8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 4.5 102 +5 123 +6 84

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/1/14 charlie amps 343

Yea for no insulin needed. I think the panc flare is over and normal will return. If she loses her appetite again, try nausea medication. I'd also ask your vet for a prescription for cyproheptadine and get some gel capsules for the future so that you don't have to take her to the vet for meds. If you write to capsuline.com and say you saw an ad in Cat Fancy they will send you a sample of gel caps to try. The ones they send are flavored which is not necessary but not a bad thing. I buy mine from thrivingpets.com and have size 3 and 4. They are really cheap and they sell them in increments of 100. I think capsuline sends about 50-100 which will last a long time and sell them 1000 at a time. I couldn't give meds without them.
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie amps 343 +2 269

+2 269 why the big drop at +2, is it cause the depot is draining since i was off with his dose time yesterday then skipped last night so i could be back at the right time.
i am going to give a bit of mc at +2.5 before leaving for work. My GF will feed and test @+4
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie amps 343 +2 269

The drop likely means this will be an active cycle and the depot is filling again. It's good that your gf will be able to test and feed at +4. Have a good day.
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie amps 343 +2 269

Darin, let your girlfriend know that this is short-term intensive in the hopes that he will go off of insulin. Maybe if she understands that it will help things.

diabetic cats go through phases. if you look at the protocol, you can see that it's broken up into dosing guidelines based upon the phase. in the beginning is "increasing the dose." Charlie's gone through that phase, and now he's in the second phase - "reducing the dose." there is obviously some healing beginning because he is getting dose reductions and holding them. if he continues to stay in normal numbers, there is every reason to think that the healing will continue. I can't promise anything, of course, but that's what typically happens.

As to why he's dropping at +2 - Elise is right, it's a signal that it's an extra-active cycle and he needs extra testing - so it's great your GF is going to check him at +4. Let's just watch him for a while at the 3.0u and see if it's going to be enough to get him in normal numbers or if he's going to need to go to 3.25 to get back there. If he isn't back in green numbers by tonight, i might consider going back to 3.25u in the morning to recapture the momentum he had going at 3.5u.

Your question about how you keep from looking at him as just a number . . . the best thing i can suggest is to keep your eyes on the fact that he isn't even aware of his blood sugar. He's the same sweet kitty whether his BGs are high or low, although he may feel yucky sometimes with the changing. there's nothing about FD that is easy, although people who have long-term diabetic cats do get into a routine. Charlie's only 2 months into this and his chances are still good for healing. After some experience you can tell looking at spreadsheets when a cat's "clicked" with the dose and things begin to look very optimistic. Charlie did it at 3.75u.

One less-than-perfect way to help you know when to test and when you can stretch out intervals - when he's on his way down, look at the number of points dropped since the last test and see how fast that is, then consider if he stayed at that rate, how soon would he get below 50? Cats don't drop at a constant rate per hour, so you have to consider how Charlie typically operates, but it is a guideline that definitely helped me when someone pointed it out.

In the second half of the cycle, once he's reached nadir and is on his way up - you don't need to test again til the next preshot. night before last when you got the 299 @+7 - you could stop testing then and go to bed.

Anyway, lean on us when you need encouragement. It's what the group is here for. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie amps 343 +2 269 +4 176

Darin, yes. This part is the VERY hard part, but it does look like you're coming out of it. When Mona got her diagnosis I had just had my second baby, had a toddler in the house, and worked full time. Adding testing and shots into the mix, I honestly thought that I was likely to end up with either one of the animals or one of my children dead because I didn't feel like there was enough time to do everything that needed to be done to keep us all alive. That sounds so extreme when I say it now, but I know there were moments when I literally believed that was a possibility. It was rough.

But, even though I still have a little baby, a toddler, and work full-time, for the past few months managing the diabetes, even on the tight reg protocol, has been totally fine because it's been 95% holding a dose and checking her when I can. You'll get there, too. And hopefully very quickly from here!
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie amps 343 +2 269 +4 176

Nice slide down Charlie!!!

Darin, I feel your pain....I go home at lunch everyday to test and feed...usually get back to work late, feel very rushed and like everything is suffering....I just keep telling myself that Skooter is on a mission and if I can get through this and help him with that mission, it will be better for all of us.

While I shouldn't give advice on giving yourself a break and taking time for you because I figure if I haven't taken the same advice that I am giving, I shouldn't give it....BUT....make sure you take some "you" time when you can and some "couples time" when you can.

Let's go Charlie!!!!
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 114

+2 114 I see greens in Charlie's future.

Julie, I read those links that you posted for Elise on bounce. Some question came to mind.

It was said that an early shot acts as an increase. How early is early? Same question but the other direction, does a late shot act as a decrease?
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 114 +3 67 +4 41

+4 41 reduction earned.
Gave 1/4 tsp of Karo and his last pm meal
Testing every 15
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 114 +3 67 +4 41

Yay Reduction!!!!!!!!

Go Charlie Go!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now come up for daddy, nice and steady
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 114 +3 67 +4 41 +4.25 53

Im just preparing for tomorrows amps, if his bounce has not started yet and amps is still low <100 and will only be able to test +3. My GF will not be here either. so do i skip or give a reduced dose, is yes, then how much? i will get up @+11 to see if he is surfing or rising.
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 114 +3 67 +4 41 +4.25 53

WOW! Way to go Charlie. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: He's doing really well in spite of the skipped shot. Did you give a shot last night? Your SS is blank for the night. In any case, looks like Charlie's pancreas is starting to report for duty. :-D

You can move a shot up or back about 1/2 hour without it having much of an effect on the cycle. Here's a post from Marje on Getting Back on Schedule with more details.

As for what to do tomorrow morning, get that +11 and post your question then. With the data of what happened tonight, you'll get a better answer. Generally if you shoot a reduced dose, you may still see action the following cycle. If I'm trying to keep Neko safe for a cycle when I'm away, I shoot a reduced dose for two cycles, the one before and the cycle I'm concerned about. But it also depends on how much you reduce the dose. And whether you'll be able to leave food out. That +3 might help determine whether you should leave out low, medium, or high carb food for Charlie.
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 114 +3 67 +4 41 +4.25 53 +4.5

i did not give shot last night, and i am unable to leave food out, multi-cat household.
I was surprised that his cycle went like this tonight... i was expecting it to take a few cycles, as he should really be at 3.25 according to his last reduction on 7/29
Thanks for the link.
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 114 +3 67 +4 41 +4.25 53 +4.5

wowser, darin - look at charlie go! he's aching for these dose reductions! it's a great sign that he's doing this after you have reduced more than 0.25u and then skipped shots. he got back on track right away.

do you mean that tomorrow you'll be home after +3, or the only time in the day cycle he will be able to be checked is at +3 and the rest of the cycle he'll be alone?

what time/zone is your +11 in the morning?
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 +4 41 +4.25 53 +4.5 102 +5 1

ooohhhh boy. that's early. so 6:30 eastern. i'll flag dyana and see if she might be able to help you make the decision in the morning. amy, sienne and /or Sandy might also be up. if you don't get an answer, and he's low, you'll want to err on the side of caution. he has changed from 2 weeks ago. some cats go down the dosing scale in leaps and bounds once they begin to heal.

you may want to just skip the morning shot if you have concerns.
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 +4 41 +4.25 53 +4.5 102 +5 1

ok thanks, i may have to skip. looking at his SS it does not appear to me the his bounce is very consistent. If a bounce shows at amps i will shot.

so if he is still up at +6 and has not had any ks or food since +4, would i be able to go to sleep.
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 +4 41 +4.25 53 +4.5 102 +5 1

my plan was 2 tests, 30 minutes apart after i'd stopped giving carbs that showed rising, and past the nadir. if you last gave him carbs at +4, you've had an hour since then and he's 80 points higher. i think i'd feed him again now (low carb) and probably call it a night. i doubt he'd drop from here back to less than 50 at this point.

i've sent a couple of messages but don't know if anyone will see them in time. i'd lean towards skipping if you have any doubts. you can call it a fur shot and charlie will get back on track before long, as he's just demonstrated.
 
Re: 8/1/14 charlie pmps 223 +2 +4 41 +4.25 53 +4.5 102 +5 1

the food and ks are starting to wear off.
+4 41
+4.25 53
+4.5 102 food and ks spike
+4.75 122
+5 123
+5.75 95 foodd and ks spike fading
i think i will wait what the non-influenced number is going to drop to, +6 is minutes away.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top