8/7 Max AMPS 147+6=126+7=135 PMPS 141+2.5=196+4=214+6=296

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123059

Pretty good numbers yesterday. He didn't hit green that I know of last night but was at 121 at +6.5 and still in blue this morning. Maybe he really did need this increase as it's five doses. In the past it was too much quickly but I don't think I gave mc quite so early.

Vines and prayers to all in need.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147

Hi guys .. well you can't complain too much about these steady blues! Looking good max! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147

Nice start for Max...I hope he gives you a beautiful surf today!

Interesting info about cerenia, too, in yesterday's condo. It helps Trix so much when I give it to her every other day, and my vet did say it was OK to do that indefinitely, but with so much conflicting info out there, it's good to see more and more evidence that long-term dosing is safe.

Sending prayers for your Mom...I hope she's doing better today.

Have a great day, Elise!
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+1=227+2=268

Thanks Devon, Angela, and Tricia but looks like Max has other ideas and has decided to bounce. I had a feeling with an all blue night and not begging for food.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+1=227+2=268+4.5=166

Hi Elise,

I think that the dose increase was needed, and I wouldn't be sad if he needed yet another one. At first when Rocky was going up, up, up on his insulin requirements it totally bummed me out. Then after I came back from my retreat I was just like, "it is what it is. he needs what he needs." I kept Rocky on higher doses of insulin so that I could see fewer of those bounces, and more of the green and blue. I was able to keep him on those higher doses by feeding him higher carb foods.

I became less afraid, those higher doses of insulin meant he could surf more blue and green, without the bounce. He bounced LESS with more insulin. The only thing is, I really needed to monitor Rocky very closely, which I did do. I learned, I was able to figure out, if he might below 50. I did this by comparing the speed and the amount by which his BG would drop. I think that you could do this for Max, too.

Please, don't be too concerned about increasing Max's insulin dose if it means that you're going to be able to see him surf blues and greens. I'm not an expert, but I have a feeling that Max needs even more insulin if you are going to see him in steady green numbers. But, you really can't give him more insulin unless you COMPLETELY switch up his diet, start feeding him much higher carb foods. His BG numbers will definitely be lower on more insulin.

I found giving Rocky MORE insulin much easier to manage, for me, because the bouncing simply stopped.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+1=227+2=268+4.5=166+6=126

That was a short-lived bounce. NIce to see Max rebound to blue again.

I missed the cerenia info in your condo yesterday, so I'll have to go back and read it. They were very definite about only giving it to Sasha five days a week at UCD. I'm giving her ondansetron and pepcid daily now, but plan to use the cerenia whenever I have to take her anywhere. It definitely helped.

Sending lots of healing vines for your DM.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+1=227+2=268+4.5=166+6=126

Thanks Tricia. In addition to what I posted I am hearing that vets are saying they see less lymphoma since using cerenia which is an anti inflammatory. I haven't discussed this with my vet yet as Max hadn't needed it lately. I wonder though if he is just stoic and the diabetes makes him hungry. It could be the BG making him so lethargic too. I just don't have anything to compare it to as before diabetes my only clues were sleeping more and inappetence. It's been three months since my last vet visit. He isn't responding to the as I sent. Once this weekend is behind me I will call or make an appointment. I want to discuss lev with him as well.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+1=227+2=268+4.5=166+6=126

It's nice to see Max come back down from the bounce so quickly.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+1=227+2=268+4.5=166+6=126

What an interesting cycle for Max, sort of a mini-bounce, wonder what he has in store for PM! And interesting also, I am going to be discussing a switch to Lev as well. Do you feel that Max is reacting to the acidity of Lantus? Or are you looking for the slower onset of Lev? Hope your mom is feeling better.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+1=227+2=268+4.5=166+6=126

Definitely an interesting cycle today. Neko used to do that sort of mini bounce all the time on Lantus, for her daytime cycle only. :roll: And it was an indicator of a later nadir for her for that cycle. Curious to see what his PS will be.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+1=227+2=268+4.5=166+6=126

Wendy, Max has done this before and then had a bigger bounce and I think once it cleared. He like to keep me guessing. That is going to be difficult when I need to leave him Saturday for the wedding. I will be posting about that one tomorrow morning.I'm thinking he will need a reduced dose Friday night and again Saturday morning. He gets his insulin at 6:30 and I will have to leave at 11:30 and I will be home likely between 7-8 p.m. I know it is too soon to figure this one out.

Ruth, I posted about lev on the same thread that you did. I'm reading what everyone has to say and am so glad this thread was started. So many seem better on it. Max has only reacted a few times when I try to shoot so I don't know if it bothers him or not. As I increase I fear it might. But really I am looking for a more level cycle for him. These bounces seem to take a lot out of both of us.

Thanks for the visits Angela, Tina, Tricia, and Carla.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+1=227+2=268+4.5=166+6=126

When I had a regatta a couple weekends ago, I reduced the Friday night and Saturday morning. And skipping Saturday AM is an option if he's too low for you then. I hope your mom will be up to going to the wedding.

fWIW, Neko got up to 8.75U of Lantus and the sting didn't bother her. I still have to post on that thread.
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+6=126+7=135 PMPS 141+1=168

I think we might have a food spike.

Wendy, how much would an appropriate reduced dose be for Friday and Saturday?
 
Re: 8/7 Max AMPS 147+6=126+7=135 PMPS 141+1=168+2.5=196

Looks like he's heading up for a bounce. I guess the mini one wasn't good enough for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top