7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357 +3 195 +4 283

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121394


I woke up to the icky color of RED today...Not pleased with that. Skooter got a bit more wet this morning than normal...I am going to do a +1 before I leave for work and then put out some dry at that time as I am curious as to how the wet only is going to effect him (hopefully this does not backfire on me and he goes too low). Worst case I go into work a little bit later than normal. I have one horrid case I have to get done today, but even if I get in an hour late, it should be fine.

The food trial is going GREAT! He eats up the wet food and actually is meowing when I am going to the fridge and getting it out. Unfortunately, pretty soon I think he is gonna meow everytime I open the fridge thinking he is gonna get some!

I am still trying to get used to the whole bounce thing, so is this still part of that? I slept through my alarm to get a reading during the night, so unfortunately I only have up to a +3, which I certainly liked!
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418

Molly, I'm not sure where in the cycle you are giving Scooter his IBD meds, but that is probably causing his BG to spike. Do you give it at the same time every day? When do you give i?. I saw that you give it at 21:45 most days, but where is that in your cycle (+9? +10?)

Oliver takes prednisolone for IBD. He is now on a very small dose, but even now, when he is OTJ, I see his BG spike into blue numbers about 6 hours after I give him the pred.

I used to give Oliver his pred in the morning, but, while I was regulating his insulin, I switched him to evenings. I am home all day to check his BG, but I wasn't getting much sleep because I was checking him periodically at night. I switched him to evening knowing it would cause a spike and I could sleep better knowing it was unlikely he would go hypo because of the spike.

You are dealing with a lot of changes for Scooter and I'm not sure now is the time to make another change. But, if you are concerned about him during the day while you are at work, you might eventually want to change his meds to AM and use that spike to ease your mind about him going hypo during the day when you aren't there.
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328

A nice lil drop for Mr. Skooter on the wet only after an hour....

He has ate about 1/2 of the 1/4 cup of dry I put out.....

Heading into work now and hoping to swing home for a +4 or +5 during lunch today
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180

Yes, +3.5 to +4 in the PM cycle....

Looks like Skooter wanted to take a dip the blues to see what it felt like......

I am hoping he likes it there....Of course, since I am nervous about these numbers because we aren't used to seeing them on Skooter, I am worried about going back to work....but I should be back by +9 (pm) to check him again......I need to realize that these numbers are a GOOD thing and I want to see them....

Let's see if I can keep my mind on work until I come home tonight :)

Hope everyone is having a good day!

Skooter's bean, Molly :)
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180

It looks to me like Scooter's nadir is around +4 or +5. You're not seeing that so much at night because you are giving him his IBD meds around +4. I think that is why his numbers tend to be pretty high at AMPS. You are giving him his meds just he reaches his nadir and his numbers go up from there. I'm not sure what any of that means. Maybe someone with more experience than I have can look at it.
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180

Skooter is moving!! It is great that he is loving the transition to wet, too...not all kitties are that easy with it! Sounds like you're getting some good info from experienced folks about IBD/FD and spikes...I just love how there is someone who always knows something about what you need, and everyone is so generous with their knowledge.

Have a great afternoon, guys. And Skooter....surf safely!
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180 +10.25 385

Annnnnnnnnd back to pink.....growl.....I just don't understand this dude....

Trying not to read in to anything right now as he is transitioning from dry to wet.....must be patient!

Hoping for a quiet night so I can catch up on some stuff...
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180 +10.25 385

About to do Skooter's PMPS and feed him...his FortiFlora came today!

I can't remember who, but I believe someone said I shouldn't use the entire pack at each meal....I will check back quick before feeding to see if anyone has given advice, however I am not sure how much longer my lil monster is gonna wait for his food as he is sniffing around trying to find whatever he can lol
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180 +10.25 385

You don't need to feed a whole packet...just sprinkle it...it's a very fine powder.

One packet usually lasts China several days
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180 +10.25 385 PMPS 376

Thanks Chris! I will start that tomorrow morning..

We (being me) had a slight issue getting his ear to bleed, so I had to go right to dinner and shot....

He is getting 1/2 can of a 5.5 oz of Nature's Variety Chicken....thinking I might hold off on giving the dry until +1 and do a reading and see what he is at.......

It's just too bad he is so picky about his food, NOT lololol
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180 +10.25 385 PMPS 376

the fortiflora is great for a couple of purposes. many cats like the taste, so a sprinkle across the canned food can tempt them to eat if their appy is off, or they aren't keen on that particular food. doesn't sound like that's skooter's situation though! :lol:

it's also good for helping if a cat has diarrhea - in that case, you might be giving one packet a day.

i think someone recommended it to you because of the IBD, is that right? I would be curious what Linda's experience has been with it for Oliver. In people with IBD, sometimes probiotics can make things worse. I don't know if that's true of cats or not. Be observant how he responds when you introduce it. It might be a good idea to go slow introducing the fortiflora.
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180 +10.25 385 PMPS 376

Just dropping in to see how Skooter is doing. I hope things get better for him.
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180 +10.25 385 PMPS 376

Julie, if you are talking about my Oliver, I have never used it.
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter AMPS 418 +1 328 +4.5 180 +10.25 385 PMPS 376

yes, i was thinking of you and Oliver, Linda. I just wonder if it would aggravate the IBD, but i suppose trying it slowly will give an answer.
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357

I was honestly expecting more of a drop since I increased Skooter to almost half a can of the wet and still haven't give him dry....

I am thinking of holding off and getting a +3 to see what he is at, if he drops a lot at that point, I can give him some dry....thoughts? He still seems hungry though, not 100% sure what to do....

Feeling very overwhelmed right now, not really sure why, but just really really overwhelmed....hoping a good long cry and some sleep will help, but who knows....

Skooter's bean who is feeling a bit out of sorts, Molly
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357

Molly, don't get discouraged. You are doing really well. Think how far you've come in just a couple of weeks. IBD cats are particularly hard to regulate. I wish I knew more about this process so I could help you. I'm sure you will get some good advice from some of the experienced care givers here.
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357

((Molly)), it's a big learning curve and you've come a long way since you started. :YMHUG: Someone once said you should go back to your first posts every once in a while to see what the difference is.

As for the +1 number, typically Lantus doesn't onset until somewhere after +1, so you wouldn't see big BG changes until the +2 or +3.
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357

As I recall, I balled my eyes out the whole time I was writing my first post and when reading the first responses to it....

And I was on the verge of tears writing this last one...***SIGH***

I know that I have learned so much from all of you in such a short time (so very greatful)....I think it is just work is very stressful right now and Skooter's stuff is stressful....I can't remember who said it, but someone said he didn't become diabetic overnight and so he won't get better over night....I also know with the IBD that adds more "fun" to the mix....

I guess I look at the 300s and think how bad they are, BUT I need to look at the big picture....it used to be ALL pink, red and black....at least now I have several blocks of sunshiney yellow and even a few blues....which are numbers even a few weeks ago, I never thought would be possible for him....

I guess patience is what I need to practice now....and not to think of the bounces as a bad thing....
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357

And you've also decreased the dose from 5u to 4u, and still getting better numbers. That's awesome! :-D Bounces are the bane of LantusLand. :-x Put on those patience pants and use the time to get some other stuff done. You can just sprinkle the fortiflora on the wet food, it doesn't need to be a whole lot. For perspective, it took about a year to get Zener to eat wet food with any enthusiasm. :roll: You and Skooter are doing GREAT!
Liz
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357

Molly, I feel your pain with the bouncing. You have been at this dance a short time and look how much progress has been made. I go crazy with the bounces too so I empathize. There is nothing we can do about it except keep marching on though. My Max has had chronic pancreatitis for years so he has been a challenge to regulate as well. Try not to let the numbers get you down. I'm not that good at it but trying too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357

Thank you everyone for all the awesome encouragement and support....

I guess everyone has those days where it just gets to a point where it seems too much....apparently tonight was my time....

I appreciate all the reminders of how far Skooter and I have come already.....I guess I need to get more pairs of patience pants as I am wearing them out too fast :O)
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357

i'll join the chorus - it simply takes time. if you weren't a patient person before, you will become one as you deal with FD. Someone gave me a calendar with sayings on it, and i always keep it on this one: the stuff that wears on the nerves, polishes the soul. FD wears on the nerves!

Once the dry food is gone, then you'll be able to "get to business" with Skooter. In the meantime, you're pretty well just biding time until you have days off. People here have done experiments and seen that even 3-4 kibbles can send a sensitive cat high and keep them there for a day. That's why it's hard to make progress with any dry food in the plan.

Friday is coming. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357 +2 195

While it is barely in there, it is in the blue!

Two questions:

1. Do I need to do any more tests tonight? He went down 19 "points" (are they called points?) from 0 to +1 and a total of 181 points from 0 to +2

2. Since it appears his IBD medication makes him spike, should I change the time I give it to him? At this point, I am almost thinking with all the changes going on, as much as it might frustrate me at AMPS, perhaps leaving it as it until AFTER his full on wet food change over is done and get a few day's data before changing that as well. As Julie said, at this point it is like biding time until I can get him off the dry completely. Ok I think I just answered my own question for number 2 :)
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357 +2 195

That's a large drop from PMPS to +2. I'd get a +3 test to see if you need to test more after that. Have you given any dry food yet?
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357 +2 195

I gave him 1/4 cup at +1.75 and he ate about half of it....he has nibbled since then has about half of the half left, if that makes ANY sense at all.....

I am going to give him his IBD medication, so I am sure that will spike his numbers up, but hoping only into the yellow....he is getting it late tonight (appx 30 minutes late) as I didn't hear the medication alarm go off...
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357 +2 195 +4 283

Ok I feel like I am off on my +'s

He got 4U at 18:50 and was 376

then 19:52 was 357 (+1)
next 21:50 was 195 (+3)
then 22:50 was 283 (+4)

Right?!?! I am not sure why I am having troubles adding the last few days....

If the above is correct, he got his IBD medication at +3.5

I got what I wanted which was for him to stay within the yellow range, I am thinking his IBD medication may have something to do with the spike, but again, I am going to wait to evaluate changing that until I can get him onto an all wet diet....perhaps based on an all wet diet, it will be beneficial for him to keep it at night, who knows?

As for treats for him when he is getting tested....I plan to cook up some chicken, but trying to think outside of the box...what about goat's milk (if I can find it)? I couldn't find a lot on it....he is a milk hog....loves it though he really doesn't get it anymore....


I am thinking it is cool for this mommabean to go to bed....another long day at work ahead.....
 
Re: 7/8 Skooter +10.25 385 PMPS 376 +1 357 +2 195 +3 283

Looks like the dry food did it.

Many people call them "points" but it's actually mg/dL in the US. But we all understand "points" :-D

I think you can go to bed. I don't know about the goats milk....seems it might give him diarrhea?
 
i don't "know" authoritatively, but i've always read that milk isn't good for cats, in spite of our love of pictures of cats lapping at a saucer of milk. :-D goats milk is good for baby goats, but cats . . . ? you might do a little research before giving that. especially with IBD, i'd be more careful.

your counting of time in the last post looks right to me.

http://www.catinfo.org has great information about feeding cats. The vet that runs the site, Dr. Lisa, posts here sometimes. She says to stick with a diet that would be natural for a cat - mice and fowl. A cat wouldn't run down a cow or pig, so she suggests staying away from those. makes sense to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top