7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+3.8=43+4.3=64+5.3=84+5.8=84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap 7/28

256 AMPS
266 +2
205 +5
242 +8
271 +10
255 PMPS
201 +2.5
192 +4
198 +5
237 +7
263 +10

Quiet day in the neighborhood. Polly's sprawled in the cat room window settling in for her day.

Vines and wishes.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 7/28 Polly AMPS 245+2=264+7.5=257 PMPS 178

Now that's more like it Polly! :-D :-D Great PMPS tonight.

Have a fine evening Marilyn.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139 (oh oh!) Poor Polly's ears!

I have to go out for 1/2 hour. Damn. Just checked and she's dropping big time. Gotta give a little lc, I think.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77 FALLING HUGE.

PMPS 178 (7.5U)
At PM +1/139

1 spoon lc to slow things down

PM +2/77

Oh, Polly. Be kind. I don't have any chocolate!

Testing again in 30 mins.

MC, HC, Honey available.

Marilyn
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77 FALLING HUGE.

Good job so far Marilyn. LC was the right response. I'll be waiting your next test number. Time to hop on your surfboard Polly! :mrgreen:

ETA: Ice cream is an acceptable alternative to chocolate. Might want to put on the ~O) .
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58 FALLING HUGE.

it's ok to give her some high carb and slow her down. i'd squeeze out gravy, 2 tsps and give it to her.

if you don't have that, a couple of drops of karo. retest in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58 FALLING HUGE.

i see wendy & i posted at the same time. low carb is ok. if she goes below 50, you do want the HC.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58 FALLING HUGE.

Thanks. After the 58 I squeezed a couple small spoons gravy on a plate. Gone before I put the cover on the can.

Will test in 20.

Miss P, where the heck did this come from???

Marilyn
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58 FALLING HUGE.

ya got to a good dose, apparently! :mrgreen:

don't forget to put Mr. Greenie up! Polly deserves that. :-D

guess you're not going out now after all. ;-)
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58 FALLING HUGE.

I've seen this before - all of a sudden you found the right dose. It's still early in the cycle - slowing her down at this point with HC is fine.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54

OK, a little slower. I didn't feed with this test. Another in 20 mins.? Or do I sneak food in until she starts going up?

Marilyn
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54

This is where you have to learn how your cat will respond to food. Some cats take 20 minutes to respond to HC, some take 30. If Polly takes 30, then a 20 minutes test won't help.

You also don't want to overfeed at this point, in case you need her to eat later. Since she's slowed down, you could do 1-2 tsp of LC and test 20-30 minutes after that.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54

i'd hold off for now. retest in about 30 minutes.

the longer you can keep her in green numbers, the better. it will help her body get used to them and reduce the bouncing.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54

:lol:

i'm going to sign off for now and let Wendy help you. we're going to make you crazy with conflicting advice! :lol: :lol:

DH wants me to come help paint anyway.

i'll check back in later.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54

Sorry about that advice. :oops: If it's been a while since your last test, you could hold off and see where to go after your next test.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54

Wendy&Neko said:
This is where you have to learn how your cat will respond to food. Some cats take 20 minutes to respond to HC, some take 30. If Polly takes 30, then a 20 minutes test won't help.

You also don't want to overfeed at this point, in case you need her to eat later. Since she's slowed down, you could do 1-2 tsp of LC and test 20-30 minutes after that.


Wendy, she's been pretty carb sensitive as far as I can tell. But I don't know about time for response. I'll hold off on food.

i'd hold off for now. retest in about 30 minutes.

the longer you can keep her in green numbers, the better. it will help her body get used to them and reduce the bouncing.

OK, JuIie. I'll see what happens in 30 (15 mins from now)

Marilyn

Yup, a nice quiet day in the neighborhood!
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS 178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54

But this is a good kind of exciting. :-D

Looking at your SS, you can enter all the data in the one cell. Just enter it as 77; 58@2.5; 54@2.8. So you just separate the entries with semi-colons. But you have to manually color the cell with the paintbrush tool afterwards. Of course it makes it tricky to enter all the food information, but you could either combine that too or put it in the Remarks column. I'm suggesting the data in one cell, because you might need the other ones for later. ;-)
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54+3.3=55

Well, she's flattened out, for the moment. I'll test again in 30.

No food really, just a crumble of freeze dried chicken. She's getting cranky about all the interruptions to her evening of lounging in the enclosure. A crumble or two of freeze dried chicken will keep her obliging. I hope.

Her nadir is usually around +5-+7. I guess I keep annoying her at 30 minute intervals 'til then unless she comes up noticeably three no-food tests in a row? Or through the nadir?

Carp, I don't even want to think about AMPS. She hasn't earned a reduction...yet. I'll have to screw my courage to the sticking place to shoot the 7.5U. I'm at work from +2-+7.5.

I'll fix the ss. Got the time!

Thanks.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54+3.3=55

Nice on the 55 - good to see her level out. I'd keep testing every 1/2 hour while she's in the 50's. The HC may wear off at some point and she may wobble down again. In Neko HC lasts about 2 hours. We like to see two rising numbers without influence of food before calling it a night. Sometimes when kitty goes diving they nadir earlier.

Depending on what you get from the blood test results at MSU, strategies for feeding lows can change. For acro cats, they can have a working pancreas so you'd start with HC first until you learn what works. With Neko, I've seen a higher carb LC (8-9%) get her pancreas working at just the wrong time. With a just IAA kitty, you would handle like a regular diabetic kitty but that still means learning how carb sensitive they are and finding out whether you need HC, MC, or LC. Generally we suggest starting with HC until you get more experience with handling low numbers, then you can experiment with other levels of carb food. And what you feed early in the cycle may be different than what you do later on when the effect of the insulin is easing off.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54+3.3=55

Polly looks great in green!! :mrgreen: Billie and I are having a PJ party too, so I figured we'd visit yours :smile:
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54+3.3=55+3.8

OK - gravy time it is! Time to come up again Polly!
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54+3.3=55+3.8

Can't say I like that 43!! But a big glop of HC gravy and a splot of honey. Might e-mail the boss and say I'll be an hour or so late tomorrow!


Marilyn
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54+3.3=55+3.8

At least you don't have to worry about shooting 7.5U tomorrow. ;-) And there's always a wee chance she might bounce and be safe tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+2.8=54+3.3=55+3.8

Whoa there Polly! A little extra juice and you go overboard!

She just earned a reduction, Marilyn. Looks like she liked the increase a bit too much.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+3.3=55+3.8=43+4.3

No food. Let's see how long the carb bump lasts? 30 minutes.

Dog wants his pre-pee treat; other two cats want their bedtime snack. Guess I'll let the dog out and sneak his treat to him in the yard. Next, make more coffee.

I'm guessing we drop back to 7U at AM. We've been upping by .5 so I assume we drop by .5.

Marilyn
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+3.3=55+3.8=43+4.3

Yes, see you in 30. 64 feels better than the 50's. :-D

And yes to 7U in the morning. Over 5U we do increases and decreases by .5U, unless you need to do tweaking later. I've seen some high dose cats that don't hold reductions well, or that bounce a lot, go to .25U changes. But let's see how Polly does on this to start.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+3.3=55+3.8=43+4.3

Paws crossed she will do really well with a 0.5u reduction.

Great job, Marilyn.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+2.5=58+3.8=43+4.3=64+4.8

You know, Polly, a little surf in the 70s would have been so sweet. Of course, who knows what the enigmatic little recluse will do in 30, or 60. Could be a honey high I suppose.

No food this go 'round. (Well, maybe I'll have some crackers!)

Marilyn
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+3.8=43+4.3=64+4.8=80+5.3

Time to surf, Polly!

kk_surfer.jpg
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+3.8=43+4.3=64+4.8=80+5.3

Love it, Marje. :lol:

It's been an hour and a half since the honey (or any other food). I don't have a frame of reference for Polly so I've give her another hour of tests at 30 minute intervals just to see if the 80s are a carb high from the bee juice.

Looks like she's climbing ... we'll see.

Thanks.

Marilyn
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+3.8=43+4.3=64+4.8=80+5.3

Marje and Gracie said:
I'd probably go to an hour.


Polly sends head-butts! She's really losing interest in the jaunt down the hall to the testing station. So an hour (30 minutes from now) is the next test. Still climbing? A little rest for both of us. Dropping? Lather, rinse, repeat.

Thanks, Marje. Pretty sure Miss P and I can handle the rest of tonight. Tomorrow? Errrrrrr. Really anxious to see the AMPS.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+3.8=43+4.3=64+4.8=80+5.3

Good luck the rest of the night Marilyn. The handling low numbers sticky suggests going to once an hour testing once you get to the 80's. Paws crossed you get a bit of a rise in numbers, but not too much. Just enough to go to sleep.
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+3.8=43+4.3=64+4.8=80+5.3

Thanks, Wendy. You know, I read that 80 shift to one hour. I just didn't remember it! I fear if I shake my head too hard, lots of 3x5 cards with random FD info will scatter about and make no sense to me whatsoever.

Thanks again for keeping us calm and focused tonight.

Marilyn
 
Re: 7/28 Polly PMPS178+1.5=139+2=77+3.8=43+4.3=64+4.8=80+5.3

I still reread the sticky notes every once in a while and "learn" something new. After a while you'll find out what works best for Polly. With Neko on Levemir, and depending on what part of the cycle she's in, I can go longer in between testing in the 80's.

It's always good to have someone around the first time you do the lows. Neko got me there gently with a 49 the first time. Polly gave you a good adrenalin rush with the 43. I still get nervous with the 30's.
 
Hi. I don't think I've been to your condo yet. You have had quite an interesting night. Hopefully Polly will surf now for you. Congrats on the reduction. I'm sure that 43 woke you up. It sure gets me going!!

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top