8/8 Cobb AMPS 317(No R) +5 268 +10 319 PMPS 310(3uR)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Higher, as expected. But not incredibly so!

julie & punkin (ga) said:
:lol: on the dose. Its bugging me that you didn't drop by an even 10 units though. :shock: :-D
Nooooooo. Why did you point that out? I could have reconciled that even number drop in my head! :lol:

So...hold this starting dose for how long (if he stays too high)? 5 days? Or is it shorter since Cobb has already been on insulin?

I have room in my syringe again! Yay! However, to illustrate how the mind works: I get up this morning, knowing I've switched insulins so I don't head straight for the refrigerator since I have a pen. I go in to the laundry room where Cobb's setup is. Grab a syringe and start drawing out the insulin. And keep drawing, and drawing, and at about 25 units I realize...CRAP! I'm not going to 31 units this morning. ohmygod_smile OY VEY! I guess I need to pay a bit more attention. :lol:

Happy Friday to all!!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 8/8 Cobb AMPS 317(No R)

If you're anything like me in the morning, you're lucky your eyes open enough to make it into the kitchen to get the insulin and supplies....lol

You've got over a year of "routine"...it'll just take some time to develop a new one!

Good thing you caught yourself though!

I can't tell you about the Levemir, but I'd think the rules are the same....you have to give it 5 days to build the depot since you're building a new depot of a different insulin

Hope you and Cobb have a nice Friday..it's almost the weekend! :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/8 Cobb AMPS 317(No R)

Morning Suzanne. ~O) ~O) Sounds like you run on autopilot in the morning like most of us. :lol:

I wouldn't hold Cobb's dose very long if it's not performing. I held Neko's dose 4 cycles when we switched cause I got only high blues the first couple cycles then we went yellow/pink. Those blues were still the Lantus dose talking and by cycle 4 I knew it was mostly the Levemir showing me yellow/pink. After that I moved to holding for 6 cycles. And Marje, who has possibly less patience than me, :lol: , held Gracie for only 2 cycles to start after the switch because all she was seeing was pink. Remember way back at the start of Lantus when you were fast tracking increases until you saw blue? - I think you could do the same here with 4 cycle checks. Just try to get a few tests from about +7 to PS to see if you can get an idea what type of nadirs you are seeing on this dose. And at 20 units, you could do increases of 2 units.
 
Re: 8/8 Cobb AMPS 317(No R) +5 268

Thanks Wendy. I know it's anyone's guess. How long do you think the Lantus depot hangs around in an IAA cat? Cobb is starting to slide a little today (back in yellow).
 
Re: 8/8 Cobb AMPS 317(No R) +5 268

Nice on the yellow, looks like he's hit his Levemir onset. :-D I'm trying to remember who has gone from Lantus to Levemir and has confirmed IAA. Ozy/Donaleen is another. BTW, she only waiting 4 cycles per dose before heading up too. I can't find any others for which I can see spreadsheets.
 
Re: 8/8 Cobb AMPS 317(No R)

I only held the initial Levemir dose for 3 days before increasing, but Mikey's not high-dose and I'm an overly cautious sort. :lol: So, you might want to increase sooner than that.

Can't wait to see how Cobb does! :mrgreen:
 
So, let's talk about the later onset of Lev...

With Lantus, the onset was around +3. That fell in nicely with shot time and bedtime. I could get a +2.5 to +4. With a Lev, the onset will be after I go to sleep. His does that affect the importance of the before bed test?

I can probably run a full curve on Sunday. You would think the depot would be filled by then, yes?
 
Well, with me the before bed test now just tells me whether or not onset has started since I don't usually go to bed before PM +3 or +4. I tested a lot when we first switched and learned that Mikey is really predictable with his numbers on Levemir. I like seeing him over 100 at +3 to +4. If he's lower than that, I'll either stay up or set an alarm for a +6. If his +6 is in the 60s, from previous cycles, he'll keep surfing that till at least +10 or even up to +14 so I don't really worry. If his +6 is in the 50s and I want to sleep, I make sure he eats (he's carb sensitive enough that LC will either have him maintain his numbers for a couple of hours if he's still dropping or they'll bump up his numbers by about 30 points and he'll flatten out). He also has always had a tendency to run higher in the early morning hours/late PM cycle (he eats more at night) so I'm not usually as worried during his PM cycle as I am his AM cycle.

The big thing with Mikey is the impact of food on his cycle. He's a free-feeder and I'm sure if I started giving him timed meals, I'd get even more predictable cycles with him. For instance, he rarely eats after his morning shot time until around +8 or later unless I remind him to eat. ("Mangia! Mangia, Mikey!") This corresponds with when he gives me numbers in the 40s: they usually occur around his +7 because he hasn't eaten anything all cycle. If he has eaten again by his +6, then his numbers don't drop as sharply and he surfs nicely through with numbers fluctuating between 50s and 80s depending on his snacking habits that cycle.

Not sure if this is a similar cycle with other cats on Levemir (see Think Tank post), but it's definitely one of those "know thy cat" situations.
 
You'll have to do some more testing to figure out when Cobb's likely onset and nadir are and what his patterns are. Being an IAA cat like Neko, chances are it's variable. On Lantus Neko nadired from +3.5 to +13 and on Lev it's a couple hours later, from +5 to +15, although mostly often in the +9 to +12 range. Some Lev kitties onset by +3 to +4, hard to say yet if Cobb is one of those.

I too go to bed before Neko's onset, but with a +9 or +10, PS and +3 or +4 test, I have a pretty good idea what the cycle will look like. Most often, Neko will go up from PS to +3/+4 but not always. She didn't last night. When she doesn't and depending what numbers she's at, going down at +3 means there's a good chance of an active cycle and an earlier nadir. Or it could have been that her nadir was after +12. Sometimes I don't bother with a before bed test. If Neko is going up from +9 to PS and is above 200, then there's no need, she's only continuing up. If she's a lot higher than PS at the before bed test, I'm good to keep sleeping.

I also found the cycles look a little different when Neko is in the mostly blue ranges vs. pink/yellow range. I think Cobb's depot will be filled enough by Sunday to get some good data. Just keep spot testing between now and then. See if you can get more different tests in the back half of the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top