8/9 Polly AMPS 313+7.5=203 PMPS 235 (8.5U)+2=233+4=203

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Recap 8/8

279 AMPS
229 +2
222 +7
251 PMPS
220 +2.75
220 +6

Sure wish I'd gotten up between +6 and AMPS for a check. Might help me figure out where the 313 came from. Or not! After the flat yellow yesterday, the pink caught me off guard.

I know if I were following TR, I should have upped her dose this morning. But I was so hoping we'd get a longer run at 8.0, like we did at 7.5 that I held at 8.0. (I know that doesn't make sense, but sense is evading me today.)

And I really need to be gone most of the day today. Although it's tempting to btb and let my out-of-town errands wait until tomorrow.

Am waiting to hear from CSU re: SRT. Sounds so cryptic! Will call again Monday.

Any dosing advice? I'll up to 8.5 tonight unless she comes down through today.

Do I follow usual TR protocols for Polly, an acro cat? I know I'd be aggressive with IAA to keep ahead of the game; is the same true for acro? Do I try to keep ahead of the growth factor? I'm guessing I do.

Just a fuzzy start to the day in our neighborhood this morning.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 8/9 Polly AMPS 313+2=270

Morning Marilyn. ~O) ~O) I hope Polly is a good girl and let's you get your out of town errands done. She does like her yellow surfs doesn't she.

You asked about following the protocol for an acrocat. I more or less do with the exception that my goal is not for Neko to earn reductions as they don't mean much. So, when a regular diabetic kitty is seeing green but still not seeing reductions, the protocol will have you keep on increasing.
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
If Neko is seeing green and enough of it for my taste, I'll tend to hold the dose. Last year I held a dose for about 3 months as it kept on giving me nadirs in the 70's, which is where I like her to be. I've seen a number of SS's of acrocats where they seem to be able to hold a dose for a long time. Not so for non acros. And not for Polly until the IAA is getting close to it's limits.

The other part where the protocol isn't explicit is the size of increases/decreases when you get to high doses:
Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.
We do have rules of thumb for that. Doses over 5U usually go up by .5U, over 10U you can move to whole units. But there's also an element of ECID and what works for your cat. I've seen an acro caregiver successfully tweak a dose over 25U with a .25U increase.

And keeping kitty safe is rule #1, so increasing when you have to be gone all day is the right thing to do. This dose isn't doing much for you so I'd increase tonight like you suggested. One of the most annoying things about IAA is that a dose will look really good then a higher dose will look like it's not doing a thing. So just pass by those doses quickly once you know you've given it a chance to show it's stuff.
 
Re: 8/9 Polly AMPS 313+2=270+4.5=233+7.5=203

I hope you got your errands done today. Good luck if you increase tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top