7/2 Tiger AMPS 92;+4=58;+5=73;PMPS=86;+1=104;+2=77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121134

This was the 2nd time having to shoot double digits, not quite as scary as yesteday, but sort of scary just the same! :shock: We had a very late night, at +5, Tiger dropped to 41, which really startled me from a catnap. I felt I needed to bring out the hc and karo, and probably over-carbed her, but you would not know it looking at her numbers today. Why is she not bouncing, I keep wondering? Also, I think I made another error this morning, I reduced her dose to 3.25, and Julie, I now see that you had advised someone else on another condo not to reduce so soon after another reduction! ohmygod_smile

I am going to be updating Tiger's SS to include labs, thanks to Marje! And reading all about hyper T thanks to Elise! Sending healing vines to all kitties in need, and continued cheers for the OTJ kitties!
 
Re: 7/2 Tiger AMPS 92;+1=111;+2=96

Wow, Tiger is looking awesome today!! Woohoo! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Responding about Turducken - it's a 6% carb food made by Merrick with turkey, chicken and duck, and Billie thinks it's great. A little seems to go a long way in propping up Billie's numbers. It is a pate but it's pretty juicy/saucy, so maybe the carbs are in that juice and she ends up licking up a lot of that even when she doesn't eat much.

She also loves Merrick's Turkey Pate which is 5% carbs and a pretty classic pate. They make an 8% called Beef Wellington, but Billie doesn't go for beef.
 
Re: 7/2 Tiger AMPS 92;+2=111;+3=96;+4=58;+5=73

With no bounce from the low numbers what a great day!! I think the reason you don't reduce twice so soon is that you still have the depot from the previous dose. I'm not sure if you will go back up tonight or wait to see how this dose does but one of the pros will stop by and guide you before you shoot tonight.
 
Re: 7/2 Tiger AMPS 92;+2=111;+3=96;+4=58;+5=73

The depot from the previous dose can last 4-6 cycles (depending on the dose and the cat), so it's likely the 3.75U dose was still in play last night. I like to have at least 4 cycles on a dose before reducing, unless you see the 30's in which case I'd reduce anyway.

You've got two options. You can pretend this morning was a one time BCS (big chicken s***) dose to help reduce the depot and continue on with 3.5 tonight. Or depending on where Tiger is tonight, you can try going ahead with the 3.25U dose and see if it sticks. However, if her numbers start to creep up then you'd have to increase back up. The reason I'm waffling is that Tiger is on a "bigger" dose. Not really big, but the protocol talks about reduction of .5U if the cat is on a larger dose. When Neko zoomed down the dosing ladder a couple years ago, I found .5U reductions worked until we got below 4U, when I had to move to .25U reductions. Tiger's on the edge.
 
Re: 7/2 Tiger AMPS 92;+2=111;+3=96;+4=58;+5=73

Hi Ruth,
Impressive shooting today! Surf safe, Tiger.

In case you don't have it already, here is a link to Dr. Mark Peterson's website. Lots of good information there about HyperT:
http://www.animalendocrine.com/hypurrcat/hypurrcat/

Our previous diabetic kitty, Stu, had HyperT (and also CRF) and we had hoped to have the i131 at Dr. Peterson's HyperCat clinic, but Stu was sicker than we thought with other health problems and was not strong enough to be a candidate for the treatment.

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/2 Tiger AMPS 92;+2=111;+3=96;+4=58;+5=73

Thanks Ladies!

Deanna, Tiger loves pates, especially juicy, gravy rich ones, so I will look into that, thanks!

Elise, I wasn't thinking clearly this AM, thanks!

Wendy, Thanks for that info; given Tiger's PMPS, I decided to stick with 3.25;as soon as I see her numbers rise, I will be on it. (for better or worse) I imagine tonight will be another late nighter.

Ella, Thank you for that info; I knew that Dr. Mark Peterson is the authority on Feline Hyperthyroid. I am so sorry to hear about your Stu, and hoping Rusty clears his bounce quickly too!
 
Re: 7/2 Tiger AMPS 92;+2=111;+3=96;+4=58;+5=73

Hi Ruth!

I wanted to repost the labs for Tiger - Marje is really good at interpreting labs, and i know today is a work day for her. You might want to send her a pm, or wait til tomorrow until she has a chance to see it.

I did want to mention that drinking water isn't always a "cure" for the dehydration that comes with chronic kidney disease. we learned to give punkin subcutaneous fluids every other day or so. that can help. Also, while her BUN is high (which can indicate dehydration), her creatinine is within range, which is good. I'm heading out for the evening, but will look for you tomorrow.

Tiger and Ruth said:
Thanks ladies!

Marje, I have the lab report, I wish I had mad computer skills but I don't know how to put them in my spreadsheet. They sent everything, if there is a link showing how to add a tab, I will add it to the spreadsheet. :oops:
PhoenixLabs - Senior Feline Chem Screen, T4 by RIA, T4 (RIA)
06/29/2014 12:00 AM
AccessionNo 1406280364
Glucose 359
BUN 55 10-35 mg/dL
Creatinine 1.8 1.0-2.0 mg/dL
Potassium 4.7 4.0-5.8 mEq/L
Phosphorus 4.9 3.5-6.1 mg/dL
ALP 17 10-70 U/L
ALT 65 5-65 U/L
T4 RIA 0.7 1.8-4.5 ug/dL

Elise, I would love to have the link to the hypoT group, if you get a chance. I was unaware Max had CKD, sorry to hear that. It looks like the BUN was high.

Wendy, thanks for the referral to Tess's SS; I will find it and print it out. I need to find some low phos foods that she will eat, she's picky. Also thanks for the referral to Grayson, I occasionally have seen Lu-Ann post.

Julie, I add a few Tbsp. of water to Tiger's food; I have trouble envisioning her being dehydrated, but what do I know. There is so much I don't know about what is normal in a diabetic cat, let alone one with kidney and thyroid problems. I am so sorry when i read about Punkin, thanks for your input as well. I blame myself forTiger'sr kidney prblem because initially I didn't act aggressively enough to keep raising her dose, I didn't understand how dangerous that was. One of my older beloved kitties died from kidney failure, I just pray this isn't something really horrible for her.
 
Re: 7/2 Tiger AMPS 92;+4=58;+5=73;PMPS = 86

Julie and Elise, thanks for looking in! And also for the additional info on the BUN and creatinine. I knew Marje was busy, but she is helping me to get that tab added to my spreadsheet. Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top