8/5 Eddie AMPS 384, +10.5/46, PMPS/60, +2/133, +6/301

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 7/31 Condo

YESTERDAY: AMPS/283, +2.5/276, +6/233, +10.5/202, PMPS/220, +1/241, +2/221, +4/171 +5/191, +6/221
TODAY: AMPS/384, +2.5/307, +6/184, +9/80, +10.5/46/52, +11/62, PMPS/60, +1/123, +2/133, +3/190, +4/268, +6/301

Hi LL,

Been a few days since I posted an Eddie condo. I've been totally swamped at work the last several days, including trying to get some work done in the evenings - hence no Eddie condo. Nonetheless, we're still trucking along. We are also thinking of Mariko at this time and holding her close in our hearts.

I took Eddie's dose back up to 2.25 last Thursday, and tonight is cycle 11 at this dose. Saturday he had a stretch of greens with a nadir in the 50's, so I held the dose. I was actually going to increase back up to 2.5 tonight (today would have been the 6th cycle after the low greens), but Eddie surprised DH with an in-the-door test of 46, so I guess Eddie got a reprieve for now on the dosecrease. Eddie's kind of an all-or-nothing kitty, I guess! I'm going with the 3 under 50 method since he doesn't seem to hold reductions well, so that's the first time under 50 on this dose. Something tells me that a drop AMPS to +10.5 of over 300 points might possibly generate another bounce. :roll:

It does drive me crazy that he's bouncing for longer periods, even though he actually hit the 40's today on this dose. I'm not sure how to change that. Where possible, I am steering with food to try to avoid big drops, which seem to virtually guarantee a bounce. I'm wondering if I need to switch to a higher carb food for him overall? His "normal" mealtimes are typically in the 1-4% range.

To my eye, it seems like Eddie needs more juice overall to help keep the bouncing at bay, but it's pretty hard to justify safely increasing with numbers in the 40's. I dunno. He kind of cooperated with me in terms of flattening out with aggressive food manipulation when he was at 2.75 units, but then he started earning reductions by hitting numbers in the 30's really early in the cycle. He earned reductions by hitting 30's on two occasions, and then despite a carb/karo fest, he still hit 40, so we took a total of 3 reductions down to 2 units. We're back up to 2.25 now, and given the 46 today, I'll probably hold the dose for another roughly 6 cycles or so till he clears the next bounce.
 
Re: 8/5 Eddie AMPS 384, +10.5/46, PMPS/60, +2/133, +4/268

Hi Jen and Eddie! I wish there was a magic pill they could take to make them stop bouncing. Why can't that exist? I hope Eddie levels out for you soon.
 
Re: 8/5 Eddie AMPS 384, +10.5/46, PMPS/60, +2/133, +4/268

Some diver cats do a little better with higher carb foods, though Eddie's doesn't do many of those steep dives. All you can do is experiment. Maybe up the carb range a couple points, say 4-6%, and see what that does for him. Good idea to try the three under 50 or once under 40 strategy. Paws crossed it brings a more even green to his SS.
 
Thanks for the input guys!

We have to do a big cat food shopping spree this weekend, so time to study up on the options in the 4-6% range. Maybe I'll reserve the ultra low stuff for when Eddie's sitting high and flat in a bounce, and use the slightly higher carb for when it looks like he's going to have a "normal" cycle.
 
Hi Jen. Eddie and Max seem to react the same way, lol. I've been feeding ff classics and Stella & Chewy's which are both 4% I think. I've been using Trader joes's 10% a mc. I think that perhaps rather than feeding based upon the test number I get I am going to try to feed based upon how many points he goes down each time and try to get him to go down more slowly as Tina suggested. I don't know if Eddie is as picky as Max. I'll be watching to see what food you give him. I think the 3 times under 50 is a good idea as dropping each time Max hit under 50 led to much higher numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top