7/16 Bruno +3=70 +3.5=59 +4=61 +4.5=68.4 +5=82.2 +5=95

Status
Not open for further replies.

aochoa

Member Since 2014
Numbers keep going up. Only changed we have made is feeding Animonda and Leonardo since Monday night. He is very picky with food and doesn't like to eat the same all the time, gets bored quite easy. But I checked and Animonda is 1.1% carbs and Leonardo around 1.5% and has low phosphorous which is good for his renal problem.

Even his numbers are raising he is in a good mood and behaves normal. He needs to understand we are trying to heal him and low sugar is good!

BTW, I love the bouncing cat drawing!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121807
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno. PSAM-337

Hi guys .. numbers will come down in time .. it's nice to remember he's in a good mood behaving like normal .. have a great night!
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno. PSAM-337, PMPS-193

Thank you! PeterDevon and Mocha :) I so envy your green numbers.. in a good way. Hope we can be OTJ someday :)
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno. PSAM-337, PMPS-193

It looks like Bruno came down pretty nicely today! Numbers are only part of the picture....a good mood and normal behavior are very, very important, too! Have a great evening, Ana!
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno. PSAM-337, PMPS-193 +3=70

+3= 70. But he ate after his PM shot and vomited all the food. Not sure if he ate too much too fast or what happened. Will keep checking in case it gets too low. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno. PSAM-337, PMPS-193 +3=70

Try giving him smaller meals spread out over time, that can reduce the scarf and barf incidents. I'd give him a couple tsp of his regular low carb food to see if you can get him surfing now.

Slow down Bruno - no rush! :mrgreen:

ETA: I'd check him again in 1/2 hour - he's coming down fast.
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno. PSAM-337, PMPS-193 +3=70

Thanks, Wendy. I fed him low carb and will retest in 10 more minutes it will be 30 min after last test.

He just likes to scare me like this! Way up way down.. roller coaster! :)

As for previous experiences he never goes down this fast so I hope is the empty stomach.
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno PMPS-193 +3=70 +3.5=59!

Keeps going down after food. Just once he was less than 40, we were at the vet and got glucose in his vein. He was very very slow and without energy. Now, he seems normal. Will test again in 30 min? or give him honey now?
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno PMPS-193 +3=70 +3.5=59!

Take a deep breathe Ana, Bruno is doing great and you can do this! The protocol calls for reductions when kitty gets below 50 and we've had cats off insulin test in the 40's. We just don't like to go there because there is no margin for error. I'd give a couple more tsp of low carb food and test again in 20-30 minutes. We save the high carb food or honey for under 50.

Not having food on board can make kitties drop faster. Sometimes when kitties are thinking about a reduction they can also drop quickly earlier in the cycle. You don't have enough data on Bruno yet to know if that's what he likes to do though.
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno PMPS-193 +3=70 +3.5=59!

Ok, will feed him a little bit more. Thanks Wendy for being our angel tonight :-D! I know we can do it, just getting stressed over here.
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno PMPS-193 +3=70 +3.5=59!

It's always scary the first couple of times, until you've gone through it and seen how you can control the numbers with food and carbs. Take good notes on what food (%carb) you fed and when so you can start to build the knowledge on what works with Bruno. I list extra feedings/HC in the Remarks column of my spreadsheet.
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno PMPS-193 +3=70 +3.5=59 +4=61

Couple of points up after food. I think is ok to test in 1 hr? his ears will kill me if I keep testing every 30 min :sad:
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno PMPS-193 +3=70 +3.5=59 +4=61

We do recommend every 1/2 hour if under 80. You could try giving a little more low carb food and going longer. Paws crossed for a nice long surf.
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno PMPS-193 +3=70 +3.5=59 +4=61

Ok. checking again in 30 min (10 more to go). I understand I panicked hehe. But we will be good, I hope. Just another long night to go.
 
Re: 7/16 Bruno PMPS-193 +3=70 +3.5=59 +4=61 +4.5=68.4 +5=82

He's coming up nicely now. You want two tests with rising numbers without influence of food before calling it a night. You could also leave a little food out for him to snack on if he needs it after you have gone to sleep.

Great cycle for Bruno with lots of time in healing numbers. :mrgreen:
 
Yes, we made it 3 tests with raising numbers after one hour of feeding. I think he is safe now, will leave some low carb food just in case.

Thank you, Wendy for staying with us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top