8/1Max AMPS+4=128+5=846=52+7=61+8=68/78 PMPS 193+1=259+4=202

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122690

Max had a very dirty bum not night. I think I gave him a little too much miralax. What was in the box was good but he was a mess. He was very unhappy with me when I tried to clean him up. He still smells, :-Q He started his bounce last night and is stinky pink this morning so I bet it will continue until at least tonight.

:oops: Possible fur shot again this morning. I am losing my touch!! :twisted:

Thinking of Mariko and Lucy this morning and hoping Mariko can get more quality time with her beloved Lucy. Their bond is so strong I hope it sees her through the inevitable that we all face. She is so strong and amazing and an inspiration. Sending more vines to Amy and her DF and family, Sasha and Cinco, and all beans and kitties in need of support.
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS 301

Dirty bums and fluffy kitties are no fun. Trix isn't fluffy, but my two medium long hairs (one looks a lot like Max) have the added bonus of digestive sensitivities. We periodically take them in for a "kitty Brazilian" :lol: ...it helps!

I hope Max clears his bounce and SURFS....c'mon, Max - no more bouncies! Hopefully most of this morning's juice went in.

Thank you again for the prayers and support.....have a great day, Elise!
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS 301+2=292+4=128

Fortunately I can count on one hand the times that Max has had a dirty bum. Fur and injections are more difficult. The scruff if easier but I worry about absorption. I guess I could use that if I fear he will go low but I never know when that will be until after the injection, :lol:

Looks like he got part of all of the insulin this morning and hopefully cleared a bounce. I hope to see a touch of green by nadir and a surf. Come on Max, you can do it.
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS 301+2=292+4=128+5=84

It's almost +5 and he hit 84. I'm wondering if I should feed him a little more lc or hold and see what happens? I gave a small amount of ff turkey.
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS 301+2=292+4=128

i saw your question in rocky's condo - i think the difference in rocky has to do with eliminating his infections/inflammation. Tina also was breaking his meals into 3-4 mini-meals in the beginning of each cycle because he was diving from his preshot. Max doesn't seem to be diving like that, however.

in max's case, i would continue to try to prevent him from getting under 50 by using food to manipulate his curves, like you have been doing. At least i think you're still doing that.

Here are a couple of good posts I bookmarked at one point about bouncing. Perhaps there is something that will be helpful: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=55306
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119642
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS 301+2=292+4=128+5=84

Hi Julie. Yes, I am trying to prevent him from going under 50 but hoping to use protein vs carbs. Maybe tiny amounts more often? I used to feed at preshot see his number number at +1 and feed accordingly, again at +4 based on the test. Then I thought maybe I should wait to +2 or 3 to feed to see exactly how much of an impact the food is having if that makes any sense. I still feel like this is trial and error with more errors.

I just offered him some ff at +5 without any goodies on top and he turned it down so I put it back in the fridge. I don't want to overfeed him so I figured if he was really hungry it would eat it. I guess I need to test again fairly soon to see if he drops any more.
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS 301+2=292+4=128+5=84

it is trial and error to see what works with max, but even figuring out what doesn't work tells you something. i think you're on the right track!
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS 301+2=292+4=128+5=84+5.5=60

Well not feeding didn't go so well as he is still dropping. I know 60 is fine but too close to 50. So I gave him a teaspoon of mc with two pieces of Stella&Chewy's. That he ate.
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS 301+2=292+4=128+5=84+5.5=60

Hi Elise,

What I found with Eddie is that I had to anticipate the drop and feed accordingly, rather than responding to the drop with food. Basically, I was feeding higher carb after a drop had already occurred, so it didn't really do what I was trying to accomplish. Now, I try to be one step ahead and feed before the drop happens. So, for instance if Eddie's +1 is flat, I might immediately feed some high carb. Or if his +2 is lower than his pre-shot, I'll feed a higher carb at that point, rather than waiting until after the drop has already occurred. The earlier in the cycle, the higher the carb. If the drop is happening immediately at the beginning of the cycle, it seems like it takes a higher carb level to slow Eddie down. If it's later in the cycle (even though it might be lower numbers), usually a little higher % low carb will do the trick. That's not to say I always anticipate correctly or catch Eddie before he drops... I'm wondering if by +4, Max has already dropped fast enough to trigger the next bounce. Just a thought....
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS 301+2=292+4=128+5=84+5.5=60

That makes a lot of sense, Jen. I wasn't home to test between +2 and +4 as I didn't think he would drop much and was bouncing. I guess I was so sure that he would and he fooled me. Thank you for suggesting this. Had he been in the 100's or mid 200's even I would have been suspicious of a drop but I need to look at whether he is holding or going down regardless of the number. Really good point!!

Update at 52. Fed a little mc with S&C.
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS301+4=128+5=84+5.5=60+6=52+6.75=54+7.25=61

Max is at 61 so I didn't feed him and will check again at +8.

My mom is dehydrated and will need fluids either at the doctor's office or the hospital. She is against going and getting her hair done right now. I don't think the darn infection is gone and here we are with the weekend again. Wish us luck in getting it done at the doctor's and home from there rather than the hospital.
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS301+4=128+5=84+5.5=60+6=52+6.75=54+7.25=61

Nice surfing for Max today. :mrgreen: Now if only he could get there at a slower pace.

Sending all sorts of vines out to your mom today. I hope she gets fluids and anything else you need taken care of before the weekend hits. :YMHUG: I'm always amazed how important getting ones hair done is at that age.
 
Re: 8/1 Max AMPS301+4=128+5=84+5.5=60+6=52+6.75=54+7.25=61

If Rocky has exactly the same two BGs in the 50s, in back to back testing, it usually means that he will go lower. Predicting how low he will go is tricky. I typically suspect that he will be dropping to under 50 if I don't feed that second same BG number. Unlike Jen, I feed the lesser amount of carbs on the first attempt to raise his BG, and I now do not use any Karo at all.

I would first try the 8% carbs on that second same number, and I would feed him 1/4 can of it, which is A LOT more than just 2 tbs. I would test 15 minutes later, and if he was still in a low 50s number, I would not feed feed that number. I would wait another 15 minutes, and then see where he is at. Now, he may have dropped to 48 in those next 15 minutes, but to me, that does not all of a sudden mean to get heavy handed with Karo to bring him right up. Remember, he has the 8% carbs in him that has yet to take it's full affect. Instead, with Rocky, I would feed him (1) TBS of the 18% FF- Grilled Turkey and Giblets, which is 18%. I would then wait another 15 minutes, and his BG would usually be up at least into the 50s by then, typically into the 60s or 70s. I would not feed that number in the 50s, and I would not feed that number in the 60s or 70s. Instead, I would wait another 1/2 hour and test again. Typically, that number would be going higher and then I knew that we were safe for at least 2 hours.

That's how I did if for Rocky. If you look at his SS, you'll see that I had a very light touch when he was in the upper 40s. I did not want to push his BG up any more than to a BG of 50. I did not want him to be up to at least 60 because I knew that Rocky's BG would be going even higher from that point on.

I didn't feed little bits of HC with Karo at a drop into the 40s, I fed larger amounts of a lower carb. I didn't wallop Rocky with an MC or an HC in trying to anticipate a drop into the 40s, UNLESS he had a huge drop in the previous BG.. For example, if he previous just dropped 50 or more points. If he dropped by 20 ponts, it was something to watch, but I would be less likely to feed him a lot of an HC to try to prevent a drop into the 40s.

Does this make any sense?

As far as why Rocky stopped bouncing.. I have no idea. However, I suspect that we finally reached a point where his body had enough insulin to help him heal. I could tell that when he had a string of numbers in the 40s, and at the same time, his overall BGs for the entire day were not above the 100s, that we were at a 'healing dose,' even if that mean a few dips into the high 40s. After all, 40s are a normal number for a healthy cat. I believe that if Rocky saw a number in the 200s or 300s, he was not getting enough insulin yet, and I was not so quick to reduce his insulin dose if he was still having numbers in the 200s and 300s at the same time of having numbers for the day that went to the 40s. To me, that was simply my fault that I did not feed him enough carbs to keep his BG elevated enough. And, If I had fed him more carbs, those 200s and 300s would have been even higher, meaning, he would have required even more insulin.

Now, requiring more insulin to get to lower BG numbers overall is not a bad thing. It is what it is, to help your cat to heal. However, I DID feed Rocky mostly MC and some HC for that type of dosing, and I had to be extremely diligent about monitoring his BG well.
 
Re: 8/1Max AMPS301+4=128+5=84+5.5=60+6=52+6.75=54+7.2=61+8=6

RECAP OF TODAY:
AMPS 302
+2=292
+4=128
+5=84
+5.5=60
+6=52
+6.75=54
+7.25=61
+8=68
+8.5=78

My sister is just now taking my mom to the doctor for fluids. She wanted to pick me up to go with them but I told her I need to be back in 3 hours. So I'm going to go take the dog out and they are going without me. Hopefully this will be enough and she won't need to go to the hospital for more over the weekend. I still wonder why they can't get home health to go to the house.

Max did not pick a good day for this needless to say but hopefully his run will continue into tonight and be the start of something good.
 
Re: 8/1Max AMPS301+4=128+5=84+5.5=60+6=52+6.75=54+7.2=61+8=6

I'm back. My sister and my mom are on their way home from the doctor's office. She got one bag of fluids and will get more on Monday if needed. The doctor wasn't in so we don't know what will happen as far an an antibiotic change.

Tina, Max has gotten FATTER since becoming diabetic so I need to feed him small amounts to keep his BG up when if starts to fall. He should weigh 14 pounds, maybe 14 1/2 tops and he is 15-15# 3oz now. He was 14#7oz at diagnosis. I think it is making his back legs weaker and not helping his BG. I'm curious to see if giving him the S&C and trader joes mc and not karo will help to keep his pmps number lower and if he will bounce tonight. What he does will determine if I get to go out for dinner or my friend and I bring food in. He hasn't budged since I got home and is sleeping in the corner of my bedroom where he likely went when I left two hours ago.
 
Re: 8/1Max AMPS301+4=128+5=846=52+7.2=61+8=68/78 PMPS 197

I was hoping just maybe Max would give me a low pmps but no such luck. Oh well.
 
Re: 8/1Max AMPS301+4=128+5=846=52+7.2=61 +8=68/78 PMPS197+1=

Possibly a bounce as he didn't eat a lot and went up 66 points. I guess we will go out to dinner instead of bring food in.
 
Re: 8/1Max AMPS301+4=128+5=846=52+7.2=61 +8=68/78 PMPS 193+1

Elise, I also had to watch Rocky's weight because he would eat anything that I fed him. So, I just timed his mini-meals around his BG drops. In other words, he no longer has a set meal time. The drops or rises in BG happen all through each cycle. I take it one cycle at a time. I know that I am going to feed him about 7 and 1/2 to eight ounces of food in one day, so I divide that up into 3 or 4 mini-meals per each cycle. I use his food to pump up Rocky's BG as part of his entire meal planning, rather than feed him an "extra" amount of food to raise him above 50.

So, if his BG came down 20 points, I would feed him a 0% or 2% carb food. If his BG had dropped 30 to 40 points, I might feed him a 4% or 5% carb. If he had dropped 50 points, usually an 8% carb. If his BG dropped close to 70 points, I would consider feeding him the 18% carb, but only a small portion of it, and then I would just call that HC a meal. That is how I still keep Rocky's weight down, by using those drop and rises in each cycle as my gauge for what percentage carb I will feed him, right after the test. That way, Rocky doesn't get any "extra" food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top