When she calls me with the result, I will ask her and let you know what she says because I'm curious about that too.
When her folate tested high, the vet said not to worry because it wouldn't do any damage.
But I didn't ask about cobalamin..... ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90 // We are home.

Thanks Mariko. I always wonder about J.D.'s high cobalamin test, and I always tell the vet I am not going to fast him for 12 hours to test him again, because of his diabetes. I know, you just skip the shot.

I'm glad she finally got some food when she got home. Poor hungry Lucy cat_pet_icon
Don't forget, you can shoot a little earlier tonight if you want and your shot schedule allows for a little change.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90 // We are home.

I'm glad you made it home safely and Lucy still wanted to eat. Poor Lucy getting sick in the car. I hope you get good b/w results back.
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90;+17=83

Well this is odd.
She's still in green after eating a bunch of Wellness Turkey + new food, which is 15% carbs. confused_cat
Her depot must be pretty full to carry her though +17 in green, isn't it?
I'm thinking about doing an experiment and cut the dose down to 0.5unit.....
New food (even higher carbs) and addition of Azodyl might have changed something inside her.....
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90;+17=83;+18.75=128

Lookin' good Miss Lucy. I'm so glad she was hungry today!!! I really think something has changed.

Paws crossed the cobalamin test will come back normal.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90;+17=83;+18.75=128

I am glad you and Lucy are home from the vet. Poor Lucy got some food. Oh boy, about the closed road and Lucy throwing up, but it passed. Wow Lucy's numbers are really good without a shot? Interesting?
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90;+17=83;+18.75=128

I'd say that this was an eventful day for Lucy (and you)! I'm glad you are home and that the extended trip home didn't upset Lucy too much. Amazing about the new food, the skipped shot, etc. etc. Lucy, have you found a new path?

Great job, Mariko. I hope you get satisfactory Test results,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90;+17=83;+18.75=128

Poor Lucy...first no food, then a puke but at least she's home, it's over and she's still eating good for you!

That's the most important thing!

China's one that goes lower under stress too...I was all ready to see higher numbers when I took her to the vet, when I dragged her to a motel when DM had surgery and for her dental, and she was in green numbers every time. Strange, isn't it?

Hope she continues to have the good appy, and the test results come back boringly normal!
 
Re: 6/22 Lucy AMBG=130;+13.75=112;+15.5=90;+17=83;+18.75=128

Trix also goes lower with vetty stress...weird phenomenon that baffles us beans!

I hear ya on the fasting...that kills me more than the procedure itself does! What kills me more is how the folks at the vet's office think it's no big deal. They just don't understand us extra-sensitive types.

Nice numbs for Lucy ...good luck with the reducie if you go for it"
 
Lucy's number is going UP UP UP UP UP. :-x
So of course I didn't take the experimental reduction I was thinking about earlier.
I think this is the combination of the skipped shot and bounce from the green.
I still feel strange about that long stretch of lower-than-usual numbers without the shot in the AM cycle, so the experiment is still on the table, but just not tonight.
I'll see how she does in the next couple of cycles and go with my gut....
Not that my gut instinct is that dependable, but I often can't make sense of Lucy's numbers so trying to think logically doesn't always help.

Lucy ate the 1st dinner well and 2nd dinner OK, but doesn't seem like she wants to eat any more.
She had her breakfast late, so I won't push any more food if she isn't interested tonight.

I am suddenly feeling very very tired.
I wanted to spend some time condo-visiting this evening, but I think I'll nap between Lucy's tests/meds, and just go to bed early.
Thank you for checking in on Lucy.
I hope everyone had a nice weekend. :smile:
 
Yuck Miss Lucy! Is that a delayed vet stress happening? Or just a reaction to the missed shot. One thing you might want to consider next time (if there is one) that you have to do a fasting blood test is to do two 18 hour cycles. It gets you back on schedule and is less time without insulin. At least it works if it's a weekend and you can be home for that +18 feed and shoot.

Great news about Lucy's appy today - I hope tomorrow is the same. Paws crossed for good blood work results.
 
Poor Lucy has had quite a day, and poor Mariko has been even more stressed about it! :shock: :? I'm glad Lucy's appy was so good after all that. I HATE having to fast any of my cats. The looks they give you are just heart-rending.

Sending vines for good results on the tests, and continued good appy vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top