8/11 Buster PMPS 52, +2 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Very Active Member
PMPS 72
+2.5 72
+3.5 84
AMPS 99

Groovin' right along! Buster has been licking his elbows and chest a lot more, lately. I really wish I knew what that was all about. The vet seems to think it's just a soothing habit for him at this point, but I still think we can make it stop. Might have to try the pain management thing with Gabapentin or maybe Buprenex(?). I was hoping the acupuncture was going to be the ticket out of that, but unless magical things happen in the next 2 weeks, that's a bust. I'm pondering getting some updated x-rays of that area. Maybe there's a gremlin in there! :lol:

My friends just got a new baby kitten. All black Scottish Fold. He was the runt of a litter that no one wanted so they got him for cheap. Seeing him play makes me want some new friends of our own. Not sure what Buster would do with a kitten. I will just have to stick to....Kitten Cam!!
Previous Condo
 
Re: 8/11 Buster AMPS 99 - what food were you feeding @ dx??

I am curious to know what food people were feeding at the time their kitty turned sweet? We were on Royal Canin Urinary SO, because Buster had crystals at one point.
 
Re: 8/11 Buster AMPS 99 - what food were you feeding @ dx??

Billie was also on a urinary diet because she had crystals - Wysong Uretic dry. The vet prescribed Hill's CD but that didn't agree with her tummy, so I found Wysong Uretic as an alternative...better quality ingredients but still loaded with carbs. She also ate 2-3 oz of Weruva wet twice a day, but she grazed on the dry a lot. I wish the vet had just recommended an all wet diet at that point instead of prescription dry. That was in November, and she was diagnosed sweet in May.
 
Re: 8/11 Buster AMPS 99 - what food were you feeding @ dx??

Skooter was on Royal Canin HP for his IBD when he was dx'd.

royal-canin-hypoallergenic-hydrolyzed-protein-hp-for-feline-17-6-lbs-20.jpg


We didn't even think wet food was an option, but so glad he is taken to it so well.
 
Re: 8/11 Buster AMPS 99 - what food were you feeding @ dx??

I was feeding fancy feast sliced, soulistic pouches, hills grain free, all canned when Max was diagnosed. He had been off dry food for 4 years.
 
Re: 8/11 Buster AMPS 99 - what food were you feeding @ dx??

i was feeding punkin a vet-prescribed easy on the bladder food - it might have been Hills, but i don't remember anymore. He'd had bladder infections repeatedly for about 8 years prior to the diagnosis. Doesn't matter though, because his diabetes was caused by acromegaly, a benign tumor on the pituitary gland.

Food likely didn't play much of a role in that.
 
Re: 8/11 Buster AMPS 99, +5 78 - what were you feeding @ dx

Nice greens for Buster today. The licking could be habit. When does he do it? Is it something that comforts him?

I was feeding Furball dry food - Whiskas meaty something.
 
Re: 8/11 Buster AMPS 99, +5 78 - what were you feeding @ dx

Interesting info about the foods so far. Still makes me mad that prescription foods aren't any better quality than plain ol' commercial grades :roll:

@ Carla - Licking usually happens when he's napping/relaxing. It doesn't seem like it's an aggressive licking like he would do if he had a bug bite or something itchy. It's just licking kind of like cleaning. It started at his left elbow only, but now it's both elbows and his chest. I don't often catch him doing it. I jut notice his fur is all matted when I go to test him. I brush it all out, but then it's all messed up again by the next test time. I also wonder if it's just an old age thing so maybe prozac would help? He seems to be a happy guy overall cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/11 Buster AMPS 99, +5 78 - what were you feeding @ dx

Nice cycle for Buster today. :mrgreen: If you go the pain relief way, you may have to try both bupe and gabapentin. Gabapentin did nothing for Neko, but bupe did. But gaba does work for some kitties. Another ECID. :roll:

OMG - more cute kittens! Hard to believe people had three litters around they just didn't want. :evil:

Neko was on half Wellness wet grain free and half dry (Evo at the time) for most of her life. I had been gradually reducing the amount of dry so it was more like 3/4 to 1/4 at the time of Dx, since I'd found Dr. Lisa's site. But again, she was acro so it didn't make a difference. Civie got crystals a week after Neko's Dx (love when it all happens at once) and vetty put him on CD (wet but still very high carb). That didn't work as Neko always pushed him out of his dish to get at his food after wolfing her own down.
 
Re: 8/11 Buster PMBG 43, +20 min BG 49, +45 min BG 47 - fed

Sheesh! Glad he's surfing, but that's a little dramatic at shot time! I finally fed him some LC. I will test again in about 20 min. If he shows a good number we'll be shooting a shaved dose about an hour late. I will be home to monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top